2018 P1 registration exercise for 2019 intake

3.8k Posts 1 Posters 680.9k Views 1 Watching
    • floppyF Offline
      floppy

Peiliang:

... as I am out of the rat race and buay Kiasu liao:
      Huh?
      On the contrary, I think the race has just began :rotflmao:

aloralora

Yes, that’s the one. In my case they checked first the 1km list (just in case altho I know my place is not) then the 1-2km list.

Perhaps when they key into the computer, there will be another check. I did not see any computer when I registered. Only manual checks.

skii:
        During my recent registration, the admin staff took out a huge book with postal code to check.

It’s like the book of “1km houses around my school” book.

Hahahhaha.
        rainbowdeng:

[quote=\"Orb\"]You cant fault the parents for being punctual right? If the parent steps in at 4.29pm, the parent would still need to complete the application form and then submit it to the admin staff.

Then there are a number of things the admin staff needs to do per registrant.

1. Checking of documents against original copies.
        2. Grouping of the registratrant in distance category
        3. Key in data to the MOE database.

No way all these can be done in a minute.

Are they using OneMap to check th distance ? What if the OneMap is done ?

aloralora

Yes, I saw it myself when I registered this year. I should think it includes all possible addresses including new developments that are within the permitted TOP timeframe.

zac's mum:
          My DS registration in 2016, I remember they keyed in my postal code into the computer to check.

You very sure in 2018 still using physical copy?

Does it have the newly TOP condos?

Twincam

Have a question on address:

1. PV applications more than what they required, selected PV likely based on distance
            2. Registered as PV using within 1km address
            3. Applications at 2B less than available places, everyone secured a place

Question: Am I still required to stay at the within 1km address for 30 months given that no balloting is required at 2B?

TIA

HHMummy

Twincam:

1. PV applications more than what they required, selected PV likely based on distance

Question: Am I still required to stay at the within 1km address for 30 months given that no balloting is required at 2B?

TIA
              It's based on address used for registration. Whether ballot or not, 30 months rule applies.

https://www.moe.gov.sg/admissions/primary-one-registration#address-used

• EstéemaE Offline
                Estéema

Twincam:

TIA
                Yes. You're expected under MOM P1 admission rules.

• jurislingJ Offline
                  jurisling

Thanks for all replies. Appreciate it.

• Oh My GoshO Offline
                    Oh My Gosh

Twincam:

TIA
                    Even if no balloting but you are “allocated” a seat based on distance, you still need to stay in the place for 30months. Eg. Seats in phase 2B just enough for those within 1km hence no balloting needed.

• skiiS Offline
                      skii

https://va.ecitizen.gov.sg/cfp/customerPages/moe/explorefaq.aspx?Category=3645&utm_source=moe-corp-site&utm_medium=referral

Wait.
                      My understanding is:
                      If there was priority because of the address, then the 30 months is required.

But since numbers applied was less than available vacancies, all went in and no priority was used in any filter.

I think we must call moe on this.

The distinction is not about balloting it’s about if the distance priority was used.

Eg:
                      20-5-5 for 20 vacancies
                      All 1km gets in because of priority thus 30 months is required. (But no balloting for 1km also)

5-0-5 for 20 vacancies.
                      All gets in.
                      No priority was used.
                      No need 30 months.
                      (No balloting also)

No interpretation of the 30 months rule.

weixiang_06

skii:
                        https://va.ecitizen.gov.sg/cfp/customerPages/moe/explorefaq.aspx?Category=3645&utm_source=moe-corp-site&utm_medium=referral

Wait.
                        My understanding is:
                        If there was priority because of the address, then the 30 months is required.

But since numbers applied was less than available vacancies, all went in and no priority was used in any filter.

I think we must call moe on this.

The distinction is not about balloting it’s about if the distance priority was used.

Eg:
                        20-5-5 for 20 vacancies
                        All 1km gets in because of priority thus 30 months is required. (But no balloting for 1km also)

5-0-5 for 20 vacancies.
                        All gets in.
                        No priority was used.
                        No need 30 months.
                        (No balloting also)

No interpretation of the 30 months rule.
                        Where got your suka suka interpret your way.

What ever it is based on your registration forms at the point of application for phase 2b, the address will hold for 30 months. Cos at the point of submission of form, there is a form which the officials will have to indicate your address and its distance from the school.

No need to debate whether u got in via distance or not. If you want debate, you should have put a distance of >2km.

Period.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 187 / 381