PCF/PAP Kindergartens
jedamum is absolutely rightkaitlynangelica:
Does it mean that the normal PCF will not have a good syllabus or not such good teaching methods? What is the difference?
Let's not label normal PCF as not good.
PCF is supposed to be affordable kindergartens for the middle and lower income people. They still do teach the basics and whether the teaching methods are good are dependent on the parent's expectations. I guess the premium ones are an option for those who can afford the higher yet still affordable fees for the middle income. I believe they will adapt a higher standard of teaching and curriculum for that increased in fees. Coming from the same brand, the word 'premium' is not without a reason.
Do also note that different premium pcfs may have varying standards too.
I think it is not logical to label all PCF as not good just because of something you heard. People should really do a survey of all PCF before making such judgement. I think there are around 100 PCF kindergarten in Singapore, and every kindergarten has a different syllabus.
I have written earlier in this thread that when I said \"high standard\", I simply mean that the syllabus is above the normal K1/k2 standards in other kindergarten. For example, the spelling test includes sentences in K2 which is unusual in other kindergarten. In fact, some \"early childhood education expert\" in this forum actually commented that \"spelling is detrimental\" to young children. It is really up to the parents to decide what is best for their kids. I think that the spelling tests are helpful for my girl. But what I like best is the junior creative writing sessions since K1, where every child is encouraged to write his/her own book. My girl is inspired to write her own books at home.
For maths, science and Chinese refer to my blog :
http://tamarindvillage.blogspot.com/2009/01/pcf-kindergarten.html
It is really up to the parents to decide whether their kid is suitable for this type of standard. I find it very suitable for my girl. But for my boy, I actually put him in a normal PCF because I don't want him to be too stressed. I will be posting more about his normal PCF soon.
As for my girl's premium PCF, I also have some complains. Although her teacher is very good, she speaks like a Singaporean. I wish that she can speak more like a BBC news presenter
I also got into conflicts with the centre head a couple of times, she is not the nicest person around. But I think about the fees I am paying, and the value I am getting, this PCF is still the best choice in my area.
I also want to clarify that I am not as rich as some people in this forum think I am. I actually received an private message in this forum, telling me that I am depriving my kids by sending them to PCF, she assumed that my household income is $14K a month. The fact is that we have been a single income family for almost 2 years, and at one point, we have no income at all. For those who are fortunate enough to have no worries about their finances, then by all means send your kids to the most expensive preschools.
I want other mommies of low income families to know that sending kids to PCF does not mean that your kids are deprived of a good preschool education. There are good ones out there, you just have to look for them. -
tamarind:
I have written earlier in this thread that when I said \"high standard\", I simply mean that the syllabus is above the normal K1/k2 standards in other kindergarten. For example, the spelling test includes sentences in K2 which is unusual in other kindergarten. In fact, some \"early childhood education expert\" in this forum actually commented that \"spelling is detrimental\" to young children. It is really up to the parents to decide what is best for their kids. I think that the spelling tests are helpful for my girl. But what I like best is the junior creative writing sessions since K1, where every child is encouraged to write his/her own book. My girl is inspired to write her own books at home.
Not preparing the children for the confirmed P1 spelling is detrimental.
Can cause unnecessary stress to both parent and child. The words get
harder each year. Simple spelling tests are helpful. My kiddies' centre
do not practise them, i do. Its unfair to give my kiddies the rude shock
that such practise is the norm in primary and i as parent did nothing to
prepare child for it. Then come P1 all last minute... Sigh. This part not
kiasu, but being prepared. No harm done.
Unless you go by all the words in the dictionary like studying for an
international spelling bee contest lah! Extreme oredi leh... then that
may be classified too advance - not detrimental.tamarind:
I got suggestion, tam...As for my girl's premium PCF, I also have some complains. Although her teacher is very good, she speaks like a Singaporean. I wish that she can speak more like a BBC news presenter
I also got into conflicts with the centre head a couple of times, she is not the nicest person around. But I think about the fees I am paying, and the value I am getting, this PCF is still the best choice in my area..
