Corona Virus Disease (COVID-19) Updates

-41 Posts 207 Posters 1.8m Views 1 Watching
    • MrsKiasuM Offline
      MrsKiasu

Estéema\" post_id=\"1965565\" time=\"1583114291\" user_id=\"66413:

MrsKiasu\" post_id=\"1965553\" time=\"1583101615\" user_id=\"43981:

yesterday we went out to amk, carpark at open space still full, can find about 4 or 5 empty tables at the shop during dinner time, the crowd considered ok I feel..At ntuc, around 5 pax in most queue, think should be ok also ba.

Now they have this thing to be hanged around the neck to ward of 'virus' within 1m wor (to replace face mask)..all in Jap, I didn't buy. Anybody using it and how is it? was told can use for 1 mth.

Was at a famous Tim Sum restaurant after FIL’s cremation. The entire restaurant alr full with long waiting queues at 11am alr. We spotted a few tables with angmo families. They look smiley & guess they feel very safe in Spore. Nobody else wear masks except all the numerous staff serving guests. Business as usual. Feels good that Singaporeans can feel so safe to conduct our lives as normal with all the effort of contact tracing, assuring us there’s no community spread that cannot be contained.

I salute those who work tirelessly & intelligently to contact trace & detect those who tried to lie & cover up their movements within our community. Can’t imagine if we took those who lied at face value & we wld end up just as clueless why there are so many new cases still occurring. I u’stand how WHO wld be impressed with our efforts as a country coz it’s so well co-ordinated with a team doing contact-tracing, a team testing those who were in contact & treating those found positive & teams who serve quarantine orders, teams who remind us no need to panic but/hoard & teams who mobilize others to keep our spirit positive & high, etc.

We’re staying home most times with home cooked food. But refreshing to know some F&B still doing well & provide an avenue for Times when we’re too drained to cook a big meal for extended families. Thankful!

oh your fil...my condolences to you and your family, esteema :hugs:

I started to bring kids out past 2 weekends. Outside looks pretty normal, only minority wearing mask. We dont wear mask.

Got to slowly start resume life as per normal but just the tuition side..am still thinking lor. Last night dd2 brought out her Chi compo for me to sign asked me not to be mad with her (hmm but I dont consciously remember being mad with her leh)..Then we talked, I asked if she needs tuition? Initially says no then think again told me maybe for Chi, Eng no need..hmm I m here like should I wait for 1 more term leh :scratchhead:

• EstéemaE Offline
        Estéema

MyPillow\" post_id=\"1965568\" time=\"1583114787\" user_id=\"70594:

dunno lei ,neighbor M not many cases or dun have much time to check ( busy with the politics issues)
        Neighbor I - better still , ZERO case - no bother to check lah :siam: all normal flu mah :roll:

S korea really poor thing now

We are small red dot - every thing is easier n can be controlled ,easier to reach out to public n mass
        For bigger countries, its gona take Tons of efforts to fight.
        US /italy/ france cases also increasing, their cities are quite dense n populated , easy for virus to spread at alarming rate
        That’s true. Small easier to plan & mobilize resources. Which means we’re small be very actively thinking ppl with many strong voices! 😓 No chances to make any mistakes, owise get clobbered left right & centre. :heresmyfish: Hv to be abv human to be perfect. Stress leh

But still, I’m thankful we did the right moves, rather than countries who spend time fight political battles or lay on laurels not do anything. Though to be big countries, but like a big family, still need to do sth & find some ways to do containment?

• EstéemaE Offline
          Estéema

MrsKiasu\" post_id=\"1965571\" time=\"1583115122\" user_id=\"43981:

oh your fil...my condolences to you and your family, esteema :hugs:

I started to bring kids out past 2 weekends. Outside looks pretty normal, only minority wearing mask. We dont wear mask.

Got to slowly start resume life as per normal but just the tuition side..am still thinking lor. Last night dd2 brought out her Chi compo for me to sign asked me not to be mad with her (hmm but I dont consciously remember being mad with her leh)..Then we talked, I asked if she needs tuition? Initially says no then think again told me maybe for Chi, Eng no need..hmm I m here like should I wait for 1 more term leh :scratchhead:
          Thank you MKS.

