All About Overseas Education
slmkhoo\" post_id=\"1957756\" time=\"1578369905\" user_id=\"28674:
I’m not sure the details of fees tho I wld expect poly credits are worthwhile if the family hv little extra cash. Those JCU, SIM, etc May hv to pay higher fees & no govt subsidies or bursary? No idea.
Aren't there some? Like those foreign unversities which tie up with SIM, MDIS or PSB? And there are universities like James Cook as well. I haven't looked recently, but I'm fairly sure quite a few of those tie-ups have options to do a year or so at the \"home\" campus.
Also SG Campus exposure very different, esp the learning engagements & teaching style. -
MyPillow\" post_id=\"1957758\" time=\"1578370784\" user_id=\"70594:
I think students of all faculties may apply to go on such overseas exchanges. Not all do, for various reasons, and it's not compulsory.
anyway quite a few faculty of NUS/NTU students are going overseas UK/US for a term or two study -
Estéema\" post_id=\"1957759\" time=\"1578371251\" user_id=\"66413:
No subsidies or bursaries. And the exposure will be different from studying the whole course overseas, but would pretty much similar to the 2+1 yr programmes you mentioned earlier.
I’m not sure the details of fees tho I wld expect poly credits are worthwhile if the family hv little extra cash. Those JCU, SIM, etc May hv to pay higher fees & no govt subsidies or bursary? No idea.slmkhoo\" post_id=\"1957756\" time=\"1578369905\" user_id=\"28674:
Aren't there some? Like those foreign unversities which tie up with SIM, MDIS or PSB? And there are universities like James Cook as well. I haven't looked recently, but I'm fairly sure quite a few of those tie-ups have options to do a year or so at the \"home\" campus.
Also SG Campus exposure very different, esp the learning engagements & teaching style. -
Estéema\" post_id=\"1957759\" time=\"1578371251\" user_id=\"66413:
Estee any exp from ur kids to share on overseas education?
I’m not sure the details of fees tho I wld expect poly credits are worthwhile if the family hv little extra cash. Those JCU, SIM, etc May hv to pay higher fees & no govt subsidies or bursary? No idea.slmkhoo\" post_id=\"1957756\" time=\"1578369905\" user_id=\"28674:
Also SG Campus exposure very different, esp the learning engagements & teaching style.
i too will like to have exposure of able to spend abt one yr in overseas campus - such learning are not provided in local big uni (nus/ntu) -
MyPillow\" post_id=\"1957768\" time=\"1578371782\" user_id=\"70594:
NUS/NTU/SMU all have overseas exchange programmes where students can apply to study overseas for 1-2 semesters. And if you are willing to pay more fees, universities like James Cook and Curtin (and probably others) also have study abroad options for students based in their Singapore campuses.
i too will like to have exposure of able to spend abt one yr in overseas campus - such learning are not provided in local big uni (nus/ntu) -
slmkhoo\" post_id=\"1957773\" time=\"1578372348\" user_id=\"28674:
thats good. the total cost will still be more manageable to most compared to a Full 3 yrs overseas (fees + living expenses) - more young adults are able to work in home ground n pay for a degree prg, with a year or two overseas exposure
NUS/NTU/SMU all have overseas exchange programmes where students can apply to study overseas for 1-2 semesters. And if you are willing to pay more fees, universities like James Cook and Curtin (and probably others) also have study abroad options for students based in their Singapore campuses.MyPillow\" post_id=\"1957768\" time=\"1578371782\" user_id=\"70594:
i too will like to have exposure of able to spend abt one yr in overseas campus - such learning are not provided in local big uni (nus/ntu)
During my time, Aussie overseas students are allowed to work 20 hours per week. Tax is deducted upfront. Students can find work within campus (I was doing librarian work one year & the rest at a co-op shop. Vacation time there are plenty of chinese restaurants hiring PT. You get higher rate if u agree to unreported tax, but min wage if u prefer record yr tax. Most students get entire tax deduction back at the end of year as most times it falls under $20K p.a. So tax exempt. Maybe that’s why most students alsobtake the chance yobtour round Australia before heading home for adult worklife.
Pls remind yr kids discrimation is REAL (I think everywhere incl SG). I tried calling many Aussie companies for part-time or short-term work incl The Australian Times. They’re happy chatting with u until they asks for details like yr name & country of origin, etc. Aussies back then are not well travelled & cant distinguish Chinese, Vietnamese, Japanese, etc. They just lump all as similar skin Chinese. All those who told me “We’ll get on touch with you again”, nvr even asks for my number before hanging up. :roll:
Just sharing some interesting stuff tt parents will nvr find out fr their kids what they’ve been up to as they navigate student life & manage their homesickness & loneliness.
Sch dorms do not allow more than 2 pax to a room, but policing & implementation is not stringent. I happened to stay in a unit with 6 other housemates, clean & nice Aussie & M’sian, Jap & Korean girls. But my next unit is very happening. Everyone of 6 smuggle in their bfrds & those awlful ‘noice’ really distract one fr concentrating on completing proj or prep for exams & the walls are thin.
