zac's mum\" post_id=\"1958251\" time=\"1578568782\" user_id=\"53606:[quote=\"zac's mum\" post_id=1958251 time=1578568782 user_id=53606]
Hm... how should I put it? Say Manjusri 188. If you are from the Maha B and you score 199, and then go back to Manjusri. Vs, if you are from another pri sch and score 199, while you cant get into Manjursi and end up in another school, it doesn’t make any difference at all. So such a safety net is like no safety net.MerlionInGermany\" post_id=\"1958247\" time=\"1578567538\" user_id=\"2964:Safety net is to catch the kid in case he/she turns out not to be the “can study” kind. Like mine lor.
If can study kind then can use T score go to any better secondary school mah.
What puzzles me is those affiliated secondary schools with high COP. That’s not a safety net at all. -
MerlionInGermany\" post_id=\"1958259\" time=\"1578573216\" user_id=\"2964:
zac's mum\" post_id=\"1958251\" time=\"1578568782\" user_id=\"53606:[quote=\"zac's mum\" post_id=1958251 time=1578568782 user_id=53606]
Hm... how should I put it? Say Manjusri 188. If you are from the Maha B and you score 199, and then go back to Manjusri. Vs, if you are from another pri sch and score 199, while you cant get into Manjursi and end up in another school, it doesn’t make any difference at all. So such a safety net is like no safety net.It’s more like this:
If from Maha Bodhi and score 199, then you are free to go another school that accepts 199 score.
Safety net is for those from Maha Bodhi who score 188 lah. Can go Manjusri with 188. Cos I don’t think they can find another school willing to taking them in with 188... -
zac's mum\" post_id=\"1958262\" time=\"1578574945\" user_id=\"53606:[quote=\"zac's mum\" post_id=1958262 time=1578574945 user_id=53606]
Huh?
Safety net is for those from Maha Bodhi who score 188 lah. Can go Manjusri with 188. Cos I don’t think they can find another school willing to taking them in with 188...[/quote]
There are at least 30+ schools with Express COP at 188. FYI, Manjusri COP is also 188 last year. Therefore, there’s no benefit from being in its affiliated primary school.
Notwithstanding (the above bad example
), I’m of the minority that believed that while affiliation is basically a good safety net, it’s also over-rated. No offense to SMPS, old and current girls of SMSS, taking the school as an example: It’s COP for non- is 242 while for affiliate is 201 last year. While it seems like a big gap and a big discount, in reality, if my score as a non-affiliate is 220, it won’t be seen as a disappointment for missing out on SMSS. There are many viable and acceptable schools between 200 and 240.
The real benefit is only when you can use affiliation to enter a better sec school at a discount. Hence, MerlioninGermany’s point. CHS, SNGS, NYGH, SCGS etc are affiliation that makes sense. The rest - meh. -
floppy\" post_id=\"1958276\" time=\"1578581743\" user_id=\"97579:
Hmmm...nomenclature...This benefit is called “11.11 or 12.12 Sale - highly discounted offer” or sthg. It’s not called “safety net” concept.
The real benefit is only when you can use affiliation to enter a better sec school at a discount. Hence, MerlioninGermany’s point. CHS, SNGS, NYGH, SCGS etc are affiliation that makes sense. The rest - meh. -
zac's mum\" post_id=\"1958278\" time=\"1578582579\" user_id=\"53606:[quote=\"zac's mum\" post_id=1958278 time=1578582579 user_id=53606]
Yah. Not exactly “safety net” for the last para. That’s why I use “benefit”. Was about to make the edit to make it clearer but since you have already posted, I’ll just leave itfloppy\" post_id=\"1958276\" time=\"1578581743\" user_id=\"97579:Hmmm...nomenclature...This benefit is called “11.11 or 12.12 Sale - highly discounted offer” or sthg. It’s not called “safety net” concept.
I assume most people would understand the differences.
floppy\" post_id=\"1958224\" time=\"1578558279\" user_id=\"97579:
Base on the old T-score system, is the +3 (max) bonus point worth the effort of doing HCL?lee_yl\" post_id=\"1958243\" time=\"1578566280\" user_id=\"17023:[quote=lee_yl post_id=1958243 time=1578566280 user_id=17023]To get into St Marg secondary without affiliation, one needs to score ard 242, whereas affiliated girls can get in at 200?
For Chinese, can pump in tuition $$ to help improve the grades but affiliation discount cannot be bought with $$.
The advantage of going SAP primary under new AL system I suppose is, because many SG kids dislike Chinese and find Chinese very hard to score well (zuo wen/oral/compre etc), like what Floppy said, 耳熟目染, can help the kids to achieve a better AL banding for Chinese. Esp for those aiming for IP, must do well in chinese.
Unless taking CL or HCL makes no diff to the kid, I feel it's 100x easier to be less careless or study harder to gain the extra 1 or 2 marks from each of the other subjects for the +3 points.
lee_yl is right. Many SG kids dislike chinese...donch understand why. I have friends who are chinese 'chers, or one half of parents is PRC...same complaint. -
MerlionInGermany\" post_id=\"1958247\" time=\"1578567538\" user_id=\"2964:
Then again, in actual fact, most of the kids will be so-so too.
While affiliation basically seems like a good safety net, I always think if the sec sch is just so so, that sort of affiliation is not much a a safety net.
floppy\" post_id=\"1958276\" time=\"1578581743\" user_id=\"97579:
Agree on every single point!
Huh?zac's mum\" post_id=\"1958262\" time=\"1578574945\" user_id=\"53606:[quote=\"zac's mum\" post_id=1958262 time=1578574945 user_id=53606]....
Safety net is for those from Maha Bodhi who score 188 lah. Can go Manjusri with 188. Cos I don’t think they can find another school willing to taking them in with 188...
There are at least 30+ schools with Express COP at 188. FYI, Manjusri COP is also 188 last year. Therefore, there’s no benefit from being in its affiliated primary school.
Notwithstanding (the above bad example
), I’m of the minority that believed that while affiliation is basically a good safety net, it’s also over-rated. No offense to SMPS, old and current girls of SMSS, taking the school as an example: It’s COP for non- is 242 while for affiliate is 201 last year. While it seems like a big gap and a big discount, in reality, if my score as a non-affiliate is 220, it won’t be seen as a disappointment for missing out on SMSS. There are many viable and acceptable schools between 200 and 240.
The real benefit is only when you can use affiliation to enter a better sec school at a discount. Hence, MerlioninGermany’s point. CHS, SNGS, NYGH, SCGS etc are affiliation that makes sense. The rest - meh.[/quote]
On a side note, I picked Manj cos it has no affiliation to JC, else it will never stop, cos there will be those who think going to GM can get them to AC. In theory yes. In reality, just go to AC and count how many are from GM. -
Nebbermind\" post_id=\"1958310\" time=\"1578615902\" user_id=\"15571:
Yes. So it makes no difference whether you have affiliation or not.
Then again, in actual fact, most of the kids will be so-so too.MerlionInGermany\" post_id=\"1958247\" time=\"1578567538\" user_id=\"2964:
While affiliation basically seems like a good safety net, I always think if the sec sch is just so so, that sort of affiliation is not much a a safety net.

MerlionInGermany\" post_id=\"1958312\" time=\"1578616695\" user_id=\"2964:
Right!
Yes. So it makes no difference whether you have affiliation or not.
Perhaps it's a popular consideration coz only a small % of schools have affiliation.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.
Popular Topics