Presidential Elections 2017

-1 Posts 40 Posters 61.4k Views 1 Watching
    • lee_ylL Offline
      lee_yl

Zeit:
      lee_yl:

Who are the other two potential candidates? Probably just coming out to raise their own profiles in the community and also for their own company.

Support Halimah lor, at least she is the first minority female president in Singapore and she has done women proud!

I don't know about the other 2's motives. But I was disgusted when Mdm Halimah was the GOH at the KK Human Milk Bank event which Temasek Cares supports. Salleh Marican was also there (as Temasek Foundation's board of director), but Ch 8 news completely did not feature Salleh but an ex-speaker of parliament. LOL.

Is the SCGS Alumni vouching for Mdm Halimah? Haven't heard anything from the AA yet. Good to hear from her pre-U Tg Katong Girls' School as well. I'm sure all the SCGS and TKGS parents, alumni, staff and pupils are rooting for Mdm Halimah. She will make their schools proud.

SCGS yeah! :rahrah:
      Btw, the newly appointed High Court JC, Valerie Thean was from SCGS too. :rahrah:

• ZeitZ Offline
        Zeit

Zeit:
        I'm also not happy that the EP is always reserved for a trade unionist. Why huh? Is the million-dollar Elected Presidency an unspoken retirement bonus or reward for a long-time union leader? OTC, SRN and HY were all from the trade unions. Or is it because they need the unionists to vote for their candidate? But how many union members are there in Singapore? Enough to secure a win for the candidate? Is NTUC or PAP funding Halimah's campaign and supplying manpower? Who's paying $600k for Mdm Halimah?

Can't help but pick this para out from Bertha Henson's article on Mdm Halimah.
        [quote]WE WERE on the 12th floor of NTUC Centre in Marina Boulevard with members of her media team. The former Speaker of Parliament has made it her base. Since her announcement on Aug 6, the National Trades Union Congress (NTUC) has come out in support of her. More organisations from the social services sector and women’s groups are expected to back her given her long history of public service. She told us that the Catholic Canossian sisters and a deacon of City Harvest church had also voiced their support.[/quote]http://themiddleground.sg/2017/08/16/pe2017-interview-madam-halimah-yacob/

So my suspicions are confirmed. Chan Chun Sing the fortune teller is sponsoring his ex-colleague's campaign. And what the Sh!t! Am I also sponsoring her campaign since I shop at NTUC Fairprice & Finest, and the sales revenues go to the payroll of those in Mdm Halimah's NTUC election team at the NTUC headquarters?!

As a customer of NTUC supermarket, I paid for this website of Halimah then? Unless it's paid for by Chan Chun Sing, the secretary general of NTUC?

http://www.halimah.sg/

Disgusted to say the least...

• ZeitZ Offline
          Zeit

And who’s this deacon from CHC rooting for Mdm Halimah? Thought they are all behind bars at Changi liao?

• MyPillowM Offline
            MyPillow

lee_yl:
            Is being the first female Speaker of Parliament an achievement enough?

Anyway, I don't quite care.
            KFC said he has done his best for the past 6 years and I also don't know what exactly he has done for Singapore thus far.
            not any aunty Mary, Jane, Lucy can garner such Strong Force
            So quite a substantial achievement .... kekekeke
            leeyl , u oso scgs ex flower?

• ZeitZ Offline
              Zeit

lee_yl:
              Zeit:

[quote=\"lee_yl\"]Who are the other two potential candidates? Probably just coming out to raise their own profiles in the community and also for their own company.

Support Halimah lor, at least she is the first minority female president in Singapore and she has done women proud!

I don't know about the other 2's motives. But I was disgusted when Mdm Halimah was the GOH at the KK Human Milk Bank event which Temasek Cares supports. Salleh Marican was also there (as Temasek Foundation's board of director), but Ch 8 news completely did not feature Salleh but an ex-speaker of parliament. LOL.

Is the SCGS Alumni vouching for Mdm Halimah? Haven't heard anything from the AA yet. Good to hear from her pre-U Tg Katong Girls' School as well. I'm sure all the SCGS and TKGS parents, alumni, staff and pupils are rooting for Mdm Halimah. She will make their schools proud.

