All About Grooming & Encouraging Good Reading Habits
schellen:
Wow..ur family does Japanese as well!! Admirable! Ur girl can learn Japanese from the comfort of home! that's how kids learn easily! Pity I 'returned' all my knowledge (including Japanese) back to my teachers/lecturers.buds, :ugogirl:
My Dd used to prefer me reading cos sashimi was supposedly boring. But unlike your DH, he eventually bucked up and now, I think DD prefers him. But ok lah cos when reading Chinese and Jap stories, she doesn't want sashimi cos he reads funny or too slow.
buds and shylyn, yes, I speak Jap but not half Jap lah. I wish cos it seems that those \"half-half\" whom I always meet look so good.
shylyn, if only my DD looks to me as teacher besides Mommy. Still trying to teach her. I need Jap at work and since sashimi took it up years after I did, he's resorting to using me as his instant access dictionary rather than those dusty tomes on our shelves. :roll:
shylyn, you should try reading simple Jap children stories cos the Japs use funny sound effects. It's very fun to read. You can start small by choosing translated versions of English/Chinese stories you grew up with. -
schellen:
Hi Schellenbuds and shylyn, yes, I speak Jap but not half Jap lah. I wish cos it seems that those \"half-half\" whom I always meet look so good.
shylyn, if only my DD looks to me as teacher besides Mommy. Still trying to teach her. I need Jap at work and since sashimi took it up years after I did, he's resorting to using me as his instant access dictionary rather than those dusty tomes on our shelves. :roll:
shylyn, you should try reading simple Jap children stories cos the Japs use funny sound effects. It's very fun to read. You can start small by choosing translated versions of English/Chinese stories you grew up with.
Yaloh..those 'half half' always look so good..but anyway, we hv to be satisfied & thankful for what we hv..
Wow..i can imagine how fluent ur Japanese must b..since u r using it on a daily basis..well, I mean it's gd for your girl to see u as a Mummy most of the times rather than as a teacher mah..but i understand what u mean..cos all of us want e discipline power a teacher hv on e kid. I read somewhere tt u intend to send ur kid to learn Japanese? Hee..no need..since Daddy & Mummy can speak so fluently mah..
Aiyo..me to read Jap? :!: Heheh..think i dun even rem how e character is being pronouned..not to mention what it meant..in fact, i tried to teach my boy simple Japanese by using flash cards, for a while, he did rem how to pronoun e Jap character but forgot after i stopped. He has better memory for Spanish though..not much affinity with Japanese..hee.. -
I read somewhere about a 5-word rule for story books. If there are 5 words in a page that your child canโt recognize / read, the book is too difficult for him. On the hand, if there no words in the page that he donโt recognize, itโs too easy. So a good guage would be about 2 - 3 words in a page that he wonโt be able to recognize.
If the book is too tough, we kill his reading interest, if it is too easy, he makes no progress, a blend of both would lead him to learn new vocab and not kill his interest for books.
Just my 2-cents โฆ -
I wish ah! ๅฎใฏ, ็งใฏๆฅไธใซๆฅๆฌไบบใซใชใใใ! ๅๆฌ ็็ถพใจ็ตๅฉใใใ! http://www.jvcmusic.co.jp/maaya/cafe/index.html :love: :love: :love:
Wuah! Jap books?schellen:
buds, :ugogirl:
My Dd used to prefer me reading cos sashimi was supposedly boring. But unlike your DH, he eventually bucked up and now, I think DD prefers him. But ok lah cos when reading Chinese and Jap stories, she doesn't want sashimi cos he reads funny or too slow.
You half Jap beauty, schellen?
OK, OT liao..... Though it's true about some Japanese books - esp. simple board books for babies/toddlers, eg. animal names. Very very cute, you all can go Kino to see. And the words are simple, eg. cat = neko, dog = inu, pig = buta, rabbit = usagi.
Actually I have no idea why DD prefers my wife to read to her cos I find her reading to be pretty ordinary. And DD laughs when I read funny what! But Iโm fine since this means out of her 3 books nightly, I only need to read one.
Actually, it's precisely because I have zero memory of my dad when I was a child that I swore I would not do the same to my DD.
he always reminds me his dad NEVER
does these things, so he wonders if other fathers are even REQUIRED
to do the same, as requested by me.. Hahaa!
\"Take too long to finish up with the kitchen...\"? What is it with you wives that the kitchen always gets in the way of bedtime stories? You and schellen the same!
Nowadays, he story-tell
with goof and the kids enjoy him more than me, mebbe cos i take too
long to finish up with the kitchen.
Er, when I say read funny, it means pronounce funny, not read about funny things. :roll:
sashimi:
\"Take too long to finish up with the kitchen...\"? What is it with you wives that the kitchen always gets in the way of bedtime stories? You and schellen the same!

When husbands see the kitchen, their brain resets the standards and tells them what they see is acceptable. When wives see the kitchen, we see dishes to be done, laundry to be hung up/taken down, trash to be taken out, etc. Husbands don't see these or they wear blinders, what the horses that pull carriages wear.
schellen:
Er, when I say read funny, it means pronounce funny, not read about funny things. :roll:
Ya lor.. always misinterpret.
Cheh... :roll: -
he always reminds me his dad NEVER
does these things, so he wonders if other fathers are even REQUIRED
to do the same, as requested by me.. Hahaa!sashimi:
Ya, I feel blessed that thru the years he has made a lot of effort onActually, it's precisely because I have zero memory of my dad when I was a child that I swore I would not do the same to my DD.
spending quality family time with us. There are many friends out there
whose hubbies aren't so pro-active. Reali feel for them. Some have to
work full time, come back do housework and yet still no support on the
family time. Their spouses are the totally hands off type..buds:
Nowadays, he story-tell with goof and the kids enjoy him more than me, mebbe cos i take too long to finish up with the kitchen.sashimi:
Oi daddy, i dun let it get in the way ya know. If i see lukewarm response\"Take too long to finish up with the kitchen...\"? What is it with you wives that the kitchen always gets in the way of bedtime stories? You and schellen the same!

from spare story teller, i dry my hands, stop kitchen activity and take
over. I understand there will be times hubs will come back totally knock
out exhausted.
And it's not just zoom in to kitchen area oni hor...
After wash dishes, wipe the oily stoves, wipe cabinets, clear the rubbish,
mop sticky kitchen floor, clear laundry, fold the clothes (i usuali set aside
when everybody has slept), iron work clothes and uniforms ( if didn get
chance to do wkly ironing due to weekend outings), plan and prepare
following day's menu, etc... just to name a few to give a bigger picture.
It helps that my hubby not so nit-picking kind.
If the sort who can't tahan little bit messy, i die liao. :faint:
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.