Help her make wise decision.

• MrsKiasuM Offline
            MrsKiasu

MyPillow\" post_id=\"1965568\" time=\"1583114787\" user_id=\"70594:

MrsKiasu\" post_id=\"1965563\" time=\"1583114234\" user_id=\"43981:

[quote=MyPillow post_id=1965561 time=1583113874 user_id=70594]

Numbers climb fast ! 😞

https://postimg.cc/p5PdGph2

:rahrah: more than half discharged in china..Spore not bad and woah Msia is the winner.. is it because most are old cases arh?

dunno lei ,neighbor M not many cases or dun have much time to check ( busy with the politics issues)
            Neighbor I - better still , ZERO case - no bother to check lah :siam: all normal flu mah :roll:

S korea really poor thing now

We are small red dot - every thing is easier n can be controlled ,easier to reach out to public n mass
            For bigger countries, its gona take Tons of efforts to fight.
            US /italy/ france cases also increasing, their cities are quite dense n populated , easy for virus to spread at alarming rate[/quote]yes I also think maybe just normal flu..actually proud we are considered 'in control' (am I correct? haha) as of now..country small and also our people good mah.. I think those just starting ones probably our about a month back situation.. got template of strategies to follow.. not too big a problem..hopefully..let's pray together all of us will get out of this episode soon 🙏

• EstéemaE Offline
              Estéema

🙏

• doodbugD Offline
                doodbug

The US is just experiencing the beginning of Covid-19.

https://twitter.com/surgeon_general/status/1233725785283932160?s=21&fbclid=IwAR01IqgkOEOJ9FMWTohRb0ueozWwAu5Tj_RFIXS4jAKhPv3RaTPvU3pPw-s

I wonder if the more tweets like that will induce even more panic buying as people now think/know/infer there is a mask shortage.

• . Offline
                  .010675zeit

starlight1968sg\" post_id=\"1965552\" time=\"1583101561\" user_id=\"14025:
                  My earlier ''theory''
                  .zeit\" post_id=\"1963878\" time=\"1582004277\" user_id=\"171271:[quote=.zeit post_id=1963878 time=1582004277 user_id=171271]Another interesting thing to note is pp don't usually don masks during business seminar makan sessions, product sales pitching, and praise sessions.
                  E-solutions consultants do move around to sell services to clients by speaking a lot. I can imagine the spittle landing on the keypad and screen. I don't know if it's the norm for these roving troubleshooters and salespersons to have so many external meetings, but the need for e-services must have gone up during this period.

I expect to see more cases in the coming weeks, as the Wizlearn folks had reportedly gone to a few stat boards like AIC (under MOH), Sport Singapore (under MCCY), Toa Payoh Hub (where banks, solicitors & lawyers, HDB are) and SAA (under CAAS). One of them worked at Asia Asset Recovery Pte Ltd which provides disposal and asset recovery service for government ministries, corporate MNCs, healthcare and beauty industry, universities and schools, but nothing was mentioned about him roving or hotdesking. Their Myanmar and Filipino domestic helpers have caught it too, so it's only about time we hear from the other family members. Case 101 & helper also went to an Eye Clinic at Ng Teng Fong.

I'm wonder if Case 106 is a Japanese lang teacher, a Jap travel industry staff or a Jap MNC staff. MOH did not say if he had gone back to Jap for hols, or if he had relatives from Jap visiting him here. According to MOH, three of the new cases withheld information. It is not known if any action will be taken against them.

