2019 PSLE Discussions and Strategies (Children born in 2007)

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Primary 6 & PSLE
    8.7k Posts 511 Posters 1.7m Views 1 Watching
    • MerlionInGermanyM Offline
      MerlionInGermany

They can also do their computer work on desktops at home. And then put it on google drive. And then access from school computer. No need to run out and buy a laptop now or be concerned about weight and loss/theft and waterproof keyboard etc.

And besides, if you end up in a school that has a specific laptop to buy (Chromebook, Macbook), whatever you buy today may not be what they need next year.

• coastC Offline
        coast

slmkhoo\" post_id=\"1940452\" time=\"1570592555\" user_id=\"28674:

floppy\" post_id=\"1940449\" time=\"1570592021\" user_id=\"97579:

Don’t expect the same speed from Libre Office though (but it’s free, so cannot hiam).

We've used it on and off. For most kids who are doing general stuff, it's good enough.

My DS and his school mates have been using Google Docs for their group assignments/ projects/ notes for the last few years. So far so good 🙂

• MrsKiasuM Offline
          MrsKiasu

ShareShareLah\" post_id=\"1940439\" time=\"1570590872\" user_id=\"181541:

MrsKiasu\" post_id=\"1940425\" time=\"1570588483\" user_id=\"43981:

I m not sure if dd can use her own cheapo laptop in Sec 1 should she needs one in school..my thinking is if need get another one, I will go by meeting the school's requirements and one with 'cheap' price, replacing won't be so painful.. the handling of laptop is already rough for me. I do hope dd won't go into social media websites and participate in it at such early age, to me la. I been telling them about keyboard warriors and bullying..recently told my mom not to put esp kids photos on social media..

Yes, It's never wise to put children's photos on the internet as there may be paedophiles watching :yikes: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YRPUZ3pufAg

thank you for sharing...

• MrsKiasuM Offline
            MrsKiasu

slmkhoo\" post_id=\"1940445\" time=\"1570591590\" user_id=\"28674:

You can get student editions of MS Office which are cheaper than regular ones? Not sure about this. Or some schools may have some kind of bulk plan or discounts?

Alternatively, you can download Libre Office which is similar in functions to MS office, and free. There can be some compatibility issues, especially with tables, but for general text, it works OK.

Don’t expect the same speed from Libre Office though (but it’s free, so cannot hiam).

First time hearing Libre Office..ok noted with thanks.

• sharonkhooS Offline
              sharonkhoo

coast\" post_id=\"1940459\" time=\"1570595182\" user_id=\"38933:

slmkhoo\" post_id=\"1940452\" time=\"1570592555\" user_id=\"28674:

[quote=floppy post_id=1940449 time=1570592021 user_id=97579]Don’t expect the same speed from Libre Office though (but it’s free, so cannot hiam).

We've used it on and off. For most kids who are doing general stuff, it's good enough.

My DS and his school mates have been using Google Docs for their group assignments/ projects/ notes for the last few years. So far so good :)[/quote]Yes, that's true. That's what my kids have been using! (Sorry - too out of touch with their work now.)

• MrsKiasuM Offline
                MrsKiasu

ShareShareLah\" post_id=\"1940440\" time=\"1570591007\" user_id=\"181541:

MrsKiasu\" post_id=\"1940432\" time=\"1570590192\" user_id=\"43981:

[quote=floppy post_id=1940427 time=1570588949 user_id=97579]TBH, as long as the laptop can surf web, handle Microsoft PowerPoint, Word, email, with reasonable speed, it’s more than good enough.

I didn't install the MS office on her laptop..there was once she tried using PowerPoint probably trial from web..can surf nets/emails..can use already la hor 😂

Is there a expiry date period to use these free online?[/quote]I m not sure though..quite sometime ago le..there was a period dd asking about PowerPoint..alamak I also quite dumb technologically speaking..then suddenly one day she came showed me told me, hey can access Words/PP one leh..I just guessed it should be those trials one ba as I remember I never install MS Office in that laptop.

• MrsKiasuM Offline
                  MrsKiasu

OT …

• coastC Offline
                    coast

MrsKiasu\" post_id=\"1940464\" time=\"1570595697\" user_id=\"43981:

ShareShareLah\" post_id=\"1940440\" time=\"1570591007\" user_id=\"181541:

Is there a expiry date period to use these free online?

I m not sure though..quite sometime ago le..there was a period dd asking about PowerPoint..alamak I also quite dumb technologically speaking..then suddenly one day she came showed me told me, hey can access Words/PP one leh..I just guessed it should be those trials one ba as I remember I never install MS Office in that laptop.

Some secondary schools (not sure if it is all secondary schools) provide free MS Office access to students which they access using their school email (.edu). So do not buy MS Office for your DS/DD unless they really need it now. Also, as I have just mentioned in an earlier post, DS and his schoolmates have been using Google Docs for their group assignments/ projects/ notes for the last few years so you can consider that option.

• MrsKiasuM Offline
                      MrsKiasu

coast\" post_id=\"1940470\" time=\"1570596512\" user_id=\"38933:

MrsKiasu\" post_id=\"1940464\" time=\"1570595697\" user_id=\"43981:

[quote=ShareShareLah post_id=1940440 time=1570591007 user_id=181541]

Is there a expiry date period to use these free online?

I m not sure though..quite sometime ago le..there was a period dd asking about PowerPoint..alamak I also quite dumb technologically speaking..then suddenly one day she came showed me told me, hey can access Words/PP one leh..I just guessed it should be those trials one ba as I remember I never install MS Office in that laptop.

Some secondary schools (not sure if it is all secondary schools) provide free MS Office access to students which they access using their school email (.edu). So do not buy MS Office for your DS/DD unless they really need it now. Also, as I have just mentioned in an earlier post, DS and his schoolmates have been using Google Docs for their group assignments/ projects/ notes for the last few years so you can consider that option.[/quote]thank you for the info!

ShareShareLah

slmkhoo\" post_id=\"1940445\" time=\"1570591590\" user_id=\"28674:

[quote=MrsKiasu post_id=1940432 time=1570590192 user_id=43981]
                        I didn't install the MS office on her laptop..there was once she tried using PowerPoint probably trial from web..can surf nets/emails..can use already la hor 😂

You can get student editions of MS Office which are cheaper than regular ones? Not sure about this. Or some schools may have some kind of bulk plan or discounts?

Alternatively, you can download Libre Office which is similar in functions to MS office, and free. There can be some compatibility issues, especially with tables, but for general text, it works OK.

Don’t expect the same speed from Libre Office though (but it’s free, so cannot hiam).[/quote]Libre is a free online platform or a free downloadable software?

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 644 / 866