Me Time!
Estéema:
Esteema, sorry I thought I have replied you but maybe I have written a draft but didn’t send it.
NG,ngl2010:
I am ok if white turns grey together for top and bottom. But DS's school shirt and shorts/pants don't turn grey at the same rate. So, one is greyer than the other.
And DS is allergic to bleach! :faint:
You might use Soda Bicarbonate for yr washing if your child hv stains in white clothings, as a less chemical load to see if it helps with his allergy.
Thank you for the suggestion. We actually already got used to seeing his shirt and pants not the same white (grey).
lee_yl:
according to dd, she is revising..these 2 days, I gave her 2 leftover Math papers from SA2..need do correction then can get correct ans. told me her bad are dont read qn properly, transfer wrong figure half way through the workings and one more I cant remember.. so told her must keep doing la. She/I find language is the most worrying one. The rest think can improve through more doing/reading but language
:spank:
How’s your PSLE prep getting on?
The month of November is coming to an end soon hor.
lee_yl:
Sorry I missed out this post earlier.
Sorry was not able to respond earlier as was at the movies.Estéema:
[quote=\"ngl2010\"]I am ok if white turns grey together for top and bottom. But DS's school shirt and shorts/pants don't turn grey at the same rate. So, one is greyer than the other.
And DS is allergic to bleach! :faint:
NG,
You might use Soda Bicarbonate for yr washing if your child hv stains in white clothings, as a less chemical load to see if it helps with his allergy.
lee_yl,
You might alternate btwn using Soda Bicarbonate & Vanish Power O2 Powder for yr washing to hv clean, bright whites & reduce use of chemical & environment frdly washing. In fact, I use alot of soda bicarbonate to wash combs, hand towels & table clothes, etc. I wld dust 1 or 2 tsp & hot water to soak for at least half-hour & wash up.
I use Vanish when the stains are more stubborn. Vanish Power O2 Hygiene Stain Remover not only removes stains, but also kills >90% of bacteria making sure that you have hygienically clean laundry. It helps to keep fabric looking fresh so it’ll definitely allay yr fears of clothing turning greyish.
I like vanish. The one I had was in liquid form, quite effective. But I am concerned about the words 南洋 (which are sewn in and bright red) will smudge!
@ngl,
Do you think if you soak the uniform in bleach for 5-10 mins is ok for your DS? My grandma used to soak our white blouses in a pail of water and a bit of bleach for max 10 mins to keep the blouses pure white.[/quote]
@ lee_yl,
Vanish Power O2 Powder is safe to use on both coloured and white clothing.
@ NG I used to engage a part-time cleaner who believes in using only eco-friendly cleaning agents. I’ve lots of allergies of sorts myself, but guess not in very serious form. She taught me the use of soda bi-carbonate, vinegar, use of lemon, etc. She uses vinegar & newsprint to clean my glass kitchen door & windows. She caution not to use any acid base products on marble but soda bi-carbonate is a multi-purpose cleaning agent. Initially I was perplexed coz I only know soda bi-carbonate is used for my baking. Learning ever .... -
I never tried Vanish…will keep a look out.
MrsKiasu:
MKS,
according to dd, she is revising..these 2 days, I gave her 2 leftover Math papers from SA2..need do correction then can get correct ans. told me her bad are dont read qn properly, transfer wrong figure half way through the workings and one more I cant remember.. so told her must keep doing la. She/I find language is the most worrying one. The rest think can improve through more doing/reading but languagelee_yl:
:spank:
How’s your PSLE prep getting on?
The month of November is coming to an end soon hor.
Pls alert yr girl to be extra careful when doing MCQ qns on OAS. Esp for kids who hv the habit of writing out answers in worksheets & then transferring to OAS. A frd’s boy, whose math always in close compete with DC, failed Math one year just coz he skipped one row & copies all the ‘right’ answers into the wrong row & was in distress when the papers were returned to him before he discovered the unintended grave errors. Very hard lesson learnt coz HOD refused to budge. Thankfully not PSLE OAS! -
Esteema, dd has done that before in P3 if I m not wrong…all shifted and luckily teacher gave chance as she has answers written on the qn paper(?) I think and teacher feedback to me.
and dd2 I find her dont quite know to do workings for Ma…I told her many times her hand got to start writing while/after reading the qn…need her to do more for practice.
ngl2010:
Thank you for the suggestion. We actually already got used to seeing his shirt and pants not the same white (grey).
:lol: elder boy has some school dry fit T that are no longer pure white. Told me not to bother trying to whiten them as the old look \"enhances his image of being a senior\" :rotflmao:
Ah boy's school uniform, esp the long pants, have coloured streaks here and there (kena while painting banners during the preparations of school funfairs). I dun bother replacing these as the pants are not exactly cheap and there is no guarantee he wont stain them with permanent inks again. For the recent oral presentation of Project Work (exam), I reminded him to wear the most presentable looking set of school uniform for the event. Luckily there is a set of top and bottom that were stain free :rotflmao:
To ensure even greying of pure white school uniform top and bottom, I would suggest assigning pairs (top and bottom) as set 1, set 2, etc, and washing/sunning them as a pair too so that the top and bottom \"age\" together :lol: -
ngl2010:
My goodness!
Thank you for the suggestion.lee_yl:
@ngl,
Do you think if you soak the uniform in bleach for 5-10 mins is ok for your DS? My grandma used to soak our white blouses in a pail of water and a bit of bleach for max 10 mins to keep the blouses pure white.
Last time DH only spot treated DS’s uniform with bleach pen for dirt stains and he got allergic reaction. Just small spots and he already allergic. I won’t dare to bleach the whole uniform. Now I think it is ok for his uniform not to be white. Last time we didn’t know what caused his allergy so he took Zyrtec almost everyday for 2 years because he can’t even concentrate in school with his body itching. Sigh....
Itch for 2 years and took Zyrtec for 2 years? In the end how did you find out it is due to the bleach? Could it be just this brand of bleach pen? I once used my finger to rub liquid Vanish on a small stain after which I felt a burning sensation on my finger tip. -
white turn \"off white\" , not grey :?ngl2010:
:lol: elder boy has some school dry fit T that are no longer pure white. Told me not to bother trying to whiten them as the old look \"enhances his image of being a senior\" :rotflmao:
Ah boy's school uniform, esp the long pants, have coloured streaks here and there (kena while painting banners during the preparations of school funfairs). I dun bother replacing these as the pants are not exactly cheap and there is no guarantee he wont stain them with permanent inks again. For the recent oral presentation of Project Work (exam), I reminded him to wear the most presentable looking set of school uniform for the event. Luckily there is a set of top and bottom that were stain free :rotflmao:
To ensure even greying of pure white school uniform top and bottom, I would suggest assigning pairs (top and bottom) as set 1, set 2, etc, and washing/sunning them as a pair too so that the top and bottom \"age\" together :lol:
Now i read so much on soda bicarbonate as a powerful cleaning - i also become a bit\" worried\" the use use baking soda
in bakes, how it will react in our intestines & stomach - those with acid reflux , do look out - my mama also cannot take too much bakes or some outside meat if the hawker use baking soda
Sodium bicarbonate, commonly known as baking soda, is a chemical compound with the formula NaHCO₃. It is a salt composed of a sodium cation and a bicarbonate anion. Sodium bicarbonate is a white solid that is crystalline, but often appears as a fine powder. Wikipedia
Formula: NaHCO3
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.