How much is enough for retirement in Singapore?
May I add interesting, nutritious and palatable food? Some KSP mums hv gone in their cooking & baking skills. Just that some hobbies don’t realize.
I always take note like when DH diagnoses high cholesterol & I ensure all food works for him. Even venture to plant edibles that bring cholesterol to manageable levels.
When kids growing up, tried to make food interesting for kids and in a way DH put in his request whenever he tried sth with his colleagues. Did home-made pizza & Pasta when DD was very keen on it & sushi for DS as he was immersed in all food Japanese, then the most challenging was tandoori chicken coz DH love the spiciness but still hv not perfected it but managed to do the Assam Fish Head and had since been the family & extended family’s favorite. -
Estéema\" post_id=\"1937462\" time=\"1569494661\" user_id=\"66413:
May I add interesting, nutritious and palatable food? Some KSP mums hv gone in their cooking & baking skills. Just that some hobbies don’t realize.
I always take note like when DH diagnoses high cholesterol & I ensure all food works for him. Even venture to plant edibles that bring cholesterol to manageable levels.
When kids growing up, tried to make food interesting for kids and in a way DH put in his request whenever he tried sth with his colleagues. Did home-made pizza & Pasta when DD was very keen on it & sushi for DS as he was immersed in all food Japanese, then the most challenging was tandoori chicken coz DH love the spiciness but still hv not perfected it but managed to do the Assam Fish Head and had since been the family & extended family’s favorite.
I think tyeogh is talking about some other kind of food. -
Nebbermind\" post_id=\"1937428\" time=\"1569489426\" user_id=\"15571:
But of course.
I take it that I'm included :imcool:Funz\" post_id=\"1937292\" time=\"1569473908\" user_id=\"6230:
I am coming to a conclusion that the men in KSP are all of a different breed.
Too bad men that come onto this forum are all taken. Else I will suggest that this will be a good hunting ground for single women. -
Funz\" post_id=\"1937467\" time=\"1569495318\" user_id=\"6230:
Hahaha! I dont mind some assam fish head too!! We men are simple creatures. We have only has 2 buttons. Our stomach. And another somewhere further south :xedfingers:Estéema\" post_id=\"1937462\" time=\"1569494661\" user_id=\"66413:
When kids growing up, tried to make food interesting for kids and in a way DH put in his request whenever he tried sth with his colleagues. Did home-made pizza & Pasta when DD was very keen on it & sushi for DS as he was immersed in all food Japanese, then the most challenging was tandoori chicken coz DH love the spiciness but still hv not perfected it but managed to do the Assam Fish Head and had since been the family & extended family’s favorite.
I think tyeogh is talking about some other kind of food. -
tyeogh\" post_id=\"1937457\" time=\"1569494036\" user_id=\"94399:
No, dun forgive. So rem to provide food at home.[/quote]Aiya, not you can forgive or I can forgive or not but the 狗男女 spouses willing to forgive/forget and want them back.
This does not sit well with me. So does that mean the wife can go outside for a side dish, fix her lipstick and go home like nothing happened as well?Funz\" post_id=\"1937397\" time=\"1569486147\" user_id=\"6230:
[quote=lee_yl post_id=1937302 time=1569475208 user_id=17023]
DH’s friend is currently going through a divorce. The guy really went for the 日久生情、并肩作战 business partner (mistress).
One thing I don’t quite understand;
the wife is willing to forgive the man but the man still wants to call it quits ?!?! And the stupid thing is, what started off as a fling should stay a fling. After 偷吃, just wipe your mouth and go home lah. As both sides are married with children, I cannot understand how can the mistress give up her young kindy kids for DH’s friend, an old man with an age gap of 20years !!
I don't think I will ever be able continue with the marriage if DH were to betray me. I am not that forgiving. -
Funz\" post_id=\"1937397\" time=\"1569486147\" user_id=\"6230:
This does not sit well with me. So does that mean the wife can go outside for a side dish, fix her lipstick and go home like nothing happened as well?
DH’s friend is currently going through a divorce. The guy really went for the 日久生情、并肩作战 business partner (mistress).lee_yl\" post_id=\"1937302\" time=\"1569475208\" user_id=\"17023:
[quote=Coolkidsrock2 post_id=1937228 time=1569427285 user_id=48901]I think the long hours and stress at work bring people together. 日久生情 celebrating wins together, experiencing the adrenlin rush of success, consoling each other in bad moments, growing together professionally, etc.
Not all spouses are supportive. Not every home environment is conducive to someone who has a bad day.
Some people will rather not go home if it means a second shift of doing housework or supervising kids. It's more enjoyable socialising outside. 我逗你开心 你逗我开心
One thing I don’t quite understand;
the wife is willing to forgive the man but the man still wants to call it quits ?!?! And the stupid thing is, what started off as a fling should stay a fling. After 偷吃, just wipe your mouth and go home lah. As both sides are married with children, I cannot understand how can the mistress give up her young kindy kids for DH’s friend, an old man with an age gap of 20years !!
I don't think I will ever be able continue with the marriage if DH were to betray me. I am not that forgiving.[/quote]Financial independence allows options. For some, they will need to continue the journey regardless.
I know of some who elected to stay on, though they are able to provide financially for the kids, and only choose to divorce when the kids are grown-up, after graduation.
