* Nanyang JC (NYJC)
mindays:
I am seriously doubting on ur arguments @Conqueror. :skeptical:conqueror:
Nyjc was one of the lowest ranking JCS in my time. It's difficult to change its image for middle-aged parents like myself. Most parents without kids at JCS aren't aware of its current status too as Nyjc had been a dumping JC for a long time. So I can understand why some parents in this thread are desperate to sell it. You may but please do it honourably and with class.
Oh well, see! Backlash happens when guardians are not around
According to the Straits Times article on 28 NOV 1992, \"The college was consistently ranked the seventh in national ranking\" (throughout the 1990s according from further research at NLB). Article title is \"A homely college with a kampung feel\"
Having a low cut off point (or in this context \"high\" COP) doesn't mean the college can't perform. If in the 1990s NYJC was at 7th nationally for A Level results, it just shows that NYJC is alrd a value added JC since 20 yrs ago!! By all means, what a college was like in the past does't mean what it would be now. No point digging the past out. (Just like can you label someone pretty or handsome as fat just because he or she was previous an obese child?)
Its not a matter of any user is from which sch or whatsoever. Pls don't deface other JCs just because the JC is legit improving and you don't like people talking abt it! If u think that sharing about the college's happenings and penning down opinions to share is something promotional, then isn't EJC's trend also highly questionable?? Yall r just making urselves a disgusting joke!
If yall have nothing constructive to contribute to what this group is meant for (i.e. updating parents about happenings and programmes, as well providing factual answers to fellow parents in doubt), then pls kindly practice restrain. -
I AM an NYJCian who graduated yrs ago. But dat does’t mean I unconditionally support my college. To put it up front I actually disagreed with some of the college practices which are against my belief (I am actually more sided towards Hwa Chong if u ask me).
For NYJC I would usually just provide facts and heck care abt what the opinions yall have abt the college (In fact I criticize sometimes because that wasnt my dream JC and I have every right to do so). But all these non-reasonable accusations is just way too much!! -
Hi have qns regarding 语特 (LEP programme?). (Since NYJC offers it so I guess will be appropriate to ask here)
Heard there is a paper in the mandatory subject (is it called CLL? The one with "Higher Higher" Chinese and Chi Lit) that uses computers to answer. How exactly are the stuffs tested?
Also saw the info from HYTam86 and Eddisema dat
"Heard NYJC is one of the few JCs which picks local theatre arts by 郭宝昆 as their elective syllabus, while the others taught 老舍’s 茶馆" and "NY was indeed one of the couple of JC which choose 郭宝昆’s work when that new syllabus came out a few years back. Another thing is that if heard correctly, for next year the syllabus will be updated, which another local cultural work by 郭宝昆 named《㗝呸店》(1986) will replace《小白船》(1982). 老舍’s 《茶馆》may be out of the syllabus. "
So seems like every JC can have different syllabuses under a single subject but sit for a centralised paper… but does the students get to choose the work to study on (like the 茶馆 or 郭宝昆) or if they insist to study a different thing offered by default by the JC dey must attend lessons at another JC that teaches the relevant syllabus?
Thanks! -
My son took CLEP in JC, so might have some info of help.
Yes there are 2 components of the subject, the language part, which is of similar standard of our generation's Higher Chinese in the 1990s, as well as the chinese lit part. both equal weightage.
The language part have 4 components in 2 papers.
Paper 1: Part 1 (1hr15min) consisting 作文 35m,Part 2 (1hr) consisting 选词填空 5m and a 理解问答 (usually single passage) 30m
The computer part is actually Paper 2 (1hr), which consists a double passage 理解问答 30m, which include a 短评 (a Chinese version of AQ in GP which the kids will give opinions on a open discussion qn using no more than 200 words). The whole thing is done in a dedicated MOE exam system that automatically time the kids and capture the answers real time (i.e. a bit like own time own target).
For the lit part, for my son in Hwa Chong they taught in class base on what the sch chose to teach (for them they are \"drinking tea\" in 茶馆), but ultimately the exam paper they will be dedicated sections that cater to each of the syllabus (ie there are 2 versions of the last section placed side by side). Its poss to do either of the syllabus even if their sch teach the other, and it will be marked together with the other kids that do the same qn.