Why not.... since you listen to BBC.
You speak BBC to your kids at home?
Ta-dah! Then, you'll get BBC speaking kiddos!
No need to wait for teachers lah. Hehee..
tamarind:
14K?!? Gulp!I also want to clarify that I am not as rich as some people in this forum think I am. I actually received an private message in this forum, telling me that I am depriving my kids by sending them to PCF, she assumed that my household income is $14K a month..
You can open your own forum, babe!
Heheheh.. :lol:tamarind:
There are good ones out there, you just have to look for them.
yep, yep, yep... for the benefit of our own children, we as
parents should try to find time to recce around for THEE centre. Oredi
got short cut route by checking out other parents' comments on centres
by areas some more... right here in KiasuParents.com.
We can do the next step by visiting, speaking to people in charge,
bring children to see the centres and then decide. Start early so you
won't rush into a decision.
Cheerios!
:celebrate: -
bud:
I totally agree
Not preparing the children for the confirmed P1 spelling is detrimental.
Can cause unnecessary stress to both parent and child. The words get
harder each year. Simple spelling tests are helpful. My kiddies' centre
do not practise them, i do. Its unfair to give my kiddies the rude shock
that such practise is the norm in primary and i as parent did nothing to
prepare child for it. Then come P1 all last minute... Sigh. This part not
kiasu, but being prepared. No harm done.
Unless you go by all the words in the dictionary like studying for an
international spelling bee contest lah! Extreme oredi leh... then that
may be classified too advance - not detrimental.
bud:
I already tried that ! I have been listening to BBC regularly for more than 10 years, but I am still speaking like a Singaporean.I got suggestion, tam...
Why not.... since you listen to BBC.
You speak BBC to your kids at home?
Ta-dah! Then, you'll get BBC speaking kiddos!
I remember years ago I visited my cousin who is staying in London. Her kids were born and educated there. Her little girl, only 7 years old at that time, spoke with a very posh British accent, and I really envy her ! It is much more easier for children to learn a language, and of course the right environment is very important. -
Hi all,
Some clarifications. I included lots of PCF teaching materials in my blog.
http://tamarindvillage.blogspot.com/2009/01/pcf-kindergarten.html
Some people may assume that the kids are being drilled to read and write everyday in school. This is not true. The kindergarten uses the \"Learn through play\" method like in any other respectable pre-school. For example, there are cooking classes where kids have hands on in cooking. When teaching about the digestive system, the teacher put some tissue in a long sock, and let the kids play with it, so that they understand how the intestines work. There are also speech and drama lessons. They organize outings regularly to the airport, SGH, SPCA, etc. The kids are given free time everyday, during which they can choose the library corner, drama corner, maths corner etc and they are free to play and learn on their own, as well as interact with each other. -
Hi Tamarind or any other mummies who place their kids in PCF,
I placed my 3 kids in a PCF near my nanny’s place for the obvious reason. In recent times, I have began to get worried as I heard that some PCFs are pretty initiative and would keep the parents updated on the children’s progress on a daily basis in the Communication Book. In that way, the parents would be informed of what the children have been doing in class, what they have learned and what needed to be improved/worked on.
When I talked to the principal asking for a similar request, I was appalled that my request was rejected, reason being "the centre does not have the habit of doing that and the children’s progress would only be communicated to the parents twice a year during the M-T-P sessions."
