Corona Virus Disease (COVID-19) Updates

-41 Posts 207 Posters 1.8m Views 1 Watching
    • chenlaoshiC Offline
      chenlaoshi

Please keep him in your prayers.

https://i.imgur.com/aXTlEpu.jpg\">

tutormum

starlight1968sg\" post_id=\"1964269\" time=\"1582235414\" user_id=\"14025:

Coolkidsrock2\" post_id=\"1964267\" time=\"1582234646\" user_id=\"48901:

Other insurers are also covering. Should have received the SMS.

It seems most if not all insurers are providing this coverage on covid-19. Which insurer doesn't?

Checked with one of my insurance agents, he said if you have insured with more than 1 company, you can claim from everyone of them including the banks which offer free insurance. It's money that you won't wish to get but nice to know you are covered especially for those unemployed. 🙏 🙏

• NebbermindN Offline
          Nebbermind

MyPillow\" post_id=\"1964328\" time=\"1582263700\" user_id=\"70594:

tats true
          BUT...but ..but maybe film seprately then digitised becomes not sincere interview leow ;没有真实感 feel :rotflmao:
          these days, whichever way you do, people will still pick bone from egg 🤷

• lee_ylL Offline
            lee_yl

phtthp\" post_id=\"1964310\" time=\"1582254897\" user_id=\"35251:

.zeit,

you mentioned in above, \"So deal with his beng-ness and code-switched English and move on\" ?

Read below

because

this is how some fellow Singaporeans feel about him

If our Founder Mr Lee Kuan Yew is still alive Today 2020, Mr Lee will NOT say such thing, because
            Mr Lee is very careful with speech, when he was alive

the person below, should not mention nor drag in other country [places] such as HONG KONG, even if he want to scold Singaporeans ! Basic respect, for other country citizens

In primary school, during Chinese Civics lessons, \"hao gong min\", didn't lao shi Teacher teach All Primary 1 students to show respect to school teachers, to authority in school, to elders [including parents, grandparents] in your family ?

https://www.theonlinecitizen.com/2020/02/20/singlish-is-not-the-damning-thing-about-minister-chans-leaked-dialogue-but-him-looking-down-on-people-whom-he-is-supposed-to-serve/
            Wa, the saga not over yet ah? 😂

LKY will tell you the “hard truth” but LKY will not demean you. My dad says CCS speech far from LKY’s standard.

• JadedfoxJ Offline
              Jadedfox

The other thing Mr Chan so proudly spoke about was how he bravely decided to issue 4 masks per household to calm Singaporeans down. Really? Deciding to issue 4 masks per household was a tough difficult decision to make for a general? If that was difficult for him, can we really depend on him for even bigger decisions that involve bigger risks such as when Singapore goes to war?

If calming nerves through the issue of masks was important, why didn’t he stand out to calm our nerves on the night when it mattered?

A good general rallies his soldiers at the critical moment when it matters. A bad general on the other hand, appears days after the battle is over, not to encourage his soldiers but to put them down even more.

More at https://tinyurl.com/wfkdn7w

• lee_ylL Offline
                lee_yl

tutormum\" post_id=\"1964197\" time=\"1582182185\" user_id=\"12573:

If your child did something wrong do you scold him by saying \"I warn you not to repeat what you have just done or else you will get caning from me\" or as common parents do by saying \"oi stop or I whack you\". :pokeeye:
                Emm... But we are not his children, in fact, we are his paymasters, 😄

Think we shouldn’t CONFUSE the use of Singlish with the use of derogatory terms. You mean behind closed door, you use words like “idiots”, “suckers”, you don’t xia suey me” on your kids?
                Behind closed doors, If my hubby uses such words on me, I will give him a flying kick! 😂

• Coolkidsrock2C Offline
                  Coolkidsrock2

lee_yl\" post_id=\"1964335\" time=\"1582266376\" user_id=\"17023:

tutormum\" post_id=\"1964197\" time=\"1582182185\" user_id=\"12573:

If your child did something wrong do you scold him by saying \"I warn you not to repeat what you have just done or else you will get caning from me\" or as common parents do by saying \"oi stop or I whack you\". :pokeeye:

Emm... But we are not his children, in fact, we are his paymasters, lol.

Think we shouldn’t CONFUSE the use of Singlish with the use of derogatory terms. You mean behind closed door, you use words like “idiots”, “suckers”, you don’t xia suey me” on your kids?
                  Behind closed doors, If my hubby uses such words on me, I will give him a flying kick! lol

For some couples, behind closed door, sometimes the cut in the words are sugar-coated.

• lee_ylL Offline
                    lee_yl

MyPillow\" post_id=\"1964290\" time=\"1582249868\" user_id=\"70594:

lee_yl\" post_id=\"1964281\" time=\"1582244145\" user_id=\"17023:

https://postimg.cc/ZWbP1t8V

Last night I happened to watch an interview between Lianhe Wanbao and SG 1st confirmed Covid-19 patient who was recently discharged from NCID.

