Nanyang Girls' High School [*IP]

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Secondary Schools - Parent Networking Groups
    3.3k Posts 550 Posters 1.4m Views 3 Watching
      FantasyLandDreams

Imp75:
      How do parents help their child cope with issues such as graded groupwork but none of the group members contributed or bothered to do, left your child to put together the assignment for submission. I find this occurrence rather common.

End of year tchr-child meeting is coming up, should this be told to the FT?
      Happened to a friend's child in another ip school. Started in sec 1, got worse in sec 2. Mid of sec 2, parent asked to meet up with teacher to discuss, before ptm. In the group of 4, two of them more bo chap yet will claim credit even. The third one will still help on and off. Mini office politics style in short. My friend concluded really 'sway' lor what to do. Luckily, the child was allocated a better class in sec 3 and such problem ceased.

• Z Offline
        zinx_silver

Imp75:
        How do parents help their child cope with issues such as graded groupwork but none of the group members contributed or bothered to do, left your child to put together the assignment for submission. I find this occurrence rather common.

End of year tchr-child meeting is coming up, should this be told to the FT?
        Hi Imp75,

Earlier this year, I have found myself in a similar situation, in a group with two (out of four) of my group members not contributing towards the graded group project. What I did was to give them some time, to see perhaps if their lack of contribution was due to the large amount of homework, but was largerly disappointed. Immediately, my other group member and I reported them to the teacher. The teacher got the four of together, and made us talk about this whole matter. While they still defended themselves, the teacher promised to keep a lookout for our group. Throughout the project, our teacher did occasional checkups on us. In the end, tho the marks we obtained was not the best, but the two members have started contributing, even if it is only a small amount.

I'm not so sure, but I believe this could be the standard procedure in regards to uncooperative teammates in school. Perhaps encouraging the student to firstly confront her teammates before reporting it to the teacher would be a good idea. If such behaviour has yet to cease, perhaps the parents can bring up this issue during PTM. Oh just to add on, I'm a Sec 3.

Hope this helps!

Best regards,
        zinx_silver

• Imp75I Offline
          Imp75

I Arady told her to bring it up to the FT, not to name or shame the team members but more to get guidance over how to manage challenges like this. My girl nature is docile and she doesn’t want to confront her classmates. The present HI and GI end of year project (in lieu of EOY), she did it all by herself… I see her pretty stressed out…

lego

I agree with zinx_silver.

Try to deal with the situation among yourselves first if possible.
            When dd was in primary school, she had graded project work in lieu of a written CA test.
            It was done during curriculum time.
            She told me that one of the boys in her group was playing around and not working on his allocated part of the assignment.
            I told her to let the teacher know.
            She did that.
            The details of the results of the project work was subsequently released to us during PTM.
            In group work, there are usually 2 components - one is group component and the other is the individual component.
            For the group component, one of the assessment area is teamwork and the group gets a poor grade for that.
            The one who puts in lesser effort may get lesser mark for the individual component but everyone gets the same marks for the group component.
            In that particular project work, group component constitutes a much larger percentage than individual component, so in the end, everyone gets a poorer grade. 🤷

With that experience that we had, dd didn't complain to the teacher anymore when she is in Sec school.
            For group projects that the teacher allowed them to form their own groups, she will choose those that she had worked with previously and found them to be ok. Teachers may ask them to rotate the group after an assignment but there are a few subjects, so she can still form the same group for another subject's project work.
            Some girls will do the work only at the 11th hour.
            The girls have to rotate their roles and when she is the final checker for the project, she will try and chase them everyday.
            One of the girl was from a different class for the GI project (personalised curriculum in sec 2), so on top of chasing her on the group's whatsapp, she went to look for the girl everyday in the morning before assembly.

So this is pretty common hor.

My son in an ip school had a very extreme case in sec 1. 4 team members in a group and he was the only one working on it. The 3 other were good friends. All no time to meet up. Didn’t meet internal deadline and when ds did their part for draft submission, they said it was not how/what, they wanted to present. Day before submission, 1 said bedtime at 10pm, 1 said daddy using computer and 1 said entering lift need to hang up phone and not contactable. So he stayed up late to do.

He feedback to teacher and guess what teacher did? He got the whole class to do peer assessment among group mates! 3 against 1 leh. Son said even the worst options given in the checklist couldn’t describe the extent of uncooperativeness the 3 team members were. He didn’t fill in and walked out of the class after seeking permission to cool off.

Very bad… Majority of sec 1 to 2 group project, the teachers did not allow them to choose own team members. I feel that good students are unfairly treated like that.

lego

So this is pretty common hor.

My son in an ip school had a very extreme case in sec 1. 4 team members in a group and he was the only one working on it. The 3 other were good friends. All no time to meet up. Didn't meet internal deadline and when ds did their part for draft submission, they said it was not how/what, they wanted to present. Day before submission, 1 said bedtime at 10pm, 1 said daddy using computer and 1 said entering lift need to hang up phone and not contactable. So he stayed up late to do.

He feedback to teacher and guess what teacher did? He got the whole class to do peer assessment among group mates! 3 against 1 leh. Son said even the worst options given in the checklist couldn't describe the extent of uncooperativeness the 3 team members were. He didn't fill in and walked out of the class after seeking permission to cool off.

Very bad... Majority of sec 1 to 2 group project, the teachers did not allow them to choose own team members. I feel that good students are unfairly treated like that.
                Ya lor, very common.
                3 against 1? Your poor son.

A friend also shared with me that for his son's group work - one of the boys is always not free during group meetings, so the rest of the group have to cover up for him but there's an individual graded piece of reflection for that assignment and he did very well for that. So, in the end, everyone gets the same mark for the group work but the boy got the highest mark of them all coz' his individual component was the best among the group. 🤷

• tsh0202T Offline
                  tsh0202

There’s a change of P next year for NYGH?

Anyone know where Mdm Heng is being posted to? MOE?

• E Offline
                    Eddisema

tsh0202:
                    There’s a change of P next year for NYGH?

Anyone know where Mdm Heng is being posted to? MOE?
                    Yes the news is out today! 🦆
                    https://www.moe.gov.sg/news/press-releases/ministry-of-education-appoints-61-principals-in-2017

• E Offline
                      Eddisema

New P is Mdm Ng Chuen-Yin fm MOE HQ. No news for Mdm Heng leh :scratchhead:

SAHM2KIDS

Mdm Heng will be posted as Director, Mother Tongue Languages in the Curriculum Planning and Development Division. Info from school informed by teacher.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 166 / 329

P1 Registration 2027 Changes
                        DSA Discussions and Strategies