Property Views
laughingcat:
Nope, they do not need to buy. Their agents tell me that the sellers are filthy rich baby boomers who own multiple properties. Take it or leave it attidtude.But Zac's mum, home owners need to sell at a price they want partly is because these home owners might need to buy their own residential property which is also high. It is not about they can \"already earn since they bought the properties eons ago\" leh.
They sell but also need to buy a place to stay as well. -
zac's mum:
In year 2017 while we were still scouting for our investment units, we had our cheque returned to us after 3 days even with the price agreed by both parties. That caused me sleepless nights. The seller is a rich Indonesian lady who was able to wait out for a higher price. And that was in 2017 not even 2018 when sellers could already sense that prices were heading north. In a seller’s market, it is pretty normal.
Nope, they do not need to buy. Their agents tell me that the sellers are filthy rich baby boomers who own multiple properties. Take it or leave it attidtude.laughingcat:
But Zac's mum, home owners need to sell at a price they want partly is because these home owners might need to buy their own residential property which is also high. It is not about they can \"already earn since they bought the properties eons ago\" leh.
They sell but also need to buy a place to stay as well.
And don’t laugh at these sellers, I can tell you there will eventually be one buyer who’s willing to pay for it, that’s how market keeps hitting new highs. Aren’t we shocked someone paid over a million for a 5rm HDB? Nowadays, nothing is cheap in Singapore.
If you were the seller, you don’t need the money desperately, would you be willing to sell your investment unit at a price lower than the prevailing market price?
Actually you have a choice. Either you up your price or move on to other units. We later found 2 distressed sellers and bought their units because they must let go! -
I’m just saying what I saw is greed. Yes there is a prevailing market price. But they are asking for the highest end of the market range, when the unit is not the best in the market. Eg facing is bad, unit with bad number, needs full reno, etc. Usually reasonable people will know their unit’s minus points and concede to reduce price accordingly. I am selling off my HDB soon. But I will be realistic and I won’t insist on selling at same price as my neighbor of 10 floors higher up what.
The $1m HDB was a fantastic unit with great selling points. Maybe buyer was happy to fork out for those selling points. -
Cloud Cloud:
In the short term, property rental is a way to cash out cpf. In the long run, property is still the best hedge against inflation.
In year 2010 when we disposed off our first investment unit, there was no such thing as ABSD.
Fast forward to 2018, in this 8 year gap, we waited and waited for the big property crash but it did not happen and we were impacted by inflation because we kept our proceeds in various FDs which gave us miserable returns. Worse still, the prices of today’s properties were around $100k - $200K higher (comparing apple to apple) than the price we let go in 2010 even with all the ABSD, SSD and TDSR measures.
Indeed, property is still the best hedge against inflation. If one can hold, just leave them as inheritance for your kids. -
zac's mum:
While scouting for my unit, within the same condo, a few units were then on sale. The selling price range was quite wide with some obvious distress sales while some asking way above the prevailing market rate. I never call those sellers asking unrealistic prices, don’t bother with them lah. I only rang up those fire sales or reasonable ones.I’m just saying what I saw is greed. Yes there is a prevailing market price. But they are asking for the highest end of the market range, when the unit is not the best in the market. Eg facing is bad, unit with bad number, needs full reno, etc. Usually reasonable people will know their unit’s minus points and concede to reduce price accordingly. I am selling off my HDB soon. But I will be realistic and I won’t insist on selling at same price as my neighbor of 10 floors higher up what.
The $1m HDB was a fantastic unit with great selling points. Maybe buyer was happy to fork out for those selling points.
Oh btw, it’s quite common to have units on lower floors transacted at a higher price than its neighbors upstairs.
I have this friend who managed to brainwash me by saying, if you really like that unit very much, give in lor, be generous as people also want to earn a bit. Maybe she is filthy rich or too kind hearted. But her words do make sense, else you may end up seeing and bargaining for many units but still can’t close the deal. -
lee_yl:
When I bought my second resale flat, another agent felt I paid $5000 above market price. I guessed I really like the unit and was tired of viewing. Also in a hurry to buy as I already sold my condo then.
