How much is enough for retirement in Singapore?
MrsKiasu\" post_id=\"1936942\" time=\"1569334996\" user_id=\"43981:
Haha. Er...dunno
that one can tio cancer or not, bro
lee_yl\" post_id=\"1936948\" time=\"1569336242\" user_id=\"17023:
Not greedy lah. Shrewd.
I like to share a real life inspiring story.Iluvmygals\" post_id=\"1936934\" time=\"1569334373\" user_id=\"26453:
Recently a colleague gave me an idea....if HDB is fully paid....when old...rent out the HDB and then use the rent to find a small 1-2 bedroom condo just for me and wife....like that can still enjoy life without spending too much....then once every few years can change location and move around condos....
I used to know this old lawyer neighbor staying at a condo which went enbloc some years back. During our last chit chat, she causally asked about getting a new HDB flat which she can retire in. So all along, I had the impression she’s gonna retire in a HDB flat with the windfall until one day, another neighbor told me this lady bought another old condo along orchard road, waiting for another enbloc.
You can call this lawyer lady greedy (which is how DH describes her) but her actions really inspire me!! Instead of retiring in a 3 room flat, why not retire in an old apartment with enbloc potential and sit on a goldmine?! -
MyPillow\" post_id=\"1936945\" time=\"1569335490\" user_id=\"70594:
Aiyo....you all must update yourselves. MILF is highly sought after by younger men. In almost every forum. Google MILF if you dunno what it means.....
Btw, not a lot of woman will keep lil fresh meat, woman got better brains in this area la . which stupid young man will truly like a woman who is older n given births to a few de. So no need worry Wife run road de
lee_yl\" post_id=\"1936948\" time=\"1569336242\" user_id=\"17023:
Er....actually, I live in an en bloc potential apartment. Old generation type. Chose it not bec of en bloc potential. But bec my MIL/FIL lives below me. Same block. My wife grew up here. My PIL helped look after my kids when they were young. My kids get to see their grandparents every day. Very happy. Maciam kampung spirit. Every week run up and down exchange orange, ginger, onion, fish etc. I get to eat my MIL's awesome vinegar pig trotters. My wife gets to see her mom everyday.
You can call this lawyer lady greedy (which is how DH describes her) but her actions really inspire me!! Instead of retiring in a 3 room flat, why not retire in an old apartment with enbloc potential and sit on a goldmine?!
We defeated the en bloc group the last time. Sometimes money not everything. Kinship is. Bonds are. Happiness is. -
hercules\" post_id=\"1936943\" time=\"1569335011\" user_id=\"14947:
Haha, for the sum of $1.5mil how many zeros are there? At least 6 zeros, not enough zeros ah?
My interpretation of the story is more towards to know what one wants in life.lee_yl\" post_id=\"1936918\" time=\"1569331954\" user_id=\"17023:
What’s the moral of the story? I see more than one interpretation. One interpretation - it’s pointless to work hard and scrimp if the end-goal is a simple way of living, so don’t bother to work hard and just enjoy and fritter time away. Which interpretation do you prefer?
I wonder what’s over-pursuit? Is buying anything more than a 4 room flat “over pursuit” ?
The village living is the 3 or 4 room flat while the city living is the ‘higher living’. If my kids can be happy with a village living style, then there is no point in ‘over pursuit’ over a city life at the expense of more working years and most likely also health.
I gave my kids the spreadsheet to plan for at least a 1 mil retirement fund. My girl charted 1.5 mil at age around 45 yo (living a reasonable lifestyle and not really ‘scrimping’), and from there, she most likely could live ‘happily ever after’ to pursue her own interests. However, if she ever changes her mind to want to have a ‘city life’, then she probably has to add another 10 or 15 or 20 years to that 45 yo.
So, my kids have to choose whether want to maintain village living or city living and the level of stress they willing to put themselves through over the x number of years (I certainly hope I have influenced them successfully by now not to chase after extra unnecessary zeros).
tyeogh\" post_id=\"1936957\" time=\"1569339441\" user_id=\"94399:
I very scared to hear the words 感情 in enbloc potential apartments. Means no possibility liao.
Er....actually, I live in an en bloc potential apartment. Old generation type. Chose it not bec of en bloc potential. But bec my MIL/FIL lives below me. Same block. My wife grew up here. My PIL helped look after my kids when they were young. My kids get to see their grandparents every day. Very happy. Maciam kampung spirit. Every week run up and down exchange orange, ginger, onion, fish etc. I get to eat my MIL's awesome vinegar pig trotters. My wife gets to see her mom everyday.lee_yl\" post_id=\"1936948\" time=\"1569336242\" user_id=\"17023:
You can call this lawyer lady greedy (which is how DH describes her) but her actions really inspire me!! Instead of retiring in a 3 room flat, why not retire in an old apartment with enbloc potential and sit on a goldmine?!
We defeated the en bloc group the last time. Sometimes money not everything. Kinship is. Bonds are. Happiness is.
We are always debating if we should invest in enbloc potential units. Do not want to be throwing money into maintenance. -
Will you all take care of your grandkids or go retired at a fishing village?
My son asked if I can take care of his future kids next time. Lol. He knows I quit my job to take care of them and doesn’t think next time wives will be contented with giving up their careers and staying home for the kids. -
jedamum\" post_id=\"1936990\" time=\"1569351236\" user_id=\"159:
I guess am ok to help on a need-to basis but unlikely I will quit my job to babysit their kids. A lot will also be influenced by the personality, habits and values of their spouse. If the difference is too great, better not. Spoils the relationship and makes things difficult for them.
Will you all take care of your grandkids or go retired at a fishing village?
My son asked if I can take care of his future kids next time. Lol. He knows I quit my job to take care of them and doesn't think next time wives will be contented with giving up their careers and staying home for the kids.
There are infant care facilities and I observed it is beneficial for kids.
Working from home is also increasingly an option. -
On the example of taxi driver and ntuc cashier, the profile quite similar to my in-laws and parents. Only my mil and Mother has cpf payouts as my fil and father are self employed. Even then, their cpf payout is not much, not more than $500. Their retirement is mainly supported by children’s allowance.
They have many peers who continue working because their children cannot support their retirement. -
I kinda notice at least at the ntucs I frequent, usually the younger ones will chat with each other, last heard was the gal (feel like from neighbouring country) asking if the guy (feel like from China) cooks everyday etc but the older ones seem to ‘argue’ more…sometimes I think that probably working elderly after releasing some steam outside, will be better at home, wont nag at each other so much?
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.