How much is enough for retirement in Singapore?

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Money Matters
    1.8k Posts 133 Posters 370.3k Views 2 Watching
    • EstéemaE Offline
      Estéema

Someone shared today’s marriages don’t last bcoz ppl are more connected to devices more than human beings.

Weaning our kids fr gadgets is impt for their chances to succeed in future relationships. Building relationships need hardwork & commitment. Kids of this generation are too attached to gadgets & lacks the ppl skills. It’s easy to slump over the sofa with a gadget than connect to comfort eye-to-eye talk with your spouse abt the day in office and with kids or parents & kiss for a good night’s slumber.

• FunzF Offline
        Funz

Maybe when all of a sudden the focus is back only on each other, that’s when couples start picking on each other also. Cos nothing to divert their attention oredi.

• tyeoghT Offline
          tyeogh

Nebbermind\" post_id=\"1937333\" time=\"1569478173\" user_id=\"15571:

how old are your DDs?
          14 and 15. The curiousity age. The dating age too for those 早熟 kind. I kiasu. Inscribed my teachings early. Wait till find bf, too late liao. As it is, now ady bo hew me.

Train up a child the way he should be. When he is old, he will not depart from it. Hopefully, I have done my part.

• tyeoghT Offline
            tyeogh

Estéema\" post_id=\"1937332\" time=\"1569477878\" user_id=\"66413:

We make careful choices together & DH has never been stingy or selfish with me & provided well for all our kids & his parents but he feeds veryblittle for his own simple needs and I’m the one who wld prod him on to indulge in a little for his hobby & encourage it as a bonding activity with DS. I take initiate to ensure he eats well & hv appropriate rests when he has big projects at work. I try my best to ensure he doesn’t hv to worry abt his parents & find all ways to sort their family & medical needs.
            Sis Estéema,
            Beautiful sharing! Thank you so much. I like your hb ady. A breathe of fresh air. In a lost world.

• tyeoghT Offline
              tyeogh

Estéema\" post_id=\"1937339\" time=\"1569479186\" user_id=\"66413:

Someone shared today’s marriages don’t last bcoz ppl are more connected to devices more than human beings.
              This one also got ah. In my chat group. This guy complains his wife addicted to her phone. Both are scholars. High fliers in govt ministry. She sees it as an escape. He wait and wait for her till gave up. Finds his own adult entertainment outside. Weekend become the dutiful father to his young kids. Most men are afraid of Women's Charter. Dun wan to lose kids. So kwai kwai endure. Outsourcing his needs is a temp interim solution.

• sharonkhooS Offline
                sharonkhoo

tyeogh\" post_id=\"1937365\" time=\"1569481586\" user_id=\"94399:

Nebbermind\" post_id=\"1937333\" time=\"1569478173\" user_id=\"15571:

how old are your DDs?

14 and 15. The curiousity age. The dating age too for those 早熟 kind. I kiasu. Inscribed my teachings early. Wait till find bf, too late liao. As it is, now ady bo hew me.

Train up a child the way he should be. When he is old, he will not depart from it. Hopefully, I have done my part.

In this area, I am very kiasu too! I'm sure I started talking about this when my girls were around 13 and extremely squirmy. Neither have had a boyfriend so far, although they know a lot of boys in school and church. I hope my husband and I have set the standard high for what to expect in a good marriage and family life, and that they will know what to look for.

• EstéemaE Offline
                  Estéema

tyeogh\" post_id=\"1937368\" time=\"1569481945\" user_id=\"94399:

Estéema\" post_id=\"1937332\" time=\"1569477878\" user_id=\"66413:

We make careful choices together & DH has never been stingy or selfish with me & provided well for all our kids & his parents but he feeds veryblittle for his own simple needs and I’m the one who wld prod him on to indulge in a little for his hobby & encourage it as a bonding activity with DS. I take initiate to ensure he eats well & hv appropriate rests when he has big projects at work. I try my best to ensure he doesn’t hv to worry abt his parents & find all ways to sort their family & medical needs.

Sis Estéema,
                  Beautiful sharing! Thank you so much. I like your hb ady. A breathe of fresh air. In a lost world.

Mengroup shld provide support in fellowship. DH hv a grp that do a lot of positive ppl bldg. S’times, even tho do not know their wives, we get to benefit coz they talk a lot recently abt teaching values to kids & whether to leave inheritance to kids or train their ability to build their own or their conclusion of using ‘wealth’ to live a loving retirement life with spouse. Happy they’re helping each other focus.

Think as wives, I do take some wisdom Hercules shared in not indulging in branded bags or things temporal. Tho confess I had during my time in corporate life & senior Mgt. I got down to earth very fast & feel no pain. My philosophy is grounded on words of wisdom that we don’t need these as we’ll eventually go dust to dust. I value more feelings of my spouse & made my determination not to add to emotional burden as the man face the hard jungle in corporate life & works his life for the family.

