Property Views
cherrygal:
The problem that I always had with this argument (even though I used it when marketing or selling the property :evil: ) is that MRT lines are going to be nearly everywhere in future!
If keep unit vacant or cheaply rented out, it would be for the hope of better capital appreciation once new mrt line opens. That is only a hope... Cannot predict...
The government plan is to have 80% of households in Singapore within a 10-minute walk to any station by 2030. When some of the new lines start operating from 2020, I won't be surprised that a property next to the MRT station may not 'wow' a buyer that much and command the same premium that it is doing today. Also, being next to a MRT station may not necessarily overcome other negatives regarding the estate, if any. -
to me, breakeven is very impt. am sure there are cases who cant breakeven.
starlight1968sg:
to me, breakeven is very impt. am sure there are cases who cant breakeven.
*ahem*
Sentosa Cove :rotflmao:
Here is an https://www.straitstimes.com/business/more-private-property-owners-selling-at-loss-as-resale-rental-markets-weaken that talks about selling at loss. -
floppy:
The problem that I always had with this argument (even though I used it when marketing or selling the property :evil: ) is that MRT lines are going to be nearly everywhere in future!cherrygal:
If keep unit vacant or cheaply rented out, it would be for the hope of better capital appreciation once new mrt line opens. That is only a hope... Cannot predict...
The government plan is to have 80% of households in Singapore within a 10-minute walk to any station by 2030. When some of the new lines start operating from 2020, I won't be surprised that a property next to the MRT station may not 'wow' a buyer that much and command the same premium that it is doing today. Also, being next to a MRT station may not necessarily overcome other negatives regarding the estate, if any.
My hdb flat will be a 3 min walk to an upcoming mrt station (only in 2026). I am not very excited because it is the Jurong regional line. Really dislike the red and green line. Slow and always breakdown. If I can turn back the clock, would have bought a unit in Bukit Panjang.
Currently I am renting out the hdb unit. Told hubby we will cash out our condo and move back to the hdb for retirement. I can’t sell the hdb coz the price really sucks. On the other hand, rental yield is great. -
Cloud Cloud:
HDB rental yield has been relatively stable so that's unlikely to change any time soon.
Currently I am renting out the hdb unit. Told hubby we will cash out our condo and move back to the hdb for retirement. I can’t sell the hdb coz the price really sucks. On the other hand, rental yield is great.
On the other hand, HDB prices are dropping due to a number of factors, such as Singaporeans getting more aware of the expiring-lease issue, and the challenges of using CPF for HDB flats with leases less than 60 years (quite a lot facing this issue in mature estates now as well as the next few years). The good news though, for people looking to buy for stay / retirement now, quite a number of good, affordable options available
If HDB attracts good rental, then staying in condo is viable & more desirable. After I've been used to condo living, it'll take abit more adjustment so I'll need to be mentally prepared.
Currently, we've no wish to move back to our HDB coz still good rental yield & in demand area partly coz we've upkepg well & good furnishings (not expensive but coordinated & appealing. We noticed there were a few new tuition centres opened up & seems popular but very noisy kids when we visit on some weekends. I rmbr also those residents who burn during prayers & funerals & air very polluted & dusty.
So, when I'm older, I'm not sure I'll be as energetic to do all those cleaning up. Maybe the kids noise 'might' delight me with desires for grandkids.
Estéema:
Haha... was actually quite interested in the news recently about Admiralty being a neighbourhood retirement centre. The seniors all raved about the nice neighbours and interesting activities. Would be nice if they had more of such centres around the island.
So, when I'm older, I'm not sure I'll be as energetic to do all those cleaning up. Maybe the kids noise 'might' delight me with desires for grandkids.
Cashew Green
Nearest mrt: cashew
19 landed 999 yr 4 or 5 bedroom
4br about 4mil. -
Anybody knows which areas/districts have good rental yield? Especially now that rental market is quite bad.
zac's mum:
Anybody knows which areas/districts have good rental yield? Especially now that rental market is quite bad.
https://www.squarefoot.com.sg/market-watch/rental-yield
To me, Geyland properties always have high rental yield. Investors don’t like to buy there (we all know why) thus, prices are quite cheap. However, rental yield there is good due to its proximity to town.
Many years ago, we went there to scout to see what investment unit to buy. But in the end, we decided to go for Balestier. Geyland lor 38 onwards not so “crowded”.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.