National Junior College (Junior High)

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Secondary Schools - Parent Networking Groups
    5.3k Posts 467 Posters 852.1k Views 1 Watching
      KS parents

Hi Parents,

My DS is keen to apply DSA to NJC through the strings orchestra. Any kind parents like to share what are the trial/ auditions criteria and assessments?

TIA

JJ1111

I think alot of the parent here don’t have much experience in DSA through music or CCA. As NJC only started DSA through Non-academic last year.

Most of our kids DSA through academic last time. Mine also DSA through academic many years ago. She is in SH1 aka JC1 this year.

sunny

JJ1111:
          I think alot of the parent here don't have much experience in DSA through music or CCA. As NJC only started DSA through Non-academic last year.

Most of our kids DSA through academic last time. Mine also DSA through academic many years ago. She is in SH1 aka JC1 this year.
          Thanks for replying. :thankyou:

• laughingcatL Offline
            laughingcat

Hello Mummies or Daddies whose DCs are in NJC.

I need help. I need your thoughts.

Today, my DC went to NJC open house (again…3 times in total). DC likes NJC which came as a surprise for me initially.

Even though I have been to the open house last year, but I would like to know more coming from a parent(s) opinion. How is the culture like in NJC? What is the support system/structure like for teachers in NJC? Helpful? Approachable? Reasonable Teacher-Student rapport? Principal-top-down-student approach?

Aiyoh…so many questions from me. So sorry if I did not word it properly.

I did went to the NJC open house. Was really comforting to see humble kids and teachers as well. But I really want to hear from parents opinion.

mommyNg

laughingcat:
              Hello Mummies or Daddies whose DCs are in NJC.

I need help. I need your thoughts.

Today, my DC went to NJC open house (again....3 times in total). DC likes NJC which came as a surprise for me initially.

Even though I have been to the open house last year, but I would like to know more coming from a parent(s) opinion. How is the culture like in NJC? What is the support system/structure like for teachers in NJC? Helpful? Approachable? Reasonable Teacher-Student rapport? Principal-top-down-student approach?

Aiyoh....so many questions from me. So sorry if I did not word it properly.

I did went to the NJC open house. Was really comforting to see humble kids and teachers as well. But I really want to hear from parents opinion.
              laughingcat, great to hear that your DC likes NJC! On the whole, the culture is nurturing and supportive. Comparing to the H/N and R schools, I would say the school is definitely less competitive (though perhaps a bit laid back from a KSP parent's perspective 😂 ), but the kids have no lack of opportunities to try things that they are passionate about. Never really heard of any bully case and kids are generally happy and hardworking. The teachers are helpful and very approachable. The first time I went to the PTM, I was quite surprised that most of the teachers are mild-mannered and humble (彬彬有礼). As the cohort is small (~200), after a while, almost everyone would know everyone, including the teachers. They have group subject consuls for students who need more help, and if needed can ask for individual consultations. I quite like the P's outlook and approach - down to earth, focus on the kids' well-being and emphasize respect among each other. Because of the culture of NJC, you are less likely to find students who are strong \"activists\" in the school - but it's a nice (and pretty forgiving) culture. They don't have a prefectorial board. So if you like strict and disciplined environment, you won't find it in NJC 😂

• laughingcatL Offline
                laughingcat

Thanks mommyNg for the feedback. So great to hear about the nurturing and supportive environment.

I am not too worry about academic wise, because I as parent can help. We will find a way. But in terms of characters and nurturing environment, I need more than that. Kids spend alot of time in school and hence the type of environment is very important to me especially for a teenager. If one's characters breaks and academic fail, this child very difficult to nurture. If one's character is good and academic fail, it is okay, still got chance to pick up.

I have heard a fair share of many different school. I am not looking at schools with damn good result. Reasonable okay liao. Top 10 can already. Because teachers do move around, principal do move around. Cannot depend solely on the teachers. So I am looking more on student-environment centric. Most important of all - humble and willing to help and cooperative. This kind of soft skill not many school inculcate. Some schools practically \"dog-eat-dog-world\" or \"high horse\" environment cum parents-politics.

Laid back environment even better for me. That means DC can try many things to enhance his portfolio for Uni. That is what I am looking for. Not just CCA and studies only. I don't want my DC to end up like me. School-study-home-School-study-......

So yesterday....after hearing from my DC1 choice.....I rushed down to the school to check. See what the students are wearing for the shoes and the types of bags that they are carrying. Heng ah.....no branded shoes. 😂

mommyNg

laughingcat:
                  Thanks mommyNg for the feedback. So great to hear about the nurturing and supportive environment.

I am not too worry about academic wise, because I as parent can help. We will find a way. But in terms of characters and nurturing environment, I need more than that. Kids spend alot of time in school and hence the type of environment is very important to me especially for a teenager. If one's characters breaks and academic fail, this child very difficult to nurture. If one's character is good and academic fail, it is okay, still got chance to pick up.

I have heard a fair share of many different school. I am not looking at schools with damn good result. Reasonable okay liao. Top 10 can already. Because teachers do move around, principal do move around. Cannot depend solely on the teachers. So I am looking more on student-environment centric. Most important of all - humble and willing to help and cooperative. This kind of soft skill not many school inculcate. Some schools practically \"dog-eat-dog-world\" or \"high horse\" environment cum parents-politics.

Laid back environment even better for me. That means DC can try many things to enhance his portfolio for Uni. That is what I am looking for. Not just CCA and studies only. I don't want my DC to end up like me. School-study-home-School-study-......

So yesterday....after hearing from my DC1 choice.....I rushed down to the school to check. See what the students are wearing for the shoes and the types of bags that they are carrying. Heng ah.....no branded shoes. 😂
                  How true your sentiment is! In any case, NJC is definitely not \"dog-eat-dog-world\" or \"high horse\" type 😄

Haha, interesting that you look for shoes and types of bags that they are carrying. Pretty humble bunch of students I would say. One time, my dd's shoes were so worn (the sole was almost coming off) that one day during PE, one of them finally came off! Then my dd PE teacher helped her to temporarily glue it back and put on a rubber band to hold them together without a word, and my girl just came home like that, nonchalantly :rotflmao: Nobody said anything, or tease my girl, or anything like that. Of course I had no choice but to change her a new pair immediately 😂

• Imp75I Offline
                    Imp75

MummyNg

I recall you have both DDs in nygh and njc. How would you attribute their growths and differences to the schools they are in?

sunny

laughingcat:

Laughingcat, my gal, too, like nj environment and how the students present themselves when we went for the open house. But her current SA1 results still way way far from the cop. You mind sharing which schools have those \"dog-eat-dog-world\" or \"high horse\" environment cum parents-politics?

• laughingcatL Offline
                        laughingcat

:censored: cannot said lah otherwise kena hamtam. Been there seen it experienced it. So I am not going to comment much on that except to :siam:

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 491 / 534