[PSLE MT] PSLE less weightage in Chinese / Mother Tongue
I thought MOE has issued a statement? It seems pretty conclusive that there will be no lowering of MT for PSLE :?
they this time did not use the \"offending\" word - weightage. They only said MT is still very important, the cornerstone of education policy, its importance will not be reduced....to me, it still has not addressed the issue of the 25% weightage. status quo or cut ? may be they will still cut but assure you that it is still important.... see the difference ? wait for the press conference -
they this time did not use the \"offending\" word - weightage. They only said MT is still very important, the cornerstone of education policy, its importance will not be reduced....to me, it still has not addressed the issue of the 25% weightage. status quo or cut ? may be they will still cut but assure you that it is still important.... see the difference ? wait for the press conference
Very political if that is the case... Playing with words. -
i dun follow MOE's logic, MT is still important, then has to be cut.... :?
or MOE think cut it so that it can be important.... :? :? -
HyperKiasu:
i dun follow MOE's logic, MT is still important, then has to be cut.... :?
or MOE think cut it so that it can be important.... :? :?
that is why i also cannot find any logic ..... wait for the press conference -
they want to appease the uproar among community....verykiasu2010:
they this time did not use the \"offending\" word - weightage. They only said MT is still very important, the cornerstone of education policy, its importance will not be reduced....to me, it still has not addressed the issue of the 25% weightage. status quo or cut ? may be they will still cut but assure you that it is still important.... see the difference ? wait for the press conference
hasn't it turned political ? many have warned the repeat of 1991 when they lost seats / votes .....despite the assurance that the Hong Lim Park gathering is apolitical, it is just mere words ..... and the message has been taken heed .... so he saidverykiasu2010:
sunflower:
oops, yah, its the other way, from wenyanwen to baihuawen, using the standards set by 鲁迅 and other very good writers.
Err..just a little correction, it gradually changed from 文言文 to 白话文 around the 民初 period (early 1900s).tree nymph:
Hi 3Boys,
The New China in 1955 uniformed the spoken language - which is Mandarin. But the written Chinese language IS never changed. Ok, actually it was changed from Baihuawen to Wenyanwen during the same period, which I think was a brilliant decision, but this is the style of writing.
Current motivation to change extremely lacks lustre. So they have to find a very stoic reason for change if they want to proceed with their suggestion. I don’t mind supporting a good cause if they can convince me that there is one.
nan.nan,
thank you for taking such a long time time to craft your extensive reply. It is very thoughtful and I appreciate it. You get about 90% of what I am trying to say. Where we differ is in the cultural aspects (emphasis on it) and how we set examinable standards.
So I ask this question. If you take a long posting/migrate to the US or Europe, are you culturally rooted as a Singaporean, or are you culturally rooted as a Chinese? How you answer this question comes from deep down inside your guts and will colour how you see this issue to some extent. Since it is a gut reaction, there is no point really trying to have a rational discussion on it, simply too emotive.
People keep setting up straw-men, so as to knock them down. Don’t know how many false depictions of my positions are out there, and I am too weary to go correct them all.
To me its deja-vu, not much has changed in 30 years. -
Give Mr Ng some face lah. We can’t expect him to apologize and say that he is wrong to make the statement about lowering the weighting right ? If he keeps quiet tomorrow, that means he admits his mistake and nothing will be changed. Then let’s pretend that nothing has happened before lor.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.