How much is enough for retirement in Singapore?
Cloud Cloud\" post_id=\"1920572\" time=\"1563417685\" user_id=\"160688:[quote=\"Cloud Cloud\" post_id=1920572 time=1563417685 user_id=160688]
Same for me. No free ride. Plan to use CPF as the vehicle. Pay for their tertiary education using my CPF. They settle with CPF when they graduate. Dun come to me with sob stories. No overseas education. You cannot make it local, your own funeral.
I told my elder one I can “loan” her for her tertiary education but must repay one...haha[/quote]
I went thru the same. It made me a better person. -
Last Sunday, I had a discussion with DH about whether young working adults should give their parents an allowance after I came across a similar thread in KSP. I was very confident my 2 girls will cos I recalled a few years back (P3/P4?) when asked, they both said they would give me lots of allowances (A said $1K and B said $2K). I was over the moon then.
Then I popped the same question again on Sunday. To my horror, my DD1 said she was ok to give but will be $250 to each parent cos she needs to save up the rest to buy house. I told her $250 fell short of my expectation leh, and DD1 got upset and said since I was unappreciative, then she shall give my share to dad.
Then, I asked DD2 how much would she give me, she asked is it the form of an annual angpow or to give to dad only since dad is the only one contributing to the household?
My goodness, I felt lousy throughout the weekend. Though DH didn’t agree with me :mad: (he wants us to be self-sufficient during retirement) but I don’t care!! The children must give an allowance of at least $300 to both parents when they start working. -
With all the angbao money that we have been taking from kiddos, we have grown it such that they will have enough to pay for even an overseas degree, living expenses, depending on which country maybe not 100%.
DH never had any financial support from his parents for his education so he is of the thinking that if they have to ability to get into a uni, be it local or overseas, he will support them all the way. -
lee_yl\" post_id=\"1920586\" time=\"1563420810\" user_id=\"17023:
I know we will feel disheartened to hear those...but to console ourselves they are still kids la..so what they say now may not hold also lor..
Last Sunday, I had a discussion with DH about whether young working adults should give their parents an allowance after I came across a similar thread in KSP. I was very confident my 2 girls will cos I recalled a few years back (P3/P4?) when asked, they both said they would give me lots of allowances (A said $1K and B said $2K). I was over the moon then.
Then I popped the same question again on Sunday. To my horror, my DD1 said she was ok to give but will be $250 to each parent cos she needs to save up the rest to buy house. I told her $250 fell short of my expectation leh, and DD1 got upset and said since I was unappreciative, then she shall give my share to dad.
Then, I asked DD2 how much would she give me, she asked is it the form of an annual angpow or to give to dad only since dad is the only one contributing to the household?
My goodness, I felt lousy throughout the weekend. Though DH didn’t agree with me :mad: (he wants us to be self-sufficient during retirement) but I don’t care!! The children must give an allowance of at least $300 to both parents when they start working. -
lee_yl\" post_id=\"1920586\" time=\"1563420810\" user_id=\"17023:
They will, in the first few years of work and when living under your roof. What happens when they are married and give infrequently, or none at all? Whatcha going to do to them?
I don’t care!! The children must give an allowance of at least $300 to both parents when they start working.
Dont see them? They are already happy with John. Not interested in seeing you.
Scold them?
\"Mom I am busy with a customer. Call you back tomoro\"
Excommunicate them? Better still for them. No need travel to visit you.
Or maybe they are busy quarrelling with Dick why she must give to her parents, he must give to his parents, end up not enough for their own household expenses etc
How now brown cow?
Maybe I've seen too many things in life
Maybe I got low expectations. If my girls are happy with John and Dick, I already v happy.
If they are happy with Germaine and Maryann, I fainted… -
MrsKiasu\" post_id=\"1920610\" time=\"1563422769\" user_id=\"43981:
I think the more must do a more extensive brainwash instead of letting them off. It is easier to teach them now than when they are adult.
I know we will feel disheartened to hear those...but to console ourselves they are still kids la..so what they say now may not hold also lor..lee_yl\" post_id=\"1920586\" time=\"1563420810\" user_id=\"17023:
tyeogh\" post_id=\"1920615\" time=\"1563423571\" user_id=\"94399:
Maybe I got low expectations. If my girls are happy with John and Dick, I already v happy.
If they are happy with Germaine and Maryann, I fainted....
I that is really the case for my kids, I will :faint: first then most likely lower my expectations further. -
I believe that the main thing is a good relationship between parents and kids, and all will work out. I feel it’s no point thinking out the details so far ahead - if they marry, if they move out or overseas, if they have kids, if they work or not…
I have to confess - I have never given any money to my parents except a token angbao every CNY. In the early days, I earned less than they did. Then I stopped work and my husband also does not earn much. They are still richer than we are. But we have always had the understanding that if they need to live with us in their old age (they are 80+ and still insisting on living in their own place), they are welcome. If they need us to pay for things, we will as far as we are able. I don’t think not having contributed in all these years will make me not contribute when they need it. I hope my kids will feel the same.
My husband contributed to his mother when he lived at home, and continued to give her the same amount (with my full support) even after we married and he moved out. He used to contribute the most of all his siblings because he earned the most, and we didn’t have kids at that time. She passed away many years ago, but I think we would have continued to contribute even after our income reduced. -
MrsKiasu\" post_id=\"1920610\" time=\"1563422769\" user_id=\"43981:
hahahaha ...... ah yo, dun think so far la- right now focus to build our R nest strong n full !
I know we will feel disheartened to hear those...but to console ourselves they are still kids la..so what they say now may not hold also lor..lee_yl\" post_id=\"1920586\" time=\"1563420810\" user_id=\"17023:
My goodness, I felt lousy throughout the weekend. Though DH didn’t agree with me :mad: (he wants us to be self-sufficient during retirement) but I don’t care!! The children must give an allowance of at least $300 to both parents when they start working.
I feel it is already gd blessing if kids are mature , stable job, married well , healthy & dun ask for help $$ , and we can afford retirement effortlessly - we will be very happy . They can afford can give regular kopi$ - deal is even more wonderful & sweet
i know people whose parents are still Richer than them - they are paying few loans,insurances n kids classes - like that how to give monthly $ - already quite tight - still need to build their own Retirement $ as well to 养老防老 :?
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.