2019 PSLE Discussions and Strategies (Children born in 2007)

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Primary 6 & PSLE
    8.7k Posts 511 Posters 1.7m Views 1 Watching
      Liamum

It is CL 2nd and 3rd questions. But it is strange that before my girl complete her answer, the teacher repeat the question.

It about whether the cleaning job 是不是清洁工人的工作。My girl said yes but she wanted to continue say 可是清洁也是每个人的责任。 But before she complete her sentence the teacher repeat the question again, she scared and did not continue say anything and move on…sigh…as she was answering the other examiner was nodding her head but sudden the other examiner interrupt and repeat the question…dun know why like that…hope the scores will be fair…

tryourbest

MrsKiasu\" post_id=\"1929493\" time=\"1565960539\" user_id=\"43981:

mummyofone\" post_id=\"1929490\" time=\"1565960237\" user_id=\"97320:

Haha mine said parents bday

so birthday seems to be quite a popular answer. It looks like very 'open' kind of qn hor..hope any answer is acceptable 🙏

Ya my gal asked around, most of her friends also said bdays, either parents' or own bdays. My girl said parents' bdays too.

• MrsKiasuM Offline
          MrsKiasu

tryourbest\" post_id=\"1929498\" time=\"1565961337\" user_id=\"176900:

MrsKiasu\" post_id=\"1929493\" time=\"1565960539\" user_id=\"43981:

[quote=mummyofone post_id=1929490 time=1565960237 user_id=97320]Haha mine said parents bday

so birthday seems to be quite a popular answer. It looks like very 'open' kind of qn hor..hope any answer is acceptable 🙏

Ya my gal asked around, most of her friends also said bdays, either parents' or own bdays. My girl said parents' bdays too.[/quote]oic..luckily not psle results release day 😂

• MrsKiasuM Offline
            MrsKiasu

Liamum\" post_id=\"1929495\" time=\"1565960734\" user_id=\"180583:

It is CL 2nd and 3rd questions. But it is strange that before my girl complete her answer, the teacher repeat the question.
            It about whether the cleaning job 是不是清洁工人的工作。My girl said yes but she wanted to continue say 可是清洁也是每个人的责任。 But before she complete her sentence the teacher repeat the question again, she scared and did not continue say anything and move on...sigh....as she was answering the other examiner was nodding her head but sudden the other examiner interrupt and repeat the question...dun know why like that...hope the scores will be fair...
            this the the good of having 2 examiners yeah .. I was feeling quite disturbed yesterday, somehow feel the cl oral is abit off her normal performance maybe.. so I reminded her to study more seriously la for other components in order to make up :sad:

Liamum

Let’s move on and focus on other component…at least this oral component is down

• chenlaoshiC Offline
                chenlaoshi

newbieks\" post_id=\"1929454\" time=\"1565949378\" user_id=\"178749:
                Common practice is for the teachers to take turns to ask - when testing student 1, examiner A will ask the questions and for next student - student 2, examiner B will ask. For 转向问题, if the examiner who is not asking the questions (for that turn) wants to gauge the student's strength/performance, he/she will still throw in a question or two.
                Liamum\" post_id=\"1929477\" time=\"1565956614\" user_id=\"180583:[quote=Liamum post_id=1929477 time=1565956614 user_id=180583]Can I ask anyone child encounter whilst the child is speaking, before the child finish what she want to says, the examiner sudden repeat the question? As a result, my child was scared and stop answering..
                Liamum\" post_id=\"1929495\" time=\"1565960734\" user_id=\"180583:
                It about whether the cleaning job 是不是清洁工人的工作。My girl said yes but she wanted to continue say 可是清洁也是每个人的责任。 But before she complete her sentence the teacher repeat the question again, she scared and did not continue say anything and move on...sigh....as she was answering the other examiner was nodding her head but sudden the other examiner interrupt and repeat the question...dun know why like that...hope the scores will be fair...
                Perhaps the examiner was worried the child would drift out of point or didn't catch the gist of the question. It will be too late to stop/guide the child back after he/she has gone or and finished his/her piece. But no worries, 1 question alone will not affect that badly (grading is not like comprehension - each question having it's individual mark allocation), plus there's the other examiner's assessment to take into consideration.

(Sorry for the frankness but) if I'm not mistaken, that particular question is a \"do you agree or not 是否同意\" question rather than a \"yes or no/is it or is it not\" question. The key words in the questions were \"保持环境清洁\"、“清洁工人” and “责任”. Therefore the sentence structuring when your child answered the question played an important part - i.e. 同意/不同意 rather than 是/不是.

It's like 阅读理解 but in verbal form. Thus, based on what your child wanted to answer, the proper way to articulate would be something like 我不(赞成/同意)这(句话/个说法)。 虽然保持环境清洁是清洁工人的工作,不过保持环境清洁是每个人的责任。 etc...

(This is one of the reasons why I do not agree that one day's oral examination is \"easier\" than the other.)

But yeah, it's over, don't let it affect morale. Time to prepare for Prelims and other PSLE components. 😄

tub

Chen laoshi,

Why do u think today’s oral is not easier than yesterday’s? My dd’s class was over the moon because they thought that this was much much easier than the topic yesterday. My dd was a little disappointed because she was on mc today and had to do a make up later.

• chenlaoshiC Offline
                    chenlaoshi

tub\" post_id=\"1929523\" time=\"1565968413\" user_id=\"6622:

Chen laoshi,

Why do u think today's oral is not easier than yesterday's? My dd's class was over the moon because they thought that this was much much easier than the topic yesterday. My dd was a little disappointed because she was on mc today and had to do a make up later.
                    tub, I listed some of my thoughts here: https://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?f=69&t=81235&start=3730#p1929356

In addition, take this 看法题 Liamum mentioned (whether keep the environment clean is cleaner's responsibility) and 转向问题 like \"do you think the cleaner's job is difficult\" I heard of, majority of the students will mention common reason like it's everyone's responsibility etc. but most will lack elaboration (https://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?f=69&t=81235&start=3720#p1929348).

mummyengeng

Dear parents, would like to ask if there are any suggestions on how to prep for LC?

mummyengeng

Dear parents, would like to ask if there are any suggestions on how to prep for LC?

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 378 / 866

ZhepingZ
                        Zheping