[PSLE MT] PSLE less weightage in Chinese / Mother Tongue

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Secondary Schools - Selection
    1.0k Posts 91 Posters 349.8k Views 1 Watching
    • G Offline
      gajidouma

The Sun did rise from the west from time to time. Thank you for listening… That saved my day… can rest in peace liao. now need to take care of my pimples.

The Chinese report seems clearer.

• MMMM Offline
          MMM

[quote=\"verykiasu2010\"]they should seriously consider to introduce mandarin / chinese language from nursery class onwards, just like parents now do with english and montessori etc etc

they should have the chinese equivalent. i am sure the kids would love it

starting with words formation / components, etc

:? thought most preschools already are teaching chinese. That's why there are so many S pass Chinese teachers in preschools and childcare.

perhaps not the right approach being used ?[/quote]My cousin who teaches CL in a established chain of preschools told us that they were asked to reduce the time for CL. In addition, they were teaching \"basic stuff\" and not a good coverage. As a result of this, she encouraged me to send my kids to CL enrichment classes where the kids will be taught so much more.

gajidouma:
            The Sun did rise from the west from time to time. Thank you for listening... That saved my day... can rest in peace liao. now need to take care of my pimples.

must have been due to the MT stress ...... i mean the pimples ....lol

[quote=\"Funz\"]
              :? thought most preschools already are teaching chinese. That's why there are so many S pass Chinese teachers in preschools and childcare.

perhaps not the right approach being used ?

My cousin who teaches CL in a established chain of preschools told us that they were asked to reduce the time for CL. In addition, they were teaching \"basic stuff\" and not a good coverage. As a result of this, she encouraged me to send my kids to CL enrichment classes where the kids will be taught so much more.[/quote]I too was told that the kindergarten were told to reduce time allocation for CL. Thanks for your confirmation

Kindy has never focused on MT, ours only allocated 1/2 hr of the 3 hours and I have already seen it as a recipe for disaster for my child. But I am 😎 about it because it is a necessity that I don’t think my child can ignore for long, as necessary as having a meal.

caroline3sg

nan.nan:

[quote=\"caroline3sg\"]So far, the only minister that I first recognise is good is Khaw. Didn't know he was M'sian.

Minister Khaw is down to earth, humble. I like him very much too !

how good is he to suggest putting your old folks in nursing homes in malaysia instead of looking into how to care for the aged in singapore and to lower health care cost in singapore ? and now to allow CPF to be used in malaysian hospitals - it does undermine our CPF money to benefit malaysian health care system in the name of lower cost - what to happen to our singapore doctors ?喝西北风?

anyway this is off topic[/quote]This is OT. Putting old folks in JB nursing homes, he never advocate. He is just offering one cost down solution. If there is no such research/discussion into lower cost eldercare, there would still be people in S'pore putting their parents in old folks home.

To be able to use CPF in M'sia hosp, again it is own discretion. If one trust the skill of M'sia doctors, by all means. How about those FT who earn S'pore money and bring back their home country? Which one more proportion? We have many Malaysians working here. they also contribute CPF.

So far, only 1 issue I have yet to 100% agree, that is means testing. All are S'pore citizens. We have right to be subsidised. They should not judge our ability to pay / what class we should stay / amt of subsidy we are entitled based on whatever criteria (ie housing, income etc etc).

HyperKiasu

I feel that the political scene has to evolve with the usage of internet and FB. In 1991 (still young then) I wonder how does people voice their displeasure.

But one thing for sure in this information age of ours, feedback are being sent directly to the relevant authority, it is much faster, alot more transparency and more people like to make use of forum to voice their thoughts. This is probably very different from 1991.

yes. perhaps MOE also closely watched the Kiasuparents' discussion here?

HyperKiasu:

I feel that the political scene has to evolve with the usage of internet and FB. In 1991 (still young then) I wonder how does people voice their displeasure.

But one thing for sure in this information age of ours, feedback are being sent directly to the relevant authority, it is much faster, alot more transparency and more people like to make use of forum to voice their thoughts. This is probably very different from 1991.

yes. perhaps MOE also closely watched the Kiasuparents' discussion here?

two recent issues that MOE blundered : (1) sex ed by Aware; (2) MT weightage reduction. Anyway, Minister Ng apologised, but citizens need to be watchful lor

HyperKiasu

[quote=\"MMM\"]...maybe oral exam will be given greater emphasis as compared to compo writing???

I have the same thought 😉

as it is now, the weightage within the subject has been tilted heavily towards oral and listening compre[/quote]this is consistent with LKY's \"听写默写 is a madness\".
                        writing chinese characters are the toughest part of learning CL.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 88 / 104