On the positive side, my housemates were a lot of fun - we had our cook-ins on weekends & almost every nite is like a cultural nite - sushi, Don, bibibap, kimchi, custard puddings, etc. We bake & somehow for me, I was motivated to make my first carrot cake fr scratch & share the food I missed so much. So it was fun to shop for those ingredients together coz the Aussie girls drive whilst I cldn’t get ard w/o a car. Shops are far away & getting daily food for cooking can be a big issue if u’re the shy type who won’t ask for help.
One young Indo Chinese boy (literally boy coz parents bought his way to a uni place thro some connection back those years). His driver’s license also bought. He offered me rides & tried to persuade me to stay in his house (parents bought) coz the other batch of HK girls left & nobody cook his dinner. I dare not take his rides lah. He’ll persuade his parents for constant supply of thousand here & there for his ‘project’ but used it to fix nice car bums & stereo.
Ano SG girl wld dye her hair purple & green but just after Oct exams wld borrow money fr me to dye it black. “Why do u wanna waste money dying back just after 2 mths?”. Her reply : “Oh I like to look like those aussies but I can’t go home for vacation this look, mum will kill me!”. One boy came to me one day to ask for help to incl him in my weekend activities. I told him I’m fine but not sure if he minds coz I’ll go church on Sunday morning before timsum with my frds (mostly HK & M’sia frds). He says he don’t mind coz better than getting tempted to spend time at casinos. I asked him how long he usually spend his time there - “It’s not time. I’ve lost abt $700-900 each game & almost lost all my sch fees”. Many more stories of kids unwittingly/innocently drag to belief of sorts - Jehovah Witnesses, Hari Krishna, etc as some of these wld help to finance the students or ppl offering free housing. Those who are immature, weak in resolve, etc wld be easily drawn in.
Many of my gfrds, except one, broke up with their foreign bfrds once reality sets in. I’ve one who kept pining to go HK to reunite with him. But huh, he came fr a filfthy rich family & mum nose high up. Told her to wake up but she won’t still thinking he’s faithful. Sigh!
I had interesting nice NZ geologist in the making but nvr took the plunge. Guess, my head was in the ground then. Not very adventurous, even with HK guys coz their culture very fast & dynamic gogetter type. But we all remain as very good frds as I travel regional & North Asia for my work. Imagine we always hv a bunch of us at Kai Tak then one trip I leave fr KT & return fr Shanghai into Chek Lup Kok! In Beijing, was grateful to my coursemate (we both took Intl Finance together) who helped me get ard & collect labour law practices (was very valuable to know how to get round then).
Overall, it’s good to hv some exposure if yr child mature enuf to be on independent track of learning. Good to wie yr kids before they embark on homeaway edn.
MKS, MP, hope u’re not bored with so much details. You asked & I’m happen to be waiting for my FIL to complete dialysis. Lots of time to kill. These are just some snapshots of my couple of years’ stay in Australia. :evil: -
slmkhoo\" post_id=\"1957773\" time=\"1578372348\" user_id=\"28674:
Overseas exchanges are quite common in the local unis. And as slmkhoo mentioned, 1-2 semesters is not uncommon. I don't think it's that recent a thing either. A family friend spent 1 year in England while pursuing her law degree in NUS about 15-20 years ago?
NUS/NTU/SMU all have overseas exchange programmes where students can apply to study overseas for 1-2 semesters. And if you are willing to pay more fees, universities like James Cook and Curtin (and probably others) also have study abroad options for students based in their Singapore campuses.MyPillow\" post_id=\"1957768\" time=\"1578371782\" user_id=\"70594:
i too will like to have exposure of able to spend abt one yr in overseas campus - such learning are not provided in local big uni (nus/ntu)
Dd in NUS has an option to do a semester overseas. We need to foot return airfares, accommodation and food. We are still thinking about it.
starlight1968sg\" post_id=\"1957813\" time=\"1578387530\" user_id=\"14025:
If she is keen, go for it! It's a very enriching experience, especially for someone who has not studied outside Singapore before. She will benefit from the cross-cultural experience, needing to be more independent, coping with differences in climate, etc. Cost-wise, it's very \"worth it\" as a learning experience as you still only pay Singapore fees. I'm assuming that you can afford it or you wouldn't even consider it. You could also require your daughter to foot some of the cost from her savings or future earnings.
Dd in NUS has an option to do a semester overseas. We need to foot return airfares, accommodation and food. We are still thinking about it.
My daughter in NTU refuses to even consider such an exchange (she won't even consider staying in hostel in Singapore!) and we won't push her too much because of her special needs. My younger one is really enjoying her stay overseas, notwithstanding the fact that she's probably seen some of the things Esteema mentioned!
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.