How much is enough for retirement in Singapore?
tyeogh\" post_id=\"1937713\" time=\"1569557929\" user_id=\"94399:
To me worries come only if dds 'die die' want go overseas to study lor..but few years back dd1 told me that she doesn't want to go away from home..that time when I was still thinking probably go overseas better can gain some experience etc..but still too early to say now..I guess shoild be more than $20k ba
I can only afford local. Told all my kids. No safety net. Dun make it, their funeral. No spoon feeding. So far, the elder 2 conscientious.MrsKiasu\" post_id=\"1937705\" time=\"1569557079\" user_id=\"43981:
study in private institutions here can also mah..
Intend to use CPF to pay. If not medicine, each child must budget $20k? :moneyflies:
yups, private institutions is one alternative.
financially, study at local unis is the most affordable option. if possible i hope not to use CPF to pay for fees - the OA interest rate still substantially higher than FD. will have to assess financial situation then. -
Ah. Ok. For me, I came from a poor family. My mom paid my uni using CPF. I had to repay CPF when I started work. Made me a better person. My younger bro had his uni paid in cash. Till now still like a small kid. After married, still demand mom buy him a TV as reno gift. Useless bugger.
So I intend to do the same for my kids. Make them pay their own tertiary. Settle with CPF direct when they work. Call it Dad’s last free life’s lesson for them haha. -
tyeogh\" post_id=\"1937685\" time=\"1569555657\" user_id=\"94399:
I do agree with you here. Early in my marriage, we were focused only buying a home, saving for holidays till the kids came and my first priority was to purchase H&S insurance. I’m aware some forumers wonder why I advised this. Well, solely based on my experienced with my mum’s medical bills whilst I was still single & sole-caregiver. So, I insure against health expenses burdens for my family.
I don't have any endowment / investment related insurance plans. Same reason. Scary for a company to keep so much of my money. But i do have hospital and surgical insurance for my entire family. I recommend this is a minimum for everyone. Medical cost can only go up. Insuring against it protects your retirement plan. Bec when you or your loved ones get cancer, you sure are going go sell your home to pay for treatment. So it is wise to buy medical insurance.doodbug\" post_id=\"1937649\" time=\"1569551086\" user_id=\"13281:
I've always been fearful of insurance policies (even Life policies) as I am afraid if I'm out of a job or something, and cannot keep up with the premium repayment. Hence my insurance coverage is low and I bump up primarily on protection, and not on the investment aspects.
Unfortunately, our G followed Obamacare somewhere in 2015; mandated medical insurance for all. And as with the failings of Obamacare, our medical insurance premiums shot through the roof. Mine doubled last year! :mad:
I advised this for my in-laws & when they vehemently disagree, we bear the entire premium for both.
Just last year, my BIL kept egging is to drop the insurance as ‘seemingly’ our pioneer generation pays so little after all the subsidies. Today, all in-laws appreciative as FIL started dialysis & the premium we’ve paid for last 9 years hv all been ‘recooped’ with more dialysis expenses taken up by the insurance company for as long as FIL continues with dialysis. There’s posdibly other conditions with his heart and colon. Nobody talks abt dropping any health insurance & SIL started part-time work to pay for her parents’ ISP with NTUC Income. I’m not an insurance agent nor affiliated with NTUC Income. Just find their premium and “As charged” payout attractive. -
my side mom paid mostly… OT, woah worrying la, that thread suddenly so quiet and I haven’t go fetch dd yet…
Estéema\" post_id=\"1937589\" time=\"1569513530\" user_id=\"66413:
Actually quite simple.
Was thinking abt infidelity and the whys or wherefores of it all.
Then I happen to pass a young lady dressed in all white with designer holes (big ones) at strategic areas coming off fr an office bldg this evening well hugged every inch by an obviously older man.
Then I was thinking abt the men’s club/sites tyeogh described & sth crossed my mind & I can see why men cannot resist temptations when homefront grounding is weak. Not that I think there shld be any value in such outward appearances except given by nature. Some man-made holes are not natural and yet why these men can’t see beyond the plasticity of it all and close to leave their first family.
Oftentimes, emotions play a major part over sensibilities. When dealing with emotions, one can’t explain enuf to help the individual focus on the important issue. Hence, I need to remind myself to hv a discuss topic of “head over heart” or heart ruling the head talk with my kids. Need to find an opportunity to move this topic.
