Property Views

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Money Matters
    2.6k Posts 153 Posters 520.0k Views 1 Watching
    • Coolkidsrock2C Offline
      Coolkidsrock2

zac's mum:
      I am happy with the news. It benefits genuine upgraders. The market was getting way too unaffordable. Now I can finally expect prices to drop a bit to within my budget.

Am happy that the measures are decisive so that it is easier to make a decision.

Agree that the market was getting too unaffordable and sellers' expectations are managed.

if people can afford to buy another property, what is that ABSD?

• zac's mumZ Offline
          zac's mum

Coolkidsrock2:
          zac's mum:

I am happy with the news. It benefits genuine upgraders. The market was getting way too unaffordable. Now I can finally expect prices to drop a bit to within my budget.

Am happy that the measures are decisive so that it is easier to make a decision.

Agree that the market was getting too unaffordable and sellers' expectations are managed.

Exactly. I’ve been viewing countless resale properties cos looking for a permanent long term place to stay. The majority of sellers had bought those properties eons ago. Unrenovated state. They already can make a tidy profit, yet unwilling to lower their asking price. They obviously don’t need the money, just seeking to cash out at the highest price in the market. It’s about time they get some cold water splashed on them.

• laughingcatL Offline
            laughingcat

janet88:
            if people can afford to buy another property, what is that ABSD?

ABSD = Additional Buyer Stamp Duty.

SGP citizen buying second residential property - ABSD is 12%
            SGP citizen buying third and subsequent residential property - ABSD is 15%

• laughingcatL Offline
              laughingcat

But Zac’s mum, home owners need to sell at a price they want partly is because these home owners might need to buy their own residential property which is also high. It is not about they can "already earn since they bought the properties eons ago" leh.

They sell but also need to buy a place to stay as well.

ngl2010

laughingcat:
                Years ago, I was super lucky to make a big buck in property investment. When a friend who happens to be a economist advised us to pull out on certain specific year, we followed his advice dearly. Apparently his advice remained to be true and were spilled out to date. The property market today is attractive if one is to consider own home stay or for children. However, if the intention to buy a property to generate investment returns, it may be better off considering other property investment opportunities such as REITs or property developers themselves or overseas property.

Today all my shopping list stock dropping.....I love!
                I have no discipline in trading stocks. I usually became too greedy :spank: My best investments are properties. DH told me not to invest in overseas properties anymore. Sigh. If I can’t invest in properties here, I will invest in bonds. But bonds’ returns are small... :sad:

• laughingcatL Offline
                  laughingcat

invest in bond is really peanut to me. I invest in overseas property is for children and nephews and nieces to live in when studying overseas.

• lee_ylL Offline
                    lee_yl

laughingcat:
                    I doubt the property price will drop much. It will increase but in a softer gradient.

Increase or decrease? You mean it will increase after the initial shock?
                    laughingcat:
                    The property market today is attractive if one is to consider own home stay or for children.
                    I think in the long run, Singapore property prices will be higher than today’s pricing.

Next time our kids’ generation, probably they can’t afford a private property as their 1st home without some help from their parents.

Btw, why is everyone worried about rising interest rates har? Even if there’s an increase, interest rate is still cheaper than HDB’s one what. Maybe everyone is used to paying near to 0% for too long? But a low interest rate environment also means that the world’s economy isn’t doing well.

• Coolkidsrock2C Offline
                      Coolkidsrock2

laughingcat:
                      But Zac's mum, home owners need to sell at a price they want partly is because these home owners might need to buy their own residential property which is also high. It is not about they can \"already earn since they bought the properties eons ago\" leh.

They sell but also need to buy a place to stay as well.
                      Some of the asking prices are quite unrealistic. I have seen asking prices at 40% higher than the last transacted price.

Just have to view a lot of houses to search for a sincere or motivated seller.

Cloud Cloud

In the short term, property rental is a way to cash out cpf. In the long run, property is still the best hedge against inflation.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 161 / 260

shijieS
                        shijie
                        InfoseekerI
                        Infoseeker