How much is enough for retirement in Singapore?
MyPillow\" post_id=\"1935953\" time=\"1568866891\" user_id=\"70594:
yes can share liao
so fast ur dd can share clothesMrsKiasu\" post_id=\"1935948\" time=\"1568866249\" user_id=\"43981:
on sharing of clothes..with dd, once dd likes my new tights and wore it, I will let her have it, all hers. Skirts (with elastic band at waist else cant fit haha) and tops I m totally ok to share.
but i purposely buy mini T so both can wear - I am the one wearing dd tee ...for her is big for me is too fit ... hahha ..
i took back my ds kids polo ralph shirt to wear - for 12/13 yo
v gd quality , no color run
I can wear 2nd hand clothes BUT within my family only
dun mind selling winter clothes - but dunno people want to buy or not ?
have been giving to Salvation Army to send to cold countries these few yrs
Fed cut i/r so savings, fixed dep, sving bonds rate going to cut ...
me waiting for mortgage cut rate :rahrah:
I read abt the cut too :rahrah:
Over my dead body to wear 2nd-hand clothes and shoes from unknown sources and of unknown history.
So many FB live bidding sites and online shops to get $5-10 fashion tops, why buy pre-loved clothes?
Had a late relative who scrimped so much that he only wore 2nd-hand clothes bought from flea markets. His wife would help to alter the preloved clothes before washing them. He later died of illness, while wife suffered from severe eczema and psoriasis. Not sure about the causes, but you know...the whispers within the clan. -
ngl2010\" post_id=\"1935940\" time=\"1568863483\" user_id=\"40978:
I can't bring myself to wear second hand clothings (the thought of it already making my body itch) or buy second hand furniture (I am worried of bed bugs!).
I don't want to live below my means. It is depressing.
I once thought of buying a 2nd-hand wheelchair for my grandma for temporary use but I am not sure if the previous owner passed away and had to sell it away.
I also do not wish to train my kids until they are so frugal until one day, in my old age, they throw me 2nd hand used clothes from flea market or 2nd hand wheel chair for me to sit, especially when they are very capable of earning money. -
I don't mind some 2nd hand items

lee_yl\" post_id=\"1935960\" time=\"1568868246\" user_id=\"17023:
Hahaha...I dont mind a second hand coffin if there is one (and save the money to do other things more meaningful).
I also do not wish to train my kids until they are so frugal until one day, in my old age, they throw me 2nd hand used clothes from flea market or 2nd hand wheel chair for me to sit, especially when they are very capable of earning money.
PS:
My girl has a friend getting married soon. Combined income of the couple is above $10K (both below 30 yo). BTOed a 3-room HDB few years back. They so happy to get a 'second hand' wedding package from carousel at 50% (original couple split after booking everything and so sold their all their packages away). -
hahaha, guess there will be 2nd hand coffins only if the dead can resurrect.
I believe that many young couples, especially those who just started working, can be quite prudent. I did not renovate our matrimonial home much, no ID, just a coat of paint, simple lightings and window grills because not much savings in our accounts. I can save 50% of my salary, no problem but that’s before kids come along. I recall in a bid to save money back then, one piece of tissue I tore into half to share ! -
Combined income above $10k can get BTO 3rm flat?
Funz\" post_id=\"1935971\" time=\"1568874011\" user_id=\"6230:
yes , can be as high as 12K (old scheme) , 14K ( new scheme)
Combined income above $10k can get BTO 3rm flat?
this shows that 3 rm BTO can be quite ex
https://www.hdb.gov.sg/cs/infoweb/residential/buying-a-flat/new/hdb-flat
why buy so high price hdb - if the main idea is to SAVE more money first for future retirement -
MrsKiasu\" post_id=\"1935948\" time=\"1568866249\" user_id=\"43981:
My wife shares shoes with my 2 dd. Clothes not so much. Diff fashion sense. Good to have grown children.
on sharing of clothes..with dd, once dd likes my new tights and wore it, I will let her have it, all hers. Skirts (with elastic band at waist else cant fit haha) and tops I m totally ok to share. -
I know of people who derive a lot of satisfaction out of a good ‘bargain’. They will search and find and put off buying until they are sure that it is the best deal they can get and that they are getting some savings compared to the original price of the item.
For me, I go for hassle free purchase. If I want or need something, I will go to the nearest most convenient place where I can get the item in the shortest possible time. So sometimes, I end up paying more. I told my friends before that if I can wait for sale or a bargain to get the item, it means I do not need the item or the want is not that high so might as well not get it.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.