The other thing I s’times encounter is the issue of pride. Why some spouse wld not take back the word “divorce” once uttered even tho others cld clearly are how repentant the erring party has been and made all efforts to abandon his/her previous follies & try reconcile.
I’m not an expert in this area but a fair share of witnessing frds/colleagues suffer pain.
You need to say nice things not only to not hurt the middle aged/older men ego, but also to boost it.
As for men, you need to pay more attention to your women (not to nitpick on them!) and show them more affection. They need this reassurance coz few can defy aging and they are aware that they no longer look the same as before. -
tyeogh\" post_id=\"1937735\" time=\"1569559768\" user_id=\"94399:
Huh? Your mum groomed yr younger bro into hankering her for reno gifts after becoming a husband of somebody else?
Ah. Ok. For me, I came from a poor family. My mom paid my uni using CPF. I had to repay CPF when I started work. Made me a better person. My younger bro had his uni paid in cash. Till now still like a small kid. After married, still demand mom buy him a TV as reno gift. Useless bugger.
So I intend to do the same for my kids. Make them pay their own tertiary. Settle with CPF direct when they work. Call it Dad's last free life's lesson for them haha.
I’ve shared a story abt a mama’s boy not able to let me go even after my marriage. Scary! But I broke his heart real hard by inviting him to my firstborn’s christening. He stopped. That’s my way of waking him up & breaking that psychological ‘dependence’ which was an emotional burden to me then.
My kids know to be independent & proactive and I’m thankful they’re bldg stronger will & muscles. They save for their WANTS (incl hp) as we provide only what they need to complete their education. Only shared holidays are paid for them. Pray they make good future partners & train kids who wld contribute as useful community member of society (whichever society they live in). My consciously best legacy I’ll leave in their soul long after I’m gone (by God’s will). -
MrsKiasu\" post_id=\"1937737\" time=\"1569559922\" user_id=\"43981:
U are on the right page
my side mom paid mostly.. OT, woah worrying la, that thread suddenly so quiet and I haven't go fetch dd yet..
Retirement plan is v important - long term
Psle is short sparks ... hahahaha
I think only few qn difficult la
Every yr is like that
My ds time last few qn also hard
Only last yr was Santa Claus so prob seab decide to revert back to Norm standards
Moderate avg students should be ok coz their expectations not high mah
Cheer up ok , go bake for dd -
Nebbermind\" post_id=\"1937743\" time=\"1569560775\" user_id=\"15571:
Ah yes, ano word to note is EGO besides men’s pride. Agree.
Actually quite simple.Estéema\" post_id=\"1937589\" time=\"1569513530\" user_id=\"66413:
Was thinking abt infidelity and the whys or wherefores of it all.
Then I happen to pass a young lady dressed in all white with designer holes (big ones) at strategic areas coming off fr an office bldg this evening well hugged every inch by an obviously older man.
Then I was thinking abt the men’s club/sites tyeogh described & sth crossed my mind & I can see why men cannot resist temptations when homefront grounding is weak. Not that I think there shld be any value in such outward appearances except given by nature. Some man-made holes are not natural and yet why these men can’t see beyond the plasticity of it all and close to leave their first family.
Oftentimes, emotions play a major part over sensibilities. When dealing with emotions, one can’t explain enuf to help the individual focus on the important issue. Hence, I need to remind myself to hv a discuss topic of “head over heart” or heart ruling the head talk with my kids. Need to find an opportunity to move this topic.
The other thing I s’times encounter is the issue of pride. Why some spouse wld not take back the word “divorce” once uttered even tho others cld clearly are how repentant the erring party has been and made all efforts to abandon his/her previous follies & try reconcile.
I’m not an expert in this area but a fair share of witnessing frds/colleagues suffer pain.
You need to say nice things not only to not hurt the middle aged/older men ego, but also to boost it.
As for men, you need to pay more attention to your women (not to nitpick on them!) and show them more affection. They need this reassurance coz few can defy aging and they are aware that they no longer look the same as before.
To me har, both parties need to speak words that build and not tear. Sweet, meaningful words are impt for building strong marriages. For me, a strong marriage and a happy family is my best retirement asset. A broken one will deplete everything else - emotions, physical & mental strength, health ... u get the pic -
Estéema\" post_id=\"1937752\" time=\"1569561806\" user_id=\"66413:
Amen!!
For me, a strong marriage and a happy family is my best retirement asset. A broken one will deplete everything else - emotions, physical & mental strength, health ... u get the pic
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.