2019 PSLE Discussions and Strategies (Children born in 2007)
Many tuition centres seems to have the practice of calling students up, asking for grades and t-scores, some just within an hour after the results are released. While I understand (and do reveal) grade of the particular subject which my child is having tuition at that centre, I do not understand (and thus will not reveal) why they need to collect tscore, and have the right to publish such data on their website. What’s your take on this?
Estéema\" post_id=\"1951725\" time=\"1575591795\" user_id=\"66413:
Have you all tried 华艺学院? They’ve centres at Jurong East, West Coast (near Nan Hua) & Sin Ming (bear RI). They ground students well & have consistent excellent results. More importantly, they teach more than just textbook & incl values & help motivate kids to look ahead. They organise sharing sessions by past students (学哥学姐) to Share their learning journey) to inspire each other.
So we are behind :sad:MrsKiasu\" post_id=\"1951718\" time=\"1575588871\" user_id=\"43981:
[quote=Luxedream post_id=1951717 time=1575587024 user_id=98340]
Among the few tuition centres that we inquired, one is already fully booked for many popular time slots, another one is 80% full. I am quite surprised that there are so many parents even more kiasu than me...
And when you say fully booked and 80% full, for weekdays too?
and so many students know their school schedule already.. wow!
I was worry about the limited slot issue before holiday starts..but after holiday started, we all happy happy liao. WIl give a shout for help later
They hv chatgrp with parents & we can clear our doubts on syllabus, kids progress, local awards & recognition, new trends in universities around the world, etc
DS started sec 1 with them & will continue till O level.
Just sharing their 2019 students PSLE outcome.
https://postimg.cc/PN4K1sTn
Note : I do not own this tuition centre (lol, I’ve not no such ability lah) & hv no other vested interests. Just sharing a good place that helps our kids better than 汪老师 we previously attend. JMO[/quote]Look at the names of kids already know their parents are Chinese thoroughbred, they speak and live Chinese, how to compare results like that?? I bet they no need go Chinese tuition will get same results, must as well spend time on more meaningful Dos. -
MrsKiasu\" post_id=\"1951718\" time=\"1575588871\" user_id=\"43981:
So we are behind :sad:
Among the few tuition centres that we inquired, one is already fully booked for many popular time slots, another one is 80% full. I am quite surprised that there are so many parents even more kiasu than me...Luxedream\" post_id=\"1951717\" time=\"1575587024\" user_id=\"98340:
[quote=MrsKiasu post_id=1951712 time=1575585363 user_id=43981]
low impact year, heard that, I phew.. foundation for latter years, I sweat liao
dh says continue, dd says don't want and I m thinking let's give it a try to be on own but frankly speaking in heart, scared lei..but as of now, since still dont know alot of things for next year school time schedule yet..maybe just wait a little while.
I was worry about the limited slot issue before holiday starts..but after holiday started, we all happy happy liao. WIl give a shout for help later
[/quote]I think if they are full or nearly full, it is usually the weekend slots. Weekdays should be not filled eg 3-5, 4-6, 5-7. And I dont think people are signing up for weekdays 7-9 unless the center is near house, but that is my own guess. Even if you dsa, meaning you already know your school, I dont think you will know your sec 1 timetable. So yup, most likely if full or nearly full, it is the weekend slots.
And like I’ve mentioned some time ago, some people need specific timing to coordinate with younger siblings tuition, or piano or sports etc. Also those who continue with the tuition centers where they had their pri sch tuition. -
Estéema\" post_id=\"1951725\" time=\"1575591795\" user_id=\"66413:
Have you all tried 华艺学院? They’ve centres at Jurong East, West Coast (near Nan Hua) & Sin Ming (bear RI). They ground students well & have consistent excellent results. More importantly, they teach more than just textbook & incl values & help motivate kids to look ahead. They organise sharing sessions by past students (学哥学姐) to Share their learning journey) to inspire each other.
So we are behind :sad:MrsKiasu\" post_id=\"1951718\" time=\"1575588871\" user_id=\"43981:
[quote=Luxedream post_id=1951717 time=1575587024 user_id=98340]
Among the few tuition centres that we inquired, one is already fully booked for many popular time slots, another one is 80% full. I am quite surprised that there are so many parents even more kiasu than me...
They hv chatgrp with parents & we can clear our doubts on syllabus, kids progress, local awards & recognition, new trends in universities around the world, etc
Note : I do not own this tuition centre (lol, I’ve not no such ability lah) & hv no other vested interests. Just sharing a good place that helps our kids better than 汪老师 we previously attend. JMO[/quote]Nice info to know. Thanks for sharing. -
MerlionInGermany\" post_id=\"1951748\" time=\"1575596474\" user_id=\"2964:
That was my initial plan, same time slot ..was checking around early..too early schedule not out yet or one ctr slots rather quiet type and was told no problem to wait for a while..then hol starts now all not registered yet.