While scouting for my unit, within the same condo, a few units were then on sale. The selling price range was quite wide with some obvious distress sales while some asking way above the prevailing market rate. I never call those sellers asking unrealistic prices, don’t bother with them lah. I only rang up those fire sales or reasonable ones.zac's mum:
I’m just saying what I saw is greed. Yes there is a prevailing market price. But they are asking for the highest end of the market range, when the unit is not the best in the market. Eg facing is bad, unit with bad number, needs full reno, etc. Usually reasonable people will know their unit’s minus points and concede to reduce price accordingly. I am selling off my HDB soon. But I will be realistic and I won’t insist on selling at same price as my neighbor of 10 floors higher up what.
The $1m HDB was a fantastic unit with great selling points. Maybe buyer was happy to fork out for those selling points.
Oh btw, it’s quite common to have units on lower floors transacted at a higher price than its neighbors upstairs.
I have this friend who managed to brainwash me by saying, if you really like that unit very much, give in lor, be generous as people also want to earn a bit. Maybe she is filthy rich or too kind hearted. But her words do make sense, else you may end up seeing and bargaining for many units but still can’t close the deal.
Same same. I usually ignore those unreasonable asking and only view those more reasonable ones. Don’t want to waste time. -
lee_yl:
Understand how you feel. My friends also said I should wait when I bought the condo in 2015. I think I am more of an impulse buyer. Although only paper gains, it feels good that the new condo has appreciated even before TOPCloud Cloud:
In the short term, property rental is a way to cash out cpf. In the long run, property is still the best hedge against inflation.
In year 2010 when we disposed off our first investment unit, there was no such thing as ABSD.
Fast forward to 2018, in this 8 year gap, we waited and waited for the big property crash but it did not happen and we were impacted by inflation because we kept our proceeds in various FDs which gave us miserable returns. Worse still, the prices of today’s properties were around $100k - $200K higher (comparing apple to apple) than the price we let go in 2010 even with all the ABSD, SSD and TDSR measures.
Indeed, property is still the best hedge against inflation. If one can hold, just leave them as inheritance for your kids.
It was just pure luck that I bought my first condo one year after the currency crisis. Many sellers were really desperate then. The seller gave a further discount although I thought the asking was already very low. That was how bad the market was. Understand the unit had been vacant for 6 mths.
Our properties are for our own retirement needs. Hopefully, bto remains affordable for our children. -
Many are very rich and here we are talking about 1-2 mil for a ppty.
I don’t think I hv the guts to buy a 3rd one as our runway is relatively short. -
zac's mum:
selling at a high price is all about luck.I’m just saying what I saw is greed. Yes there is a prevailing market price. But they are asking for the highest end of the market range, when the unit is not the best in the market. Eg facing is bad, unit with bad number, needs full reno, etc. Usually reasonable people will know their unit’s minus points and concede to reduce price accordingly. I am selling off my HDB soon. But I will be realistic and I won’t insist on selling at same price as my neighbor of 10 floors higher up what.
my elderly neighbour on the 9th floor (mine was on the 8th) sold his corridor unit at $720k about a year before I did...we were all very shocked to hear the sound of hacking one fine day at 9am. other than the amenities of a flat, the flat facing, presence of afternoon sun, floor level...the one other point is the corridor. some neighbours mark their 'territory' with plants, bicycles, clothes rack, toyogo drawers, shoe rack etc. it's really an eye sore when the lift door opens and that greets you everyday.
my corner unit didn't fetch that amount but we still managed to get a realistic sum - good enough to pay for renovation of new flat after deducting outstanding balance, resale levy, agent fees, interest and misc fees. -
Dh told me he read somewhere Park Colonial (?) is selling like hot cakes ???
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.