All About Primary School Math Enrichment

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Mathematics
    281 Posts 137 Posters 370.6k Views 1 Watching
      corrochan

[Moderator's note: Topics merged. Please do not post the same topic in multiple threads.]

hi all,

My eldest will be joining Pri 1 next year. As a typical KS parent (and proud to be one), I have some qns that I hope you can help. Pls feel free to just share your own experience.

On primary school Maths:

1. What are the top 3 problems you and/or kid face while learning primary school Maths?

2. How you currently try to resolve and what are the shortcomings?

3. Any advice for KS parents who wants to prep kids for Lower Pri Maths?

thanks!

corrochan

erm hi anyone can help?

corrochan

any advice, anyone?

• E Offline
            evelynseet

Haha,, u are so Kiasu................... juz like me. :lol:

I have go through some of their Math questions, and I personally find that still can manage. Not tat difficult.
            I tik the most difficult one should be when the kids are in P4. I really can't do some of their questions!!! {Luckily, my hubby know how to do}
            Those Math questions required your kids to use their \"imaginative thinking\" to do.
            So dun worry now,, still go three more years to go.
            Maybe if u got time, go and buy some Assessment books to refer. Shd more or less help lol. :idea:

corrochan:
              erm hi anyone can help?

there are a few math thread around.
              you should be able to have a feel what P1's math is about.
              alternatively, you can take a look at any P1 assessment book in Popular bookstore.
              as for preparing for P1 math, you can take a look at the chapters in the assessment books as well as the P1 math thread and thread on all about P1 preparation.
              you may want to look at preschooler's math threads too as most of P1 math are revision from K2 stuff.

most of the problems that kids face in P1 math actually relates to their understanding of the instructions ie their english standards.

evelynseet:
                Haha,, u are so Kiasu................... juz like me. :lol:

I have go through some of their Math questions, and I personally find that still can manage. Not tat difficult.
                I tik the most difficult one should be when the kids are in P4. I really can't do some of their questions!!! {Luckily, my hubby know how to do}
                Those Math questions required your kids to use their \"imaginative thinking\" to do.
                So dun worry now,, still go three more years to go.
                Maybe if u got time, go and buy some Assessment books to refer. Shd more or less help lol. :idea:
                \"imaginative thinking\"= Cud you be referring to critical thinking....

corrochan:

erm hi anyone can help?

there are a few math thread around.
                  you should be able to have a feel what P1's math is about.
                  alternatively, you can take a look at any P1 assessment book in Popular bookstore.
                  as for preparing for P1 math, you can take a look at the chapters in the assessment books as well as the P1 math thread and thread on all about P1 preparation.
                  you may want to look at preschooler's math threads too as most of P1 math are revision from K2 stuff.

most of the problems that kids face in P1 math actually relates to their understanding of the instructions ie their english standards.

Chief, this one another thread to link up with our prior Maths threads.

Jedamum is right. Mostly revison from K2 and yes, very much to do
                  with more on the understanding of instructions. Command of English
                  is very important.

...Chief, this one another thread to link up with our prior Maths threads...

Yes ma'am. Into the Primary School Enrichment thread it goes.

...Chief, this one another thread to link up with our prior Maths threads...

Yes ma'am. Into the Primary School Enrichment thread it goes.

Thank you, kind sir. You're most efficient. 😉
                      I agree with jedamum that good housekeeping in
                      the forum will ensure its easier to find the threads.

There was once i wanted to reply to a multiplication
                      query, i looked under the probable ones but cudn't
                      find it. Look and look until headache leh... then found
                      it under enrichment maths or something, i forgot agn.

sleepy

Any recommendation for good MPM center in the east?

Heard the standard varies…

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 7 / 29

vaphoria23V
                        vaphoria23