2018 PSLE Discussions & Strategies (Born in 2006)
FantasyLandDreams, yeah do take a look those books closely. IMO GetMeThinking is suitable for parents who can solely used the books to teach their kids coz it is very much on conceptual understanding.
Perhaps after the end of each chapter of GetMeThinking, you can add in some dose of Conquer as part of the higher order.
If use conquer alone to teach, i am very sure the child is super lost.
Initially my oldest kiddo not so strong in Maths and yet i used conquer and really can kill and ended up cannot conquer anything. That was like in P3/P4. So we started slow on GetMeThinking and then proceed to Conquer and now smooth sailing. -
EXAM OFFICIALLY OVER LIAO!!! :rahrah: :rahrah:

laughingcat:
EXAM OFFICIALLY OVER LIAO!!! :rahrah: :rahrah:

Ha, ha... are u giving yr child a break before hitting the books again for PSLE prep? Best scrutinize whole P5 year's work to identify obvious weak areas to agree with yr child & work on. Do give them some fun time. Take care! -
YES YES!! Fun time for them. I am going to give them so much playtime and free time until they asked for no more. *slowly bore them\"
My oldest will be very stressed if given too much playtime. :scratchhead: Then he will automatically heads to the test papers sections or assessment books. :faint:
Whereas my younger one.....\"PLAY\" is his life :rotflmao: -
laughingcat:
Aiyah! Thought your kiddo in P5. Coz I want to collaborate with mummies (if they dun mind sharing) to exchange for P6 school terms paper for next year.
Hi just a thought, how abt starting now for P5 SA2 papers exchanging? I'm keen to join the sharing group. Thanks. -
MrsKiasu:
hihi, sorry to interrupt..may I know if the Onsponge that you mummies referring to is the thinkingMath@onSponge Conquer Problem Sums? ( I have the P4 book white background with writings in purple on the cover) or there are other types ?
Yes it is:) there are also Math Olympiad assessment books that I find are quite good to get your child ready for the 'ribbon' kind of questions -
logan77:
laughingcat:
Aiyah! Thought your kiddo in P5. Coz I want to collaborate with mummies (if they dun mind sharing) to exchange for P6 school terms paper for next year.
Hi just a thought, how abt starting now for P5 SA2 papers exchanging? I'm keen to join the sharing group. Thanks.
P5 SA2 sounds good too. :evil: Ok. PM me your email add and I see what I can do.
Besides.....my boys are getting back their marked papers starting tomorrow. -
jasmineong:
MO book confirmed cannot do already as that was the book we both did togetherMrsKiasu:
hihi, sorry to interrupt..may I know if the Onsponge that you mummies referring to is the thinkingMath@onSponge Conquer Problem Sums? ( I have the P4 book white background with writings in purple on the cover) or there are other types ?
Yes it is:) there are also Math Olympiad assessment books that I find are quite good to get your child ready for the 'ribbon' kind of questions
How about Challenging Math, as compared ro Onsponge in terms of difficulties? feeling like secretly assess dd
laughingcat:
what a darling :love: will run to assessment books section.YES YES!! Fun time for them. I am going to give them so much playtime and free time until they asked for no more. *slowly bore them\"
My oldest will be very stressed if given too much playtime. :scratchhead: Then he will automatically heads to the test papers sections or assessment books. :faint:
Whereas my younger one.....\"PLAY\" is his life :rotflmao: -
MrsKiasu, the Challenging book is much better lah. It covers bother Section A and B with some challenges, not just the problem sums only. Also the questions are very closely matched to past year paper types.
If you have the time and got nothing else to do, can try to attempt Conquer. Otherwise Challenging Maths plus past years papers are already adequate.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.