As I spend most time with the kids, when the kids were very young, I resolved to step back & let DH enjoy the kids. Of course, I’ll step in to relieve them fr cleaning shit but he enjoyed bathing the kids every night. So, over time, his bonding to family & kids are strongly rooted in involvement - enjoyable part as well as grilling kids during PSLE days (esp with Chinese as that’s the toughest subj for the young child to handle & when the father figure comes into play, they’re more cooperative).

Tho I wld always be encouraging father’s to be more involved with kids once they’re back home, I feel that girls equally need the father figure to help them navigate the different roles men play and learn the characteristics so they know what kind of men they will most appreciate.

Create normal activities with words of fun, nice invitation for yr girls to wanna enjoy that teatime or movie date with you. Do the gentleman thingy “let me drive you ladies”, “let me buy you yr favorite drinks”, “I’ll find the seats for you ladies (tho young ladies will be speedy gonzales ‘chopping’ seats for you guy/gal) ... Then u can slide in yr hopes for them - “I do hope yr future bfrd will do these things for you my princesses”. They’ll want to hang out with you of course!

Other things you can start is asking if you will ever hv a chance to taste their baking or sth. That shld motivate them to their (female/maternal) interests. It’ll also be good lifeskills if ever they hv to be independent away fr home). My own mother had doted on me & never let me lay hands in the kitchen, but I re-created her dishes when studying in Australia dying for audiences to show mum my ‘prowess’.

• FunzF Offline
                    Funz

lee_yl\" post_id=\"1937302\" time=\"1569475208\" user_id=\"17023:

Coolkidsrock2\" post_id=\"1937228\" time=\"1569427285\" user_id=\"48901:

I think the long hours and stress at work bring people together. 日久生情 celebrating wins together, experiencing the adrenlin rush of success, consoling each other in bad moments, growing together professionally, etc.

Not all spouses are supportive. Not every home environment is conducive to someone who has a bad day.

Some people will rather not go home if it means a second shift of doing housework or supervising kids. It's more enjoyable socialising outside. 我逗你开心 你逗我开心

DH’s friend is currently going through a divorce. The guy really went for the 日久生情、并肩作战 business partner (mistress).

One thing I don’t quite understand;
                    the wife is willing to forgive the man but the man still wants to call it quits ?!?! And the stupid thing is, what started off as a fling should stay a fling. After 偷吃, just wipe your mouth and go home lah. As both sides are married with children, I cannot understand how can the mistress give up her young kindy kids for DH’s friend, an old man with an age gap of 20years !!

This does not sit well with me. So does that mean the wife can go outside for a side dish, fix her lipstick and go home like nothing happened as well?

I don't think I will ever be able continue with the marriage if DH were to betray me. I am not that forgiving.

• MrsKiasuM Offline
                      MrsKiasu

Funz\" post_id=\"1937397\" time=\"1569486147\" user_id=\"6230:

lee_yl\" post_id=\"1937302\" time=\"1569475208\" user_id=\"17023:

[quote=Coolkidsrock2 post_id=1937228 time=1569427285 user_id=48901]I think the long hours and stress at work bring people together. 日久生情 celebrating wins together, experiencing the adrenlin rush of success, consoling each other in bad moments, growing together professionally, etc.

Not all spouses are supportive. Not every home environment is conducive to someone who has a bad day.

Some people will rather not go home if it means a second shift of doing housework or supervising kids. It's more enjoyable socialising outside. 我逗你开心 你逗我开心

DH’s friend is currently going through a divorce. The guy really went for the 日久生情、并肩作战 business partner (mistress).

One thing I don’t quite understand;
                      the wife is willing to forgive the man but the man still wants to call it quits ?!?! And the stupid thing is, what started off as a fling should stay a fling. After 偷吃, just wipe your mouth and go home lah. As both sides are married with children, I cannot understand how can the mistress give up her young kindy kids for DH’s friend, an old man with an age gap of 20years !!

This does not sit well with me. So does that mean the wife can go outside for a side dish, fix her lipstick and go home like nothing happened as well?

I don't think I will ever be able continue with the marriage if DH were to betray me. I am not that forgiving.[/quote]me too..though recently I been thinking which human dont do wrong right..but if too wrong, I know it is going to be very painful but short pain is better than long pain.. to me, by 'taking revenge' do the same eat outside during marriage is like destroying the little left in ownself..might as well cut it off entirely, then feel free to know another one, if still have chance.

• lee_ylL Offline
                        lee_yl

From what I understand from DH, both came out to 偷吃. What I don’t understand is why in the end, that man and woman still insisted on divorcing their respective spouses to be together, especially when the man’s wife is willing to close both eyes for the sake of their 3 children and the woman’s hubby also agreed to forgive her to start over again for the sake of their young kid.

Now it has come to a situation where the kids and 4 adults are all entangled in a messy situation. Maybe they didn’t start off with wanting to destroy their respective family (that’s why I said 偷吃后 rem wipe mouth) but somehow the situation will see 2 families broken up.

Rotten men a lot lah but I find the woman very 狠心 to discard her own kid.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 123 / 181

hi88weddinggH
                        hi88weddingg