* Nanyang JC (NYJC)

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Tertiary Education - A-Levels, Diplomas, Degrees
    1.7k Posts 177 Posters 258.4k Views 2 Watching
      KTKS

candyfan:
      PW 2018 results for all JCs:

https://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?f=40&t=67330&start=2300

NYJC could have done better than that?
      Either the school is very strict with the marking scheme or the students waste too much time on b-g-r. My personal observation is that there are many 'couples' in nyjc. The most I've seen among all the jcs. It's comparable to cjc during my school days. :callme:

mindays

candyfan:
        ParkYuni:

[quote=\"KTKS\"]

Your DC was from nyjc? Do share his achievement and why you would recommend nyjc.

Crester, you used to mention that nyjc is great in 'value-adding'. Care to share first hand how it applies to your dc's performance?

It is unusual that Crester is not sharing his/her DC's performance and showing gratitude to nyjc first hand. :?
        Is there a problem? :evil:
        This thread is 'dead' with the departure of mindays & crester.[/quote]My colleague's DS did well, he was one of the 282 people out of a 600+ cohort who made it on the honour roll (3H2 Distinctions + Pass in GP) for the 2017 A Level. He will be pursuing Medicine in NUS.

ParkYuni

mindays:

My colleague's DS did well, he was one of the 282 people out of a 600+ cohort who made it on the honour roll (3H2 Distinctions + Pass in GP) for the 2017 A Level. He will be pursuing Medicine in NUS.
          Congrats to your colleague's DS!
          Well, these days, anyone who scored well can possibly be accepted into NUS/NTU medicine. My friend's child from MJC was accepted too.

mindays

ParkYuni:
            mindays:

My colleague's DS did well, he was one of the 282 people out of a 600+ cohort who made it on the honour roll (3H2 Distinctions + Pass in GP) for the 2017 A Level. He will be pursuing Medicine in NUS.

Well, these days, anyone who scored well can possibly be accepted into NUS/NTU medicine. My friend's child from MJC was accepted too.

Congratulations to your friend's child. Being able to secure a place in NUS/NTU Medical Schools already shows that the individuals are well-rounded šŸ˜„

Markers22

KTKS:
              candyfan:

Either the school is very strict with the marking scheme or the students waste too much time on b-g-r. My personal observation is that there are many 'couples' in nyjc. The most I've seen among all the jcs. It's comparable to cjc during my school days. :callme:

Hi! I am a student currently studying at PJ and saw this post. Heard from my friends there that NY was one of the schools that was moderated by SEAB. Perhaps that played a large part. The part on bgr I aren't sure but may not be dat much bah. Idk but I feel the culture there at NY is like more conservative than PJ leh šŸ˜•

Liangbrolovesoccer

KTKS:
                candyfan:

Pls lah :rotflmao: :rotflmao: In this generation if there isnt much b-g-r then there is really issue with the sch culture liao. If most of the students are not friendly towards each other either the students got no life and only knows how to mug or something is wrong to the extent that they are cold towards one another.

And if the students can't even maintain a good working relationship with the opposite sex how do u expect they can work well when it comes to uni and even workplace (unless u r expecting them to work in the SAF, which also have female regulars)

Even top schools like RI and Hwa Chong have lots of b-g-r all along in their culture (i m a HCI alumnus btw and can say my observations would tell u otherwise), and the results fm the two schs are still as solid all along (NYJC's result was decent also, same logic). So i dont see what is so concerning about it as long they don't cross the line.

Liangbrolovesoccer

ParkYuni:
                  mindays:

Not that easy like what u think. They still need to pass the selection test. There is no guarantee that a straight A applicant will definitely get into NUS/NTU med sch. They also look at ur currency, character, ethics blah blah and how u perform during the test. So if u got accepted it means likely u r well rounded and stands out enough to deserve the course.