But my son say never heard anyone doing that or to read the alternative syllabus. He say everyone just follow through with the sch syllabus. Tbh no body ever asked this....:shock:
One thing is for CLEP Hwa Chong's requirement is must offer either 4H2+H1GSC or 3H2+1H1+H1GSC as subject combi. So my son and their class actually took 1 more subject than the rest of their peers. -
Weirddad:
I took CLEP in JC, but is the syllabus without the computer. So I m giving comments on the lit part
For the lit part, for my son in Hwa Chong they taught in class base on what the sch chose to teach (for them they are \"drinking tea\" in 茶馆), but ultimately the exam paper they will be dedicated sections that cater to each of the syllabus (ie there are 2 versions of the last section placed side by side). Its poss to do either of the syllabus even if their sch teach the other, and it will be marked together with the other kids that do the same qn.
But my son say never heard anyone doing that or to read the alternative syllabus. He say everyone just follow through with the sch syllabus. Tbh no body ever asked this....:shock:
One thing is for CLEP Hwa Chong's requirement is must offer either 4H2+H1GSC or 3H2+1H1+H1GSC as subject combi. So my son and their class actually took 1 more subject than the rest of their peers.
Yes we get the same paper in A Lvls, so its possible to do the qns meant for another elective. So if self-studied the topic and have prepared all the qns, its really by all means to give the alternative elective a try during A lvls.
郭宝昆 is printed along with the other mandatory literary works like 古文,小说,新诗 and 唐诗宋词 so the original text is readily available in the exam, for 茶馆 the original text is a separate book but if can always buy the book that is designated by SEAB to bring into exams. (just in case you r wondering the lit paper is open book, so we are allowed to bring the original text (aka 文本) in. Just dat can only underline key points, no highlighting even
)
The 戏剧 elective which consist of 郭宝昆 works is a newer elective, so compared to 茶馆, less JCs would have the resources as JCs which taught 茶馆 all the way and choose to continue on would not have prepared the materials for the 戏剧 elective. So it may end up with the situation:
* JCs currently teaching 茶馆 will have materials for 茶馆, but may not have materials for 郭宝昆
* JCs currently teaching 郭宝昆 will likely have materials for both,
since 茶馆 was there since the time when CLL was offered as a subject so JCs would have taught 茶馆 before switching to 郭宝昆.
We did have frenz from Hwa Chong and TJ that retook A Lvls asking for our notes for 傻姑娘与怪老树 and 小白船 cause their college don't have anything on it.
From what I know these JCs that are doing 郭宝昆戏剧:
LEP Centres:
* JJ (merging into PJ)
* NY
Non-LEP Centres: (one of the JC is switching back to 茶馆, can't rmb which one)
* PJ
* AJ
* RVHS
* IJ -
Weirddad:
For NYJC we only nid to offer H2CLL for CLEP. But if u successfully applied for MOE's LEP scholarship (only for Singapore Citizens) den u must have 2 CL related subjects. U might nid to take H3CLL if u dun hav another CL related subject.
One thing is for CLEP Hwa Chong's requirement is must offer either 4H2+H1GSC or 3H2+1H1+H1GSC as subject combi. So my son and their class actually took 1 more subject than the rest of their peers.
But nevertheless, u will be allowed to drop H3 if u legit can't cope. The college will do case by case.
Icic… Will there b a lot of students with PRC background in there? How many ppl take CLEP usually?
ElaineK:
Icic.. Will there b a lot of students with PRC background in there? How many ppl take CLEP usually?
Errm perhaps \"not a lot and not less\" bah I would say? For my batch we have 36 ppl taking CLEP, 13 of them are PRC scholars/fgn students, 2 of them is PR/Singaporean from PRC, 2 Malaysians and the rest is local Singaporeans like me.
Total ppl taking CLEP during my yr is around 90+ (we ve 10 grps of 8 to 9 ppl during the CLEP camp so arn thr)? U might want to ask for a more recent figure during the JC open houses. -
Hi
For CLEP:
Is it still 红楼梦?In which year will 茶馆 be replaced ( not sure if I understand correctly)? -
FantasyLandDreams:
红楼梦 is currently under H3 CLL.Hi
For CLEP:
Is it still 红楼梦?In which year will 茶馆 be replaced ( not sure if I understand correctly)?
H3 syllabus doc:http://www.seab.gov.sg/content/syllabus/alevel/2017Syllabus/9901_2017.pdf
but 茶馆 will b replaced? 还没听说 leh
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.