Do you ladies ever have regular feedback from the PCF teachers on your children’s progress? Is this an exception or the norm? -
Hi all,
Before I continue I have to qualify that I agree we should not label all pcf centres as inadequate. Likewise children from "branded" preschools may also not be that well prepared, if other factors are missing from the equation…
Besides the ability of the teachers, the preschools are also bounded by the range of academic curriculum they are set out to be. Sometimes it is beyond the teacher’s control. However I must say that from the feedback I have received from many of my friends with primary schooling children, there seem to be a higher percentage of those children from pcfs, who are unable to read well when they enter primary 1. Alot of primary schools do a quick assessment in Nov/Dec before school starts in Jan, to assess a child’s reading ability and to offer advice is a child needs to work harder on the skill before school starts. It was noted that there tend to be a higher percentage of them coming from pcf preschools. Some of them who came from pcfs but with good reading skills had extra enrichment lessons elsewhere…
I think the important thing to do here is to check on our child’s skill level, talk to other parents to find out more, if your child is well prepared. Do this well before Jan as I have seen how some children suffer when they enter primary 1 and were not able to read the worksheets’ instructions well. I know of a child in my son’s class who struggles with his school work, including math as he does not understand how to read of the instructions! -
Hi all,
I’m one of the many mummies who has benefitted from Tamarind’s postings and sharings. And of course some of the other mummies who have spent time and effort to write and share tips in this forum. A BIG THANK YOU to all of you!
My child is attending the same PCF centre (thanks to Tamarind after her postings caught my attention). While I do share some of the observations as Tamarind and had my initial reservations, I’m now quite happy with the school overall. Definitely value for money and most importantly, my child doesn’t need to travel.
Indeed the standard is high. At Nursery, there is weekly homework (1 worksheet to be completed over the weekend). They’re doing a set of readers and barely 2 months into the school term, they are given a list of ~10 words to recognise/ read. These are words from the readers and are given 2 weeks for parents to reinforce learning/ teaching at home. Thereafter, the teacher will go through with them individually to see how much they’ve learnt. They have excursions too…
The current teacher is an ang moh. Whilst I’m aware that some ang mohs are not qualified in this industry (I dunno if this teacher is) but I can see that she’s doing her job well and at least she speaks good and proper English. The Chinese teacher is the passionate and energetic type who can connect with kids. Having said that, not all teachers are good as in most pre-schools. The teacher we had in 2nd half of last year was not very good I must say… -
Imp75:
My boy's pcf only has half yearly MTP sessions - each only lasting
Do you ladies ever have regular feedback from the PCF teachers on your children's progress? Is this an exception or the norm?
min for me.
I am ok, cos I communicate with my boy well enough to know how he is progressing in school, academically or socially.
Alternatively, if you get to fetch/send your kid to school, you can just take a few minutes to chat with the teacher to find out your kid's progress. -
japhys:
Normal Pcf is pretty much a 'heartlanders'' preschool catering to the middle and lower income group, with most of the students whose parents do not speak english at all. Some of those who came from pcfs but with good reading skills had either have extra enrichment or come from english speaking family background.there seem to be a higher percentage of those children from pcfs, who are unable to read well when they enter primary 1.
It was noted that there tend to be a higher percentage of them coming from pcf preschools. Some of them who came from pcfs but with good reading skills had extra enrichment lessons elsewhere... -
After reading through this thread, I’m quite glad that my husband and I have decided to put our N2 boy into full day care. I knew about the high standards in Pri 1 but did not realise that pre-school’s curriculum can be so "advanced" (in my view of course!)
I visited Sparkletots Telok Blangah as I heard good reviews from a friend. The principle seemed passionate about her work and communicated that she demands the same passion from her teachers. The teachers (and even the aunties) there were friendly and caring. What held me back was when I asked about their teaching methods and curriculum, I was given the reply "We follow MOE syllabus." Erm… I can imagine how tiring it can be answering this kind of question from every visitng parent. Being a concerned mum, how the school teaches the kids is veryimportant to me. Though I am no expert, the PCF that Tamarind mentioned seemed to have done it very right.
Would greatly appreciate it if any one can share review on this PCF in Telok Blangah. (Mincy: Thanks for the isights on commonwealth)
I have since enrolled my son in Agape Little Uni at One North, had mix feelings about the centre but decided to give it a try over Sparkletots at Telok Blangah.
Now reading this thread, may consider Sparkletots again when my boy reaches K1 or 2. More finanically viable too!
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.