Just bemused why both parties need to wear mask. 😂

one just recoverd - scared of external environment or the polluted studio
                    One scared that there may be some ramnant left from the patient
                    😂

OT
                    actually those 中华商会 reps/bosses/sme lady/male bosses dun lool like hokkien pie to me, thought they are educated enough in this era. I know some ITE kids working, speak reasonable EL, no need to mix & din mix unbearing dialects that maybe sounds too crude n blunt most time. No more hokkein soldiers la! even ITE is already moving to world class education status. its still v wrong choice verbal phrases , now all over in youtube ! some taiwanese (colleagues/frens) also laughed at our drama 🤷 :siao:

Funny hor. I showed my hub the snapshot and asked him why both sides wore masks, he just laughed.

Oh dear, :lol:
                    True lah, not suited for today’s age and time. He can do work one but maybe should talk less...

OT:
                    If it’s a staged leak then just leak the part about him asking employers to keep staff to ride out the Covid-19 storm. A kinder and more visionary perspective that would be more appealing? Hmm...

• EstéemaE Offline
                      Estéema

My family speak Mandarin when we do not want our helper to be embarrassed & yet teach kids sth appropriate that a diff culture may not hv been used to. In context, it’s not meant for her to ustand nor was our intent to criticize her per se. We want my kids to ustand what is right for our culture to do. If ever any family repeat it & explain things to her, I wld not know if she’ll feel embarrassed, indignant or angry thinking we are criticizing her. Certainly no intention to sow any discord btwn us & cause her grieve and unhappiness.

It’s a leaked piece of work by a rebel amongst their group. Whilst we salivate going thro what was discussed like all kpo, the bz community u’stood what their roles in cooperating as leaders to stagger their staff-force, prioritize use of masks, split distribution of masks/sanitizers, watch & help connect outside suppliers, be cool in communicating with outside suppliers, not jack prices to profit & reduce panic in our community. Given to them in the most down-to-earth lingo and give them the empowerment to help reduce panic, control ‘rampage’ … Yes, at times behind close doors, DH & I spoke our lingo abt kids behaviour & how to help correct tt “ngen pei” attitude which is “stupidity” in the way the little kid narrowly sees things! Same same FIL behaving like a child, refused to cooperate with Docs & eat 2 BIG lunches at 11am & then ano at 1pm. I’m sure those with difficult elderly at their wits ends wld at some private moments let off remarks of “XXXXXX”, but is that for outsiders to criticize our filial piety to our elderlies?

It’s tough being a parent handling 1, 3 or 5 kids; it’s tough handling a population of millions midst presence of foreigners. There’ll be those who ustand, but there’ll be those who can see the forest fr the tree stump. I’m sorry s’times I feel the same way but guess hope everyone can be on the same page, united & not fragment Spore society.

When we start pointing fingers, we’re in the way of those who are doing their best for our community. Let’s not discourage & pick on style. It is NOT just abt masks prioritization, not just abt our health & life/limbs, but I see not just one leader but every able persons using their talents (civil servants, doc, CEOs, etc) balancing every angle of our societies needs - to contain, to treat, to explain, to plan, to curb, to strategize our economic bounce back. If we’re cohesive, we will be able to bounce back after this ‘suffering’ of body & mind affectations.

Even Wangyi with his country full of affected citizens with deaths higher than anywhere else says Panic is more scary than the disease itself.

And yes, if LKY were to handle this crisis, (based on his pattern of handling situations when he hv too many conflicting voices), he will just bull-dozer & get the right things done. Yes, those in the way will be asked to get out of the way (maybe I’m being kind & polite) and will not be consultative the way his successors had to manage some highly educated & vocal society with the man-in-street wondering what’s happening to their jobs & how to find the next meal or money to pay rent.

Let’s be united and get thro this, hold our voices & hands together AND get ready to bounce back once our visitors start rolling back, supplies starts coming in, spirit must be kept positive. If our leaders are shot down, we falter coz I don’t see any opposition able to hold the fort nor part pieces back together. They’ve only limited resources - an empty sounding gong. Let’s not be the stumbling block. We’ve more constructive things to do than quibble able raw styles (meant not for you & me but maybe those HK/PRC FTs behaving the silly way their relatives did back in HK & China) but our bzmen specific group. I’ve no place to tell them how beng or not beng they shld be. I can’t stand the lingo or tone, I don’t peep or eavesdrop. Peace.

• 6 Offline
                        6thisnthat9

Well I for one out of 5m ppl or 5.something, choose not to be judgemental on one who acted in interest of sg ppl, of the choice of nouns, pronouns or adjectives…I meant by, not pay overpriced item while looking for alternative ways, prioritise what is most critical, our fontline, etc etc. VS not difficult for one to get experts in speech to paint a good flowery speech. Who dares to compare any w our founding F?

Behind closed door, its between or among those inside, Nothing to do w rest of us

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 1 / 1