For some, it is not easy to give up one zero in their networth. Then 各取所需 lor.
There are also some who stay together to keep up with appearance. -
tyeogh\" post_id=\"1937458\" time=\"1569494208\" user_id=\"94399:
Ya, cpf life is the best annuity plan. But it only starts paying from age 65. Means need to have other income before that. Hopefully, can work until 65.
The best annuity plan is CPF Life. It pays decent and wont go bust. All other annuity plans carry risk. Who's to say company X wont collapse in 20 years time when you are mid way collecting payouts? Hence I dont believe in stocks and bonds. Not even Reits. Got extra cash, put in RA. This should be enough for a decent retirement of $2-3k a month.
Property is the best hedge against inflation. Collect rent. But one should diversify one's portfolio. Dun just accumulate local resi, which is overpriced atm and in over supply. Local resi rents have dropped recently. I have overseas properties to hedge. Recession coming soon. Looking to hunt for some local commercial ones too. Just extras. That's all I am doing for retirement ba. Me thinks the challenge is not retirement. Its keeping a happy and carefree family unit till retirement
lee_yl\" post_id=\"1937435\" time=\"1569490162\" user_id=\"17023:
That's good if you have enough to invest in property. My husband and I, because of the choices we made in earlier years, have not had enough to invest in a 2nd property. So we will have to rely on CPFLife and savings which my husband manages for us, and we will downsize our flat eventually. It will be enough to live moderately comfortably, but not lavishly. Preservation of capital is not something we count on, and our girls know that our gift to them is to be self-sufficient in our retirement, not that they are going to have a windfall when we go.
Regarding annuity plans, in my understanding, one is putting one lump sum of money with the insurance company.
When the time comes, one will be drawing down one’s OWN CAPITAL plus some interest.
Imagine I have accumulated $1mil and I choose to buy an annuity plan, I will draw $XX till I passed on or after a certain period. So when I pass on, I will leave nothing behind for the children. Unlike property.
My MIL bought a 3rm flat for $9k and sold for $180K 30 years later. Back in the 1970s, who will believe when you were to tell them 30 years later their property would increase in value by 10 times. So instead of buying a $1mil annuity plan now, I use the $1mil to buy a FH property, 30 years from now, either it has gone enbloc already and I reap a windfall or probably worth $Xmil.
My own thinking, if I put my money in a small FH unit, I will be collecting rental (may fluctuate) till I pass on and I “preserve” my capital and hopefully, my capital would have appreciated in value by then. In return, my recurring passive income would be smaller -
slmkhoo\" post_id=\"1937528\" time=\"1569501081\" user_id=\"28674:
I am mindful of you and and your hubby’s choices of forgoing earning big bucks over some other priorities deemed more important in life. CPF Life and downsizing of the flat after kids are married off are also considered a way of retirement planning. Smaller units are easier to maintain for retirees.
That's good if you have enough to invest in property. My husband and I, because of the choices we made in earlier years, have not had enough to invest in a 2nd property. So we will have to rely on CPFLife and savings which my husband manages for us, and we will downsize our flat eventually. It will be enough to live moderately comfortably, but not lavishly. Preservation of capital is not something we count on, and our girls know that our gift to them is to be self-sufficient in our retirement, not that they are going to have a windfall when we go.lee_yl\" post_id=\"1937435\" time=\"1569490162\" user_id=\"17023:
Regarding annuity plans, in my understanding, one is putting one lump sum of money with the insurance company.
When the time comes, one will be drawing down one’s OWN CAPITAL plus some interest.
Imagine I have accumulated $1mil and I choose to buy an annuity plan, I will draw $XX till I passed on or after a certain period. So when I pass on, I will leave nothing behind for the children. Unlike property.
My MIL bought a 3rm flat for $9k and sold for $180K 30 years later. Back in the 1970s, who will believe when you were to tell them 30 years later their property would increase in value by 10 times. So instead of buying a $1mil annuity plan now, I use the $1mil to buy a FH property, 30 years from now, either it has gone enbloc already and I reap a windfall or probably worth $Xmil.
My own thinking, if I put my money in a small FH unit, I will be collecting rental (may fluctuate) till I pass on and I “preserve” my capital and hopefully, my capital would have appreciated in value by then. In return, my recurring passive income would be smaller
I am just curious why Hercules prefers to put the bulk of her savings into many many different annuity plans and not diversify say, into an investment property, which I think it’s something I see with more upside potential -
slmkhoo\" post_id=\"1937528\" time=\"1569501081\" user_id=\"28674:
Also told my elder girl unlikely to leave her any inheritance. But we will try to be self sufficient in our retirement.
That's good if you have enough to invest in property. My husband and I, because of the choices we made in earlier years, have not had enough to invest in a 2nd property. So we will have to rely on CPFLife and savings which my husband manages for us, and we will downsize our flat eventually. It will be enough to live moderately comfortably, but not lavishly. Preservation of capital is not something we count on, and our girls know that our gift to them is to be self-sufficient in our retirement, not that they are going to have a windfall when we go.lee_yl\" post_id=\"1937435\" time=\"1569490162\" user_id=\"17023:
My own thinking, if I put my money in a small FH unit, I will be collecting rental (may fluctuate) till I pass on and I “preserve” my capital and hopefully, my capital would have appreciated in value by then. In return, my recurring passive income would be smaller
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.