Me Time!
During my JC days, I have seen a few seniors, boys n girls, kena retained. Well, I think I can accept the idea. Definitely wont go into depression if that happens. Like I always believe: things happen for a reason.
Not everybody is the same. Seek Ah Boy’s view if it really happens.
Elder Boy may be able to give him tips on how to do well in exams. I noticed those shooting boys are usually do well in study. I guess they can focus their attention very well in study and exams. -
:congrats: to lc and ds! wah can continue make durian dessert liao
lc, do you go q0010? the gin thye snow skin durian mooncake on great offer..dunno nice or not.
Jen, I see you are quite tough with your kids :hugs: I oso hugging my heart see how 'I die' this time round :faint: I myself oso cant focus much on my own project..angry, disappointed with dd?..but look at ownself, how to be angry :sad: -
LC.
Ask your boy don’t get too upset. Last year I knew a handful of girls who applied to SCGS/MGS/Cedar, ALL received rejection letter. Thus, we did not apply to these (non SBGE) schools. Friend told me that few (gepper) girls in her centre went ahead to go Cedar using tscore subsequently. -
Being retained can be a good thing, as long as the student doesn't let it damage his self-esteem too much. It can be a good wake-up call. I've heard of students who either repeated JC1, and a couple who repeated JC2 (ie. took A levels again). It's worth it if it means getting better A level grades, because it determines whether the student can get into his university course of choice. If he isn't ready for JC2 yet, and doesn't manage to catch up during the Nov/Dec holidays, then he will start JC2 already behind and may struggle even more as the year progresses. -
slmkhoo:
It is also a good chance to rethink the subject combination. I always thought I would do well in science when I discovered that I preferred arts subjects more..Jennifer:
Being retained can be a good thing, as long as the student doesn't let it damage his self-esteem too much. It can be a good wake-up call. I've heard of students who either repeated JC1, and a couple who repeated JC2 (ie. took A levels again). It's worth it if it means getting better A level grades, because it determines whether the student can get into his university course of choice. If he isn't ready for JC2 yet, and doesn't manage to catch up during the Nov/Dec holidays, then he will start JC2 already behind and may struggle even more as the year progresses. -
janet88:
I don't think speed of completion of school should be a big factor - more importantly, it's giving your daughter the time she needs to learn the material at each level. Like I mentioned in my response to Jennifer, if your daughter isn't ready for sec 3, she is likely to get further behind as the year progresses. Some weaker students just need more time.i don't think i can accept my daughter repeating sec 2.
as it is, she is already in NA...and there is such a thing as repeat.
for my older one, i let go when he started sec 1 and he managed his time very well.
My older daughter is not a strong student either, and we asked her to take the 3-year A level course at MI. Later, we realised that there are quite a lot of retentions/repeats in JC, which makes that a 3-year course anyway. We had to go over 'O' level E Maths for 2 years in preparation for SPERS to get her into MI. We were prepared to put her in Poly (expecting that her A levels wouldn't be good enough for university) and then try for university later, although that plan didn't work out. Anyway, we are very happy with that extra year for her A levels because her results turned out better than we hoped. I feel sure that the extra year made that difference. -
pokoyoko:
It is also a good chance to rethink the subject combination. I always thought I would do well in science when I discovered that I preferred arts subjects more..[/quote]That's only if they repeat JC1, and if the school allows. If they repeat JC2, they can't switch combination.slmkhoo:
[quote=\"Jennifer\"]During my JC days, I have seen a few seniors, boys n girls, kena retained. Well, I think I can accept the idea. Definitely wont go into depression if that happens. Like I always believe: things happen for a reason.
MrsKiasu:
Wow so much to chase up reading Me time ... I dunno what Sch LC boy offered - But congrats ... it’s both mummy n child hardwork ...:):congrats: to lc and ds! wah can continue make durian dessert liao
lc, do you go q0010? the gin thye snow skin durian mooncake on great offer..dunno nice or not.
Jen, I see you are quite tough with your kids :hugs: I oso hugging my heart see how 'I die' this time round :faint: I myself oso cant focus much on my own project..angry, disappointed with dd?..but look at ownself, how to be angry :sad:
Mrs ks, snow skin durian - I like lei
Will go qoo see too -
Me too , took wrong subject combi in jc - follow frens - parents can’t advise too . Sciences are tough in A level n uni ah ! ( to me)
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.