Enrichment class for a K1 kid

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Working With Your Child
    65 Posts 38 Posters 36.4k Views 1 Watching
    • dimsumD Offline
      dimsum

is your girl on full day or half day childcare? If it’s full day, personally, i think it’s rather tiring for her to have so many enrichment classes after a long day (more than 8hrs) in childcare centre.

But your revised schedule is not so scary lah.

Lingbel

Hi All

I had always wanted to put to a stop to one of the 3 programs Phonics(Mon), Chinese (Wed) and Sunday class, but when I ask my girl, which one she wants to drop; she will have a disspointed face and wll ask..\"why, why do I have to stop going to the classes.\" When I say, U tired to go to class, she could be fine again, and say, \"OK lor\".
        I think these classes are quite fun to attend, cause they sing songs and play games to learn.

Do U think I should take a 4 years old girl girl word seriously, that she is dissapointed when I stop the classes? I may have not understand my girl too well, what a shame, so embarass of myself :oops:

As for Abacrus, its really me who wanted to bring her there.

Perhaps, I may re-consider the Abacus to delay. Any comments? Is Abacus useful?

At the same time, I try to let her go for the enrichment class on Wk day, so that on weekend, she can be with family and extended families for the family time.

Please give me feedback and comments.

Monday - Phonics (7pm - 8pm) - Girl wants (Existing class)
        Wednesday - Chinese (7.30pm - 9pm) - Girl wants (Existing class)
        Friday - Music (7pm - 8pm) : Girl wants (New, have not enrol yet, still thinking)
        Sat - Abacus (9.30am - 11am) mummy wants :oops: (New, have not enrol yet, still thinking)
        Sun (Right Brain Stimulaton program (9am - 10am)- Girl wants (Existing class)

• MMMM Offline
          MMM

Hi Lingbel,

I will ask my K1 if she wants to drop this and that and her answer is always NO. So we assume that she is still happy. She also enjoys going for class and seem to enjoy herself.

I am probably another KS mum here.

Monday : Enopi maths and Chinese enrichment
          Tuesday : Her off day
          Wednesday : ballet
          Thursday : Music - complete her keyboard by end of the year
          Friday : Phonics
          Saturday : Lorna Whiston
          Sunday : Chinese S&D

I've 2 other kids (P3 and P2). These 2 also started enrichment during pre-school though not as \"extensive\" as my K1. They are quite immune and never ask to stop any classes so far. I will ask them to drop piano since they are not discipline to practise and they are like.... we want to continue to learn piano so that it helps us for band, etc.... I always wonder if they are \"stupid\" or so \"programmed\" by mummy that they are immune and never complain. :?

• MMMM Offline
            MMM

Just to add... my P3 will complain that it is so unfair that I started my K1 early..... while she only started some of those programs in K2 or later otherwise she will be \"cleverer\" given more exposure. :shock:

mummy of 2

Mine only attends art on sat morning. Even then he says he want to stay home and play. Weekdays he attends 4-hour school. No enrichment at all. Gosh, he appears so lazy by comparison :!:

sleepy

Lingbel:

Do U think I should take a 4 years old girl girl word seriously, that she is dissapointed when I stop the classes? I may have not understand my girl too well, what a shame, so embarass of myself :oops:
                My elder girl who used to attend Kumon Maths insisted on continuing. I eventually made the decision to stop as I feel that Kumon is too time consuming and since her foundation is strong enough, we could better utilise her time elsewhere & free up her time to read more books.
                She was disappointed initially as she perceived 'giving up' as a negative reflection of her ability, even though she understood perfectly my reasons for withdrawal, which had nothing to do with her ability. Now she agreed that I've indeed made a wise decision & is glad I went ahead. Other than this one incident, I've not encountered any resistance whenever I discussed with my kids to stop existing or introduce new enrichments.
                I suppose parents know what's best for their kids. At preschool age, they may not see the big picture or be matured enough to make an informed decision

sleepy

Just to add... my P3 will complain that it is so unfair that I started my K1 early..... while she only started some of those programs in K2 or later otherwise she will be \"cleverer\" given more exposure. :shock:

Your girl is very motivated 😄

HappyAvon

Hi, my K1 girl has quite a no. of enrichment programme ongoing :

1) Monday - Free Day
                    2) Tuesday -5.30-6pm -piano - one to one in music school - ongoing
                    3) Wed - Free Day
                    4) Thursday - 2pm - 3.30 pm ICR - ongoing
                    5) Thursday - 7.30pm- 9.00 pm CMA - ongoing
                    6) Friday- 4pm-5 pm - Ballat(SBA) -ongoing
                    7) Sat - 2-3pm - S&D - early 2010
                    7) Sat - 3.45-4.45 pm - Violin - started in Mar..
                    8 ) Sun - Free Day

Even though she has 3 days free in a week, I'm still trying to cajole her to take away one programme off the list... However, she will always scream and demanded she wants to continue....We feel that she has lots of energy and never complaint of any lessons.. But we have our reasons... Too much time is required for piano/violin practise and CMA homework. The rest are still manageable... She needs to be in bed everyday by 9pm and she also needs time to play and have fun. 😄 ....She is in half-day kindergarten....
                    I hope her list looks okay...any comments??

radiantmum

I can't help but stick my tongue out when I read this post. Scary lah ... lucky mine passed K1 liao or i will stress out 😄

Lingbel

I try to sign my girl for enrichment class cause I prefer her to learn something, even play rather than watching TV.

My mother use to take care of my girl last year when she attended the 3hr morning nursery daily last year. The places around my mother house, which is neigbourhood, is a matured estate. There is no enrichment school in the afternoon nearby that my girl can attend, so she spend the whole afternoon watching TV.

I think this is a common problem for kids taken care by grandparents.

I decided to let her attend full time CC to minimized her TV time in the afternoon.

Her scheduleon weekday is
                        8.30am - 5.30pm at CC
                        6pm reach grandma house
                        6-8plus (take bath, had dinner and wait for daddy or mummy to come back from work to bring her home)

So rather being so restless and do nothing during the weekday, I thought it would be good to let her attend 2 - 3 times a week enrichment program at night near my mum place while waiting for mummy or daddy to fetch her home.

Probably she prefer to go to enrichment school to learn and play with her peers, than stay at home with grandnma watch channel 8 drama program.

As for weekends, in the morning, she usually wakes up early around 7plus and start to do nothing and ask to watch TV. So we thought we can bring let her attend more enrichment in the weekend morning.

But I am worry that I may stress her too much, with all these enrichment lessons.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 2 / 7