And like I’ve mentioned some time ago, some people need specific timing to coordinate with younger siblings tuition, or piano or sports etc. Also those who continue with the tuition centers where they had their pri sch tuition. -
Luxedream\" post_id=\"1951717\" time=\"1575587024\" user_id=\"98340:
DD1 started sec 1 with zero tuition. Along the way, teacher called to say she needed help for her Lang Arts so I called this popular center and was told Sat/Sun slots all full and for selected weekdays left only the 7.30pm-9.30pm.
So from Sec 1 (April) onwards, I was put on waitlist till Sec 2, then I managed to get a weekend slot!!!
DD1’s class full of boys. For her class of 12 (max class size), 9 are from RI/HCI. Thus, students from top schools do attend tuition. Top schools can produce fantastic A-level results partly because their parents also very generous in providing quality tuition to assist their child along the way. -
mengsan\" post_id=\"1951745\" time=\"1575595894\" user_id=\"31254:
Look at the names of kids already know their parents are Chinese thoroughbred, they speak and live Chinese, how to compare results like that?? I bet they no need go Chinese tuition will get same results, must as well spend time on more meaningful Dos[/quote]Some are names w/o surname of our SC kids.
Have you all tried 华艺学院? They’ve centres at Jurong East, West Coast (near Nan Hua) & Sin Ming (bear RI). They ground students well & have consistent excellent results. More importantly, they teach more than just textbook & incl values & help motivate kids to look ahead. They organise sharing sessions by past students (学哥学姐) to Share their learning journey) to inspire each other.Estéema\" post_id=\"1951725\" time=\"1575591795\" user_id=\"66413:
[quote=MrsKiasu post_id=1951718 time=1575588871 user_id=43981]
So we are behind :sad:
Note : I do not own this tuition centre (lol, I’ve not no such ability lah) & hv no other vested interests. Just sharing a good place that helps our kids better than 汪老师 we previously attend. JMO
IMO, if ure looking at T-score per se, it’s scores for all 4 subjects. If a child achieves high scores (irrespective of country of origin), it’s admirable for these kids efforts. Not all SG kids do well in the English language besides being weak in the Chinese language due to lack in Chinese family speaking exposure. So, I’m glad these kids showed overall good achievements. I don’t grudge them. I’m also thankful PRC teachers avail & dedicate themselves to teach the Chinese language to our kids, so we retain our language & culture & hopefully use it well as China raise in economic power.
Many of these teachers sank roots in SG for more than 18-20 years and hv naturalised, their kids are Singaporeans (whether cher married local, ang mohs or their homeland sweethearts). Many of my scientists ex-colleagues hv kids tt refuse to return to China coz they just love Spore & their friends here. I didn’t forget my parents & grandparents were immigrants fr China before, tho I’m pure-bred Spore kid.
I won’t go back to arguments abt PRC kids unless I can single out those selfish fellows & can claim I am purely not selfish by human nature. I’m not pure. Nor am I perfect. So, I don’t judge others with tinted glass. I wld like to make more frds & hv more frds to build this place up together for future generations. Open my mind more & just be happy & contented. -
lee_yl\" post_id=\"1951763\" time=\"1575598813\" user_id=\"17023:
On the last point, same. My kid’s EL tuition class is comprised mainly of RG, NY, HC, RI, she is the only one from her school in that tuition class. And when she goes for weekday replacement class, it is the same “composition”. Weekday class, so can see sch uniform even though unfamiliar students.
DD1 started sec 1 with zero tuition. Along the way, teacher called to say she needed help for her Lang Arts so I called this popular center and was told Sat/Sun slots all full and for selected weekdays left only the 7.30pm-9.30pm.Luxedream\" post_id=\"1951717\" time=\"1575587024\" user_id=\"98340:

So from Sec 1 (April) onwards, I was put on waitlist till Sec 2, then I managed to get a weekend slot!!!
DD1’s class full of boys. For her class of 12 (max class size), 9 are from RI/HCI. Thus, students from top schools do attend tuition. Top schools can produce fantastic A-level results partly because their parents also very generous in providing quality tuition to assist their child along the way. -
Merlion,
Reminds me s’times we just want our kids to be engaged learning with others rather than develop poor habits with tech gadgets.
Sounds to me like parents who keep kids in tuition are helping their kids brains keep working & regular oiling helps retain better their learning. Also, keeping them exposed to other peers does motivate them to perform well, rather than leaving them home & no see competition in sight. But har, we parents are conflicted to balance their independence or nip dependency on tuition at teenage right? -
newbieks\" post_id=\"1951744\" time=\"1575595892\" user_id=\"178749:
Sometimes in a state of euphoria, parent just rattle off the good news whether it’s relevant or not 😂. Usually I take all these tuition centres results announcement with a pinch of salt unless they can show statistics like % of students scoring A* etc...
Many tuition centres seems to have the practice of calling students up, asking for grades and t-scores, some just within an hour after the results are released. While I understand (and do reveal) grade of the particular subject which my child is having tuition at that centre, I do not understand (and thus will not reveal) why they need to collect tscore, and have the right to publish such data on their website. What's your take on this?
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.