KTKS

Markers22:

Hi! I am a student currently studying at PJ and saw this post. Heard from my friends there that NY was one of the schools that was moderated by SEAB. Perhaps that played a large part. The part on bgr I aren't sure but may not be dat much bah. Idk but I feel the culture there at NY is like more conservative than PJ leh šŸ˜•
                    Can you please elaborate on moderation by SEAB for PW? Do you mean SEAB will only choose a few JCs to moderate their grades each year and not done across the board? Doesn't seem to be the norm for SEAB which always emphasises on 'fairness', ie, if they moderate, it will be done across ALL JCs and not on random basis.

As for the culture of schools, one has to be in it to see the full picture anyway. šŸ˜‰

KTKS

Liangbrolovesoccer:
                      KTKS:

[quote=\"candyfan\"]PW 2018 results for all JCs:

Pls lah :rotflmao: :rotflmao: In this generation if there isnt much b-g-r then there is really issue with the sch culture liao. If most of the students are not friendly towards each other either the students got no life and only knows how to mug or something is wrong to the extent that they are cold towards one another.

And if the students can't even maintain a good working relationship with the opposite sex how do u expect they can work well when it comes to uni and even workplace (unless u r expecting them to work in the SAF, which also have female regulars)

Even top schools like RI and Hwa Chong have lots of b-g-r all along in their culture (i m a HCI alumnus btw and can say my observations would tell u otherwise), and the results fm the two schs are still as solid all along (NYJC's result was decent also, same logic). So i dont see what is so concerning about it as long they don't cross the line.[/quote]Hmmm..... you do not understand the difference between camaraderie and BGR. šŸ˜† :rotflmao:

Well, RI & HCI pupils are the elites now and they can afford to spare some time for romance. Anyway, in this dynamic society, your jc time & the present may see much changes in its standard and culture so you can't be sure. And not forgetting that more places for medicine are being allocated to pupils from any jc now. Pupils from those top JCs also need to be vigilant.

Don't you think the relatively poor PW performance of nyjc is a cause for concern?
                      I gathered that 43% of the pupils did very well in nyjc. How about the results of the bulk, 57% of them? Has BGR affected their performance? We can't be sure so I am puzzled why you were laughing to brush off the issue ? :evil:

Liangbrolovesoccer

Yeap moderation is done on selected schools on a random basis (had been a known practice by SEAB all along). Btw do acknowledge that PW is marked internally through a common scheme standardised by seab, so while SEAB does do audits on it dat does not mean SEAB will be moderating every single school strictly to a single standard. (Dat also explains y PW results fluctuates year to year).

Again how sure are we on:
                        1) Is it bgr that affected the performance of the students? And does dat reflect the majority of the cohort? And are we putting forth a mindset that students should have only study in mind, especially that they are almost reaching adulthood? These r where i m laughing hard about !!
                        2) The bulk of the cohort (like the 57% numbers u took) did not do well? They might not be straights A but their results can still be decent enough.

And another thing is dat again u r setting labels base on social norms. Does every Hwachong and ri students essentially the tops? And does all those from other jcs not having the calibre that the two recognised schools hav? While hc and ri hav proven their results and curriculum dat doest mean every student hav the same standards esp dat everyone is special in thr own ways. So does it mean one will surely perform well once dey enter a sch with track record?

Well nevertheless I do agree that there is a discrepency between the results and that it was supposed to project, and that we cant be sure. But speculations r something that dont do justice here.

Sidenote:
                        Yeap medical courses is open to ppl fm any jc as long as u passed the selection test (which looks at ur character and ability to take stress esp) and hav the results that earns u a spot, It hasnt changed the standards dat is required for an applicant over the years. But now what do u mean @KTKS, dat top school students must be vigilant?? Its a known fact for all jc students, even for those who are gifted, dat nothing will be free without hardwork and prepardness. Here we shdt incorporate the thinking dat going to top tier schools (again dat is subjective) would already mean u already secured success in life.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 85 / 167

P1 Registration 2027 Changes
                        DSA Discussions and Strategies