Hi zac’s mum, thank you so much for taking time to reply and share advice. Will read up on the stats but may I know if using SD allows me to remain in phase 2B? I know the distance will be downgraded but we are already in 1-2km anyway and I dont think we will be further downgraded to >2km?
stay0:
Hi zac's mum, thank you so much for taking time to reply and share advice. Will read up on the stats but may I know if using SD allows me to remain in phase 2B? I know the distance will be downgraded but we are already in 1-2km anyway and I dont think we will be further downgraded to >2km?
No worries. Yes u will be in phase 2B by virtue of your Catholic status. And the SD will not change your distance category since it's already 1-2km. -
It’s better to choose a school near your home. School starts so early. It’s very tired to get up even earlier in order to go to a faraway school. let kids to have enough sleep and learn more.
Dear All, This is my first post in Kiasuparents. And I know I am super kiasu because my eldest girl is only 3 years old now. And I have another 1 year old boy. I am in a dilemma now. I am currently working in a prestige girl school in Bukit Timah Area and would be able to get my girl in as Phase 2A2. And my husband is an alumni of CHS. I am an old girl from HIPS. We are now staying at Punggol.
What would your decision for the children’s primary school registration? -
darkicicle:
Send my girl to the girl school and my boy to CHS. Move to Bukit Timah or Bishan. Punggol is near to neither school.Dear All, This is my first post in Kiasuparents. And I know I am super kiasu because my eldest girl is only 3 years old now. And I have another 1 year old boy. I am in a dilemma now. I am currently working in a prestige girl school in Bukit Timah Area and would be able to get my girl in as Phase 2A2. And my husband is an alumni of CHS. I am an old girl from HIPS. We are now staying at Punggol.
What would your decision for the children's primary school registration? -
How do you find the early morning commute to your workplace so far? I assume your daughter will be travelling with you to school. If you think she can take the long commute and early wake up time, by all means go for it.
Cloud Cloud:
agree .
Send my girl to the girl school and my boy to CHS. Move to Bukit Timah or Bishan. Punggol is near to neither school.darkicicle:
Dear All, This is my first post in Kiasuparents. And I know I am super kiasu because my eldest girl is only 3 years old now. And I have another 1 year old boy. I am in a dilemma now. I am currently working in a prestige girl school in Bukit Timah Area and would be able to get my girl in as Phase 2A2. And my husband is an alumni of CHS. I am an old girl from HIPS. We are now staying at Punggol.
What would your decision for the children's primary school registration?
CHS got affiliation - good
Girl sch in Bt Timah - any Affiliation ?
HIPS affiliated sec sch is v so so only compared to above
Maybe move to a place that can hop onto circle line and downtown line transfer easily ,beside bishan , Lor chuan, Serangoon -
Sharing my friend’s case. My friend is alumni both to SCGS and RGPS ( I think it was because she was selected for GEP). In the end she puts her dd in SCGS after assessing dd’s learning ability. My friend stayed in Bishan and hence son goes to CHS. Subsequently she moved to bukit timah to be nearer to her mum’s place and SCGS as over the years, she realized her dd needs more support than son. When she puts her dd to SCGS rather than RGPS, a lot of us could not understand her decision. But now all of us applauded her wise foresight to choose a school with affiliation. Our conclusion is, it is really wiser to choose a ‘suitable’ school based on the learning ability of the child, rather than where you stay or prestige or other factors, these are just ‘noise’ in the end; the well - being of the child is more important indeed.
FantasyLandDreams:
Sharing my friend's case. My friend is alumni both to SCGS and RGPS ( I think it was because she was selected for GEP). In the end she puts her dd in SCGS after assessing dd's learning ability. My friend stayed in Bishan and hence son goes to CHS. Subsequently she moved to bukit timah to be nearer to her mum's place and SCGS as over the years, she realized her dd needs more support than son. When she puts her dd to SCGS rather than RGPS, a lot of us could not understand her decision. But now all of us applauded her wise foresight to choose a school with affiliation. Our conclusion is, it is really wiser to choose a 'suitable' school based on the learning ability of the child, rather than where you stay or prestige or other factors, these are just 'noise' in the end; the well - being of the child is more important indeed.
Excellent real life example!!
Anyway, I doubt that the overall results of rgps is significantly better than the other 2 girls' school with affiliation along BT if one is to omit the Gepers from the statistics. -
Parents must be 醒目 enough to know lah.FantasyLandDreams:
Sharing my friend's case. My friend is alumni both to SCGS and RGPS ( I think it was because she was selected for GEP). In the end she puts her dd in SCGS after assessing dd's learning ability. My friend stayed in Bishan and hence son goes to CHS. Subsequently she moved to bukit timah to be nearer to her mum's place and SCGS as over the years, she realized her dd needs more support than son. When she puts her dd to SCGS rather than RGPS, a lot of us could not understand her decision. But now all of us applauded her wise foresight to choose a school with affiliation. Our conclusion is, it is really wiser to choose a 'suitable' school based on the learning ability of the child, rather than where you stay or prestige or other factors, these are just 'noise' in the end; the well - being of the child is more important indeed.
Excellent real life example!!
Anyway, I doubt that the overall results of rgps is significantly better than the other 2 girls' school with affiliation along BT if one is to omit the Gepers from the statistics.
Years back, one relative managed to get her daughter into NYPS while we decided to register DD1 for SCGS. Her daughter tscore turn out to be a decent 24X, but can’t go to NYGH despite the affiliation. Both parent & child couldn’t take it and ended up going to international school.
Years back, my friend asked me NYPS or MGS for her DD1 (my friend was alumni to both schools). I told her MGS because of the affiliation and considering that her daughter was the more playful type. Fast forward, her DD1 scored just enough to go back MGS O-level based on affiliation.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.