How much is enough for retirement in Singapore?

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Money Matters
    1.8k Posts 133 Posters 364.2k Views 2 Watching
    • MrsKiasuM Offline
      MrsKiasu

the amount of sugar in the bubble tea is more of a concern to me…

• MyPillowM Offline
        MyPillow

MrsKiasu\" post_id=\"1936375\" time=\"1569050239\" user_id=\"43981:

the amount of sugar in the bubble tea is more of a concern to me..
        Can less sugar to 25% ,

• MrsKiasuM Offline
          MrsKiasu

MyPillow\" post_id=\"1936377\" time=\"1569050775\" user_id=\"70594:

MrsKiasu\" post_id=\"1936375\" time=\"1569050239\" user_id=\"43981:

the amount of sugar in the bubble tea is more of a concern to me..

Can less sugar to 25% ,

from google..

500ml bubble milk tea with pearls and the full amount of sugar has 8 teaspoons of sugar and 335 calories. The larger 700ml size has 11 teaspoons of sugar..

btw, I m also eating sinful food now..yesterday bought a packet of Emping Pedas crackers from a shop..dd and I enjoyed it so much and just finished the packet ..dd asked me to get few more packets..I m also very tempted but need to go to AMK leh..

• MerlionInGermanyM Offline
            MerlionInGermany

hercules\" post_id=\"1936371\" time=\"1569048959\" user_id=\"14947:

Every lunch time in Shenton Way, I see working class people buy bottled water and one by one the empty bottles get discarded
            I work at Raffles Place and dont really see people buying bottled water. The beverage is either consumed in restaurants or skipped altogether, cos some of them will say “there is water in the office”.

• MrsKiasuM Offline
              MrsKiasu

I m one of aunties bring own water bottle and coffee in flask if needed when go out…

• Coolkidsrock2C Offline
                Coolkidsrock2

MerlionInGermany\" post_id=\"1936380\" time=\"1569051447\" user_id=\"2964:

hercules\" post_id=\"1936371\" time=\"1569048959\" user_id=\"14947:

Every lunch time in Shenton Way, I see working class people buy bottled water and one by one the empty bottles get discarded

I work at Raffles Place and dont really see people buying bottled water. The beverage is either consumed in restaurants or skipped altogether, cos some of them will say “there is water in the office”.

Those I know who drink bottled have theirs delivered to the office.

On buying drinks, my observation is most will buy coffee/tea 2 to 3 times daily - morning and afternoon breaks and lunch. Can be below/around $2 a cup or up to around $5-$6 a cup.

• lee_ylL Offline
                  lee_yl

@tyeogh, wa still got such a chat group sharing about their sexless marriages openly ah? Lol.

@jedamum, it’s the first time hearing about the groom being the driver himself. Hubby says sound like prince ridding a horse carriage to fetch his bride, lol.

@MP, 22 tables for nephew’s wedding. SIL said she’s not involved in kid’s planning. The couple invited mostly church friends.

SIL & BIL actually wanted more tables. Now they have to go round to explain to their colleagues why A was invited but not B (due the limited seats). I find it kind of awkward. They can only pick about 10 colleagues each, lol. SIL said 女方 rejected dowry and return all cash. Guess it’s a different generation and different expectations now. Last time my mum took everything and my grandma chided her, lol.

Edit to add : The couple opted for a wedding lunch banquet cos cheaper. Nowadays $1500++ per table Liao.

hercules

Coolkidsrock2\" post_id=\"1936399\" time=\"1569056252\" user_id=\"48901:

On buying drinks, my observation is most will buy coffee/tea 2 to 3 times daily - morning and afternoon breaks and lunch. Can be below/around $2 a cup or up to around $5-$6 a cup.
                    I worked in a Shenton Way office ad hoc for about 2 years (and now can go back if I feel like it). My office has free 3-1 coffee or $0.50/capsule coffee (that is used to serve guests but staff can put in coin to have a better cup of coffee if want). Despite this, I still saw young 20+ yo colleagues (maybe averaged monthly salary of about $3000 range) bringing back 'designer coffee' after lunch hour. The 'calculator' in my mind then would auto-counting.

@Mrs Kiasu

I wish one day bringing own bottle will be seen as a 'trendy fashion' instead of being 'auntie'. 😄

• starlight1968sgS Offline
                      starlight1968sg

Saving is first, making money to work harder is second for a better retirement.

• MrsKiasuM Offline
                        MrsKiasu

hercules\" post_id=\"1936405\" time=\"1569057248\" user_id=\"14947:

Coolkidsrock2\" post_id=\"1936399\" time=\"1569056252\" user_id=\"48901:

I worked in a Shenton Way office ad hoc for about 2 years (and now can go back if I feel like it). My office has free 3-1 coffee or $0.50/capsule coffee (that is used to serve guests but staff can put in coin to have a better cup of coffee if want). Despite this, I still saw young 20+ yo colleagues (maybe averaged monthly salary of about $3000 range) bringing back 'designer coffee' after lunch hour. The 'calculator' in my mind then would auto-counting.

@Mrs Kiasu

I wish one day bringing own bottle will be seen as a 'trendy fashion' instead of being 'auntie'. 😄

hahaha Hercules, I just bring my free flask .. like those gotten free from purchase of DOM..
                        to add: actually dont quite bother if auntie or not also la..coz for us need wait for tuition to finish, either shop/loiter around or bring a book to read or can just stay in car under shade to just rest, so with drinks very convenient.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 106 / 181

DSAlinkD
                        DSAlink