Travel: Japan - General

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Holiday Ideas
    3.2k Posts 386 Posters 804.5k Views 1 Watching
    • tankeeT Offline
      tankee

June:
      Current plan: Mid of Dec, is it considered peak season?

Haha tankee, will sure be there before they open since we must live up to our name: Kiasu parents 😉

Mid Dec, for that matter the whole winter, is generally not as good for outdoor theme parks. Too cold, no flowers and some rides may be closed.

mckenzy

June:
        ...whether easy to find the train station from NRT airport. ...

http://www.jreast.co.jp/e/stations/index.html

June

Mid Dec, for that matter the whole winter, is generally not as good for outdoor theme parks. Too cold, no flowers and some rides may be closed.

tankee: Bo bian leh..got to wait till school holidays since DS in school leh 😛

June

mckenzy:
            http://www.jreast.co.jp/e/stations/index.html

Thanks mckenzy indeed helpful 🙂

mamemo

I’m also planning a trip with my 2 kids (aged 2 and 6) and my parents this coming November ! Glad to find this thread, so we can discuss the best deals !

It’s our first trip, so we are all very excited ! Here’s my planned itinerary…

Day 1: Arrive early in Tokyo - Visit Tokyo Metropolitan government building observation deck, Meiji Shrine, Harajuku, Shinjuku Gyoen

Day 2: Tsukiji Market, proceed to Kyoto, explore the Gion area

Day 3: Visit Nara Park, Nishiki Market, and maybe 1 other temple

Day 4: Visit Kyoto Tower, proceed to Hakone and enjoy the onsen

Day 5: Explore Hakone, proceed to Tokyo Disneyland

Day 6: Tokyo Disneyland

Day 7: Check out of Disneyland hotel and check in to tokyo hotel. Then go to Yokohama for day trip

Day 8: Explore the Sensoji Temple, Ameyoko Market, Odaiba at night if time permits

Day 9: Flight back to Singapore in the morning

Now I’m trying to book hotels, but seems like hotels don’t accept bookings that early.

mamemo

radiantmum:
                Back few weeks liao but tdy then decided to pack my winter wear.

Anyone keen to buy 6-yr old boy's winter wear? Wear once only for this trip - all go half price !

Long johns
                Wool pullover
                Scarf
                Gloves
                Coat

PM me if keen.
                Hi radiantmum, have sent u a pm !

mckenzy

mamemo… methinks you should revise your travel route… either you start at Osaka airport and end at Narita or vice versa… you can potentially save a fair bit on transportation…

mamemo

mckenzy:
                    mamemo... methinks you should revise your travel route... either you start at Osaka airport and end at Narita or vice versa... you can potentially save a fair bit on transportation...

sigh, would like to, but then have already book the airtix, and will need to incur charges if change.... 😞

mckenzy

still might be cheaper to change…

from Tsukiji go to Kyoto presume you are taking shinkansen? easily S$100/pax one way

kyoto tower to hakone also quite ex but at least halfway to tokyo… Hakone to disney? woah… without shinkansen easily 2 hour plus… not cheap either… maybe get return tickets somehow…

disneyland hotel go back to tokyo? thats going back down again…

hmm…

mamemo

mckenzy:
                        still might be cheaper to change...

from Tsukiji go to Kyoto presume you are taking shinkansen? easily S$100/pax one way

kyoto tower to hakone also quite ex but at least halfway to tokyo... Hakone to disney? woah... without shinkansen easily 2 hour plus... not cheap either... maybe get return tickets somehow..

disneyland hotel go back to tokyo? thats going back down again...

hmm....
                        Yes, will be taking the Shinkansen both ways (tokyo -> kyoto -> hakone -> tokyo ), so would be buying the JR pass for unlimited JR rides in Japan. Hakone to disney is about 1hr with the train changing.

hmm, is disneyland very far from tokyo ? I thought disneyland is in tokyo ?

Thanks for the suggestion !

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 32 / 322