Corona Virus Disease (COVID-19) Updates

-41 Posts 207 Posters 1.8m Views 1 Watching
    • laughingcatL Offline
      laughingcat

When DS1 heard it, he was super angry. I have never see him flared up so angrily. He has never missed school for more than 1 day in school per year before.

• EstéemaE Offline
        Estéema

MyPillow\" post_id=\"1961508\" time=\"1580532495\" user_id=\"70594:

It is everybody duty who stay in Spore to be vigilant , dun act Blur when one is not well or have contacts with related cases

*Summary from One FM 91.3 Interview with Dr Leong Hoe Nam, Infectious Disease Specialist.*

• Golden Rule – Don’t touch your FACE. Your face is sacred.
        • SINGAPORE is ready. SINGAPORE will survive mass transmission better than most countries. Singapore is really well prepared for 2019-nCoV virus outbreak. We have plans for all scenarios.
        • Local transmission is almost guaranteed. And likely to happen soon. Avoid big groups and events when local transmissions start.
        • Kiasu-ism may hamper our effectiveness in fighting infections.
        • Do not overload hospitals with common ailments.
        • Prolonged exposure to infected person increases risk of infection.
        • Virus can stay alive on surfaces for 30 to 60 minutes. Wash tables with detergent and water.
        • Touching infected surfaces and then touching face increases risk of infection.
        • Casual high-5 followed by washing of hands reduces risk of infection.
        • Use sanitisers with alcohol. Keep hands dry. Sanitisers do not work if your hands are wet. Dry your hands.
        • Wash hands with soap and water before wearing masks.
        • Handshakes can pass virus if the infected person has touched his nose.
        • No effective supplements but Vitamin D (not really proven conclusively) may help prevent development of pneumonia
        • 3 ply masks better than 2 ply ones. Wear with blue side facing out.
        • Mask protects others from infected wearer and protects wearer from viruses from the outside.
        • N95 masks work but it is uncomfortable and results in wearer adjusting mask often, increasing risk of infection.
        • Do not touch any part of your face before washing your hands. Your face is sacred. Flinging your hair against face increases risk of contamination.
        • Avoid large crowd such as large exercise classes.
        • Cn2019 can spread even if infected person shows no symptoms.
        • 3-4% fatality rate but rate is likely to come down.
        • Visiting clinics - do not touch face and avoid touching chairs etc unnecessarily.
        • Avoid seeking medical attention at Hospitals for minor colds etc to avoid overloading our healthcare systems.
        • Wearing caps increases risk of trapping viruses.
        MP,

His interview ‘live’ to go with yr summary.
        https://www.facebook.com/onefm913/videos/2916759611719451/

It’s really comforting to hear him explain things. He was a SARS survival himself & had been giving many many reassuring talks & how to handle our hygiene requirements to keep ourselves safe.

Saw a young pregnant mum & shared with her what Dr Leong said abt the thin white unprotective masks she was wearing & told her abt the 3-layered blue surgical masks. I was concern for her health

• 6 Offline
          6thisnthat9

my kids go student care normally but i had to take unplanned leave to fetch them from school, skip studentcare for now, though centre has directives from MSF, no diff from MOE.

kids want to go weekly nlb, still trying to dissuade them. postpone other enrichment classes, piano, dance etc

no choice, everyone has to adjust during this period.

• EstéemaE Offline
            Estéema

laughingcat\" post_id=\"1961513\" time=\"1580534110\" user_id=\"3309:

We did informed the school after my child told me. School teacher and principal were informed. Only a handful of parents did advised that parents on Wed and Thur, then came that statement from her. We gave up talking to her nicely. We leave it that way and let the school handle. That child missed school on Friday. Now the whole class is pending to be quarantine, to be confirm over the weekend. Siao liao.

Guess what some kids told me that this child even went to the same tuition on wed. Crazy right?
            Irresponsible PRC kiasuism. :spank:

• EstéemaE Offline
              Estéema

I let my child go for CL tuition as usual with PRC origins. Told DS to use masks. He text to say he’s the only one there today. 😉 Personalized attention.

• 6 Offline
                6thisnthat9

laughingcat\" post_id=\"1961511\" time=\"1580533609\" user_id=\"3309:

Estee, but these 3 students did returned from China recently leh. One of them was in my child's class. Yes I have to worry for my kid and others in the class as well.
                there will be kids who have not traveled but family came in from china, they still attend school. How? civic mindedness is not in their culture

• laughingcatL Offline
                  laughingcat

Some folks are simply over-sensitive to the extend of keep thinking other people 针对 these folks. Really?! At least think for the children and elderly. :stupid:

• lee_ylL Offline
                    lee_yl

MyPillow\" post_id=\"1961508\" time=\"1580532495\" user_id=\"70594:

• SINGAPORE is ready. SINGAPORE will survive mass transmission better than most countries. Singapore is really well prepared for 2019-nCoV virus outbreak. We have plans for all scenarios.
                    Survive from mass transmission? I am not sure.
                    I often wonder what would have happened to SG if China did not lockdown Wuhan and other cities during 春节.

On 23th Jan, I expressed my frustration in ME TIME thread because I was unable to get surgical masks at pharmacies, and to be honest, I still did not manage to buy them up till today.

Yesterday, my 90yo MIL had to visit the clinic as she was feeling unwell. We managed to dig out last few surgical masks for her. The mask was manufactured in 2016, no expiry date printed though, don’t care, just use.

The thermal scans at airport proven not effective to identify those virus carriers at airports and if Wuhan was not locked down before CNY, I don’t dare to imagine the consequences.

Guess PRCs bought a lot of masks (by cartons!) and sent back to China? I can understand cos they are more in need than us. I can only say that on my part, maybe I should have been more kiasu a bit. Shouldn’t wait until masks, hand sanitizers, etc. already out of stock, then go queue for these items.

Parent

.zeit\" post_id=\"1961502\" time=\"1580526664\" user_id=\"171271:

I watched the White House presser on FB just now.
                      [youtube=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ywiLsZZdX5A][/youtube]

Dr Anthony Fauci (National Institute of Allergy & Infectious Diseases) of the 2019-nCoV TaskForce explained why this isn't quite the same as influenza pandemic at 3:20s and the diff of testing if someone was infected 22:18s.

Later on, Robert Ray Redfield Jr (Director of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention) at 23:38s also spoke about the asymptomatic trends they have observed in the few US confirmed cases thus far.

There are too many unknowns about 2019-nCoV, so our govt (and US+Japan) has done the right thing to bar entry of any nationality who has travelled to any part of mainland China in the last 14 days.
                      Seems like some people want to see actual community spread before getting alarmed.

Sad!

Parent

laughingcat\" post_id=\"1961506\" time=\"1580529348\" user_id=\"3309:

Since school reopens after CNY, I was super stressed the last 3 days but yet on the other hand, have to put up with the brave front. There are folks totally ignore MOE precautionary 14 days LOA. I don't know what to say about these parents. Ignorance or purely selfish? Now can only pray for the next 14 days from this weekend, nothing explosive news.
                        Govt should have upgraded the 14-day LOA to Quarantine Order which has force of Law.

These irresponsible people are simply irresponsible or stupid, or both?

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 1 / 1