Property Views
Role of LL is not an easy peasy thing. You’re lucky, u get complying tenants, owise mostly a navigating job.
I like staying arms-length with tenants. Prefer to set my criterion & shortlist fr there in good times, owise I just hv to manage & adjust my expectations in a over-supply mkt.
With major issues, I go by mkt practice & let the agent do their job to interface with my tenants. With small issues, I can make an exception as ex-gratia w/o compromising my rights to show goodwill.
I had on one occasion where tenants reported ceiling lights went out & it was after 3 mths before they alerted us claiming they tried to use table lamps. I got my electrician str up to change the entire ceiling light. Next moment they claimed air-con not working in one of the rooms, but they took the liberty to call in their own contractor. Got my agent to settle it as their own cost, as they’ve taken their own decision when I hv a current maintenance contract running.
The only time I get involved is taking over after the agent did their checklist. One tenant tried to hide all their misdeeds - turned soiled sofa with stains but agent didn’t detect, master bed mattress was totally soaked with urine which apparently was musked when air-con was turned in with fragrant spray. I took both agents into hand & both admitted it’s very fresh stains. Deducted for a new replacement mattress & sofa tho tenant initially protested. Just lucky that their own agent was fair & acknowledged the misdeed.
LL’s role is not a walk-in-the-park but since I’ve got an agent, they need to do their job to interface. -
My agent handles most of the tenant’s requests. For my rentals, wear and tear is the tenant’s responsibilities. They have to maintain the a/c with qtrly servicing.
So far I’ve had various tenants. Mostly ok. Only one that gave a lot of problems and kept trying to re-negotiate rent within the rental period was the Indian tenant. Current tenant is Brit. No issues at all. Been renting for the past 4 years. However he is moving to Hkg soon so I am on the lookout for new tenants. -
Who so “lucky” to get consecutive tenants one worse than the other?
If you compare working as an OL who earns $3K per month, OL needs to squeeze the MRT during peak hours 5 days a week. Project deadline reaching, maybe need to OT. Boss bad mood, also kena, everyday still have to face bitchy colleagues and deal with office politics, not “sian”?
That’s why I think LL is the best job ever. Some say SAHM is an easy job, but I think SAHM has to work 365 days without leave and no pay!
Being a LL at most get stressed during the first 30 days when a new lease starts and if lucky, only needs to contact the tenant to arrange for viewing when the lease is ending.
@Vinegar,
My tenant asked for a new induction cooker and I really Sian half, need to fork out $ ftom my pocket and waste time to look for one. But on the other hand, to be fair to the my tenant who is paying rental, they can’t even boil water or cook simple meals since moving in. Actually I have caused them some inconvenience too. Just like when we check in a hotel, we will blow our top if our hotel room aircon leaks! -
lee_yl:
Your case, may not be induction cooker issue but wrong type of pot used.Who so “lucky” to get consecutive tenants one worse than the other?
If you compare working as an OL who earns $3K per month, OL needs to squeeze the MRT during peak hours 5 days a week. Project deadline reaching, maybe need to OT. Boss bad mood, also kena, everyday still have to face bitchy colleagues and deal with office politics, not “sian”?
That’s why I think LL is the best job ever. Some say SAHM is an easy job, but I think SAHM has to work 365 days without leave and no pay!
Being a LL at most get stressed during the first 30 days when a new lease starts and if lucky, only needs to contact the tenant to arrange for viewing when the lease is ending.
@Vinegar,
My tenant asked for a new induction cooker and I really Sian half, need to fork out $ ftom my pocket and waste time to look for one. But on the other hand, to be fair to the my tenant who is paying rental, they can’t even boil water or cook simple meals since moving in. Actually I have caused them some inconvenience too. Just like when we check in a hotel, we will blow our top if our hotel room aircon leaks! -
lee_yl,
Get them induction appropriate pots & u solve yr problem w/o big expenses or future reversal concerns. -
This may be true. My mum's electrolux induction was able to handle most brands.
Your case, may not be induction cooker issue but wrong type of pot used.
However, her current De Dietrich induction cooker seems to be only be able to handle WMF or Le Creuset (per the demo guy). Some of her old induction friendly pots & pans cannot be used. -
Hi Hi,
Actually I didn’t go down to verify if indeed the stove is not working. According to the tenant, he tried to boil water and after 25 mins, water has not bubbled yet.
He brought the same pot to his friend’s unit (friend’s staying in the same project) and the water boiled after 5mins.
Sounds like my stove quite gone case.
I found an economical ceramic induction cooker (EF brand). Maybe I will get that for my tenant’s use. -
lee_yl:
Hi Hi,
Actually I didn’t go down to verify if indeed the stove is not working. According to the tenant, he tried to boil water and after 25 mins, water has not bubbled yet.
He brought the same pot to his friend’s unit (friend’s staying in the same project) and the water boiled after 5mins.
I found an economical ceramic induction cooker (EF brand). Maybe I will get that for my tenant’s use.
Do u hv anybody who can check & verify if yr induction stove is indeed not working?
My previous tenant claimed TV was out of order. We were thinking abt replacement until DH happened to pay tenants a visit & found the switch wasn't firmly plugged on. Saved :moneyflies: -
Hi lee yl,
Agree with esteema. Beta get someone to chk before deciding to replace. Maybe just requires minor repair.
There r still many kitchen appliances can be used to cook le. Got oven, thermal cooker, slow cooker, fryer, mini hotplate, mini stove. Perhaps can lend them kettle to boil water first? Which country is ur tenant fr? Sound very chinese le.
Aiya…we hv met tenants like to magnify the problems. Light not working n hv to bath in the dark n nearly fall down, shower head spoilt n cannot bath, remote control spoilt so no aircon…actually there is manual on/off button at aircon.
Tenants oso wanna new things. Our previous tenant asked new fridge. But we had it repaired at minor cost. The other one asked fr new washing machine, we bot new one fr them coz the cost of repair is abt the same price of getting a new one. Hv to give n take lor…if the request reasonable, we normally gv in.
Recently the tenant asked fr new aircons to be replaced. Well, we decided not to replace coz they cannot produce the servicing contract n receipts. Anyway we hv found a new tenant who offers much higher rent. -
lee_yl:
Those economical portable induction cookers are about $50 plus range . Cheap . They can sure cook n dun take up space . Can Save u trouble shooting effortsHi Hi,
I found an economical ceramic induction cooker (EF brand). Maybe I will get that for my tenant’s use.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.