SCGS yeah! :rahrah:
              Btw, the newly appointed High Court JC, Valerie Thean was from SCGS too. :rahrah:[/quote]OK, good good. Do us a favour. Go dig up your SCGS yearbook, as well as the sec year book and tell me how Mdm Halimah looked like in the SCGS uniform. So curious about her younger days.

• ZeitZ Offline
                Zeit

She’s the most qualified no doubt from the Establishment’s point of view. I also think she is, as I’d read about her cases during my younger years. She was most impressive in the courts.

But tolong, pls let the people have a choice. Let the people speak. It’s all about being democratic. Some segments may not like her type you see…

Zeit:
                  I don't think many Chinese loved Nathan, looking at the number of people who went to pay their last respects, as well as the stark absence of a 'Remembering Nathan' thread and chatter on this Kiasuparents forum.

That's how it is. You 硬硬 install your preferred president, but no one else loves him/her. Only you ownself publish your own narrative to exalt and extol your chosen one!
                  Nathan and Tony Tan have something in common...they didn't do anything.
                  as for Tony Tan...it's even worse!!! no power as a president and furthermore 样子没人缘.
                  硬硬 put someone unlikeable there and this is what happens.

• ZeitZ Offline
                    Zeit

janet88:
                    Zeit:

I don't think many Chinese loved Nathan, looking at the number of people who went to pay their last respects, as well as the stark absence of a 'Remembering Nathan' thread and chatter on this Kiasuparents forum.

That's how it is. You 硬硬 install your preferred president, but no one else loves him/her. Only you ownself publish your own narrative to exalt and extol your chosen one!

Nathan and Tony Tan have something in common...they didn't do anything.
                    as for Tony Tan...it's even worse!!! no power as a president and furthermore 样子没人缘.
                    硬硬 put someone unlikeable there and this is what happens.

Oh no, janet, I like Dr Tony Tan. I still keep his PE2011 cap in my closet, believe it or not!

https://s26.postimg.org/wnu1wiak9/20170809_111857.jpg\">

He's not a people person but a very principled leader. He did/said 2 things when he was in the education sector that made me support him. Shan't elaborate, as he's leaving in 2 days' time.

Mdm Halimah, fyi, said she's a mere 'foot soldier' when media asked about her migration to Yew Tee Marsiling from Jurong GRC in 2015. She's just a servant lah. Nothing like Dr Tony Tan who can bo-hiu LKY.

• floppyF Offline
                      floppy

Zeit:

Mdm Halimah, fyi, said she's a mere 'foot soldier' when media asked about her migration to Yew Tee Marsiling from Jurong GRC in 2015. She's just a servant lah. Nothing like Dr Tony Tan who can bo-hiu LKY.
                      In summary, she is a 'yes woman'.
                      When boss says 'jump', she asks 'how high'.
                      Just what we need.

P/S: Speaker of Parliament isn't an achievement, it's an appointment.

• ZeitZ Offline
                        Zeit

floppy:
                        Zeit:

In summary, she is a 'yes woman'.
                        When boss says 'jump', she asks 'how high'.
                        Just what we need.

P/S: Speaker of Parliament isn't an achievement, it's an appointment.

I presume the above postscript is for lee-yl?
                        lee_yl:
                        Is being the first female Speaker of Parliament an achievement enough?

Anyway, I don't quite care.
                        KFC said he has done his best for the past 6 years and I also don't know what exactly he has done for Singapore thus far.

To answer lee-yl, nope, it's NOT an achievement, because she wasn't supposed to be up there, if Michael Palmer the Eurasian who was widely tipped to be the next MINORITY President at that time, didnt have to resign!!! PM put Mdm Halimah up there as his replacement.

If you look at achievements, browse through her NTUC and MCYS contributions. Interrupting Chen Show Mao and Low Thia Khiang in parliament when they questioned the PM isn't a quite an achievement I want to remember her as speaker of parliament for!

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 1 / 1

sharonkhooS
                        sharonkhoo