We have to start watching out for those with Jap travel history:
                  Taiwan has 1 confirmed case (Taiwanese returning from Jap tour) + 1 other repatriated from Diamond Princess
                  Malaysia has 1
                  Thailand has 2

• . Offline
                    .010675zeit

chenlaoshi\" post_id=\"1965309\" time=\"1582870280\" user_id=\"162894:

.zeit\" post_id=\"1965300\" time=\"1582865965\" user_id=\"171271:

[quote=chenlaoshi post_id=1965232 time=1582821242 user_id=162894]:grphug:

chenlaoshi
                    just curious - do you wear a mask when giving home tuition? do you make your tutees wear a mask and sanitize their hands? Or if you go to tutee's home, do parents make you wear a mask and sanitize your hands? Do they need to provide a mask for you every week?

zeit,

I don't wear a mask when giving home/class tuition. Yeah, I use hand sanitizer instead since there's contact with teaching/writing materials and surfaces. Thus, I jumped at the chance when I saw https://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?f=1&t=95466&p=1964622&hilit=chenlaoshi#p1964606 since it would be good to be able to provide for the students too

A couple of my home tuition students already have the habit of putting on masks when they're having any slight cough/flu (prior to Covid-19). These students put on masks during each lesson now. As for the others, the situation is very much as 'per normal', with constant reminder of personal hygiene.

For my classes, other than using disinfectant spray/surface cleaner, I get the students to wash their hands before and after each lesson before they leave.

I decided against holding sch holiday workshops this March sch holiday and am exploring online learning options (suggestions are welcome! 😄 ). Not easy for CL - perhaps more suitable for oral component.[/quote]You must protect yourself. 😓

https://www.8world.com/news/singapore/article/covid19-sg-quarantine-1059206

• EstéemaE Offline
                      Estéema

DianeWong\" post_id=\"1965586\" time=\"1583123785\" user_id=\"182970:

It really is worrying. I am always worried when I go out esp with my family. Better to stay at home this coming days. :sad:
                      @ DianeWong Pls do not worry yourself ‘sick’. Just keep yourself happy, healthy & keep good hygiene with yr kids. Anxieties & worry makes us tense up, whilst doing sth positive/constructive helps u relax, get reliable info, think clearer & handle situation with confidence.

Yes, maybe good chance to cook at home & if can involve yr kids to observe u or help in simple food prep & bond with them for 15 min to half-hour. This will help them not get bored as u’re exposing them to sth new & useful lifeskills. I’m sure whilst u’re finishing up with cooking, they’ll be happy to run off do reading or artwork & draw you cooking in kitchen. 😉

Take care.

• . Offline
                        .010675zeit

doodbug\" post_id=\"1965582\" time=\"1583120497\" user_id=\"13281:

The US is just experiencing the beginning of Covid-19.

https://twitter.com/surgeon_general/status/1233725785283932160?s=21&fbclid=IwAR01IqgkOEOJ9FMWTohRb0ueozWwAu5Tj_RFIXS4jAKhPv3RaTPvU3pPw-s

I wonder if the more tweets like that will induce even more panic buying as people now think/know/infer there is a mask shortage.
                        The white Americans are buying cartons of bottled water, Lysol and Clorox products, but the Asian Americans are buying all that plus toilet paper. I think it's not just the PRCs; Americans and Europeans also drink bottled water!

3M is adding more production lines, according to Pence. In NZ, I saw mainly Asians queuing in the pictures.

Japan, Korea and Iran have seen some scary sudden spikes in no. of confirmed cases and deaths in recent days. Their govt have also ordered multiple town lockdowns (N.Italy), near-lockdown (Daegu and Cheongdo), highest* 'Red' alert in Korea + extended school break/school closures in all 3 countries.
                        .zeit\" post_id=\"1962633\" time=\"1581136203\" user_id=\"171271:
                        2. ...2003 SARS period when schools were closed for 10 days. Maybe they thought their kids will soon need to spend 10 days at home to eat and poop/pee.

4. ...put up a BCP - telecommuting, alternate day roster, split team arrangement, etc. So that means you have to take turns to work from home and thus need an extra ricebowl and more toilet paper, rice, etc. He who used to poop/pee in office now has to poop/pee at home.
                        *Korea CDC also has 4 threat alert levels (Blue, Yellow, Orange and Red). Highest alert level 4 = Red enables the govt to forcibly prevent public activities and order the temporary closure of schools.

http://www.cdc.go.kr/board.es?mid=a30402000000&bid=0030&act=view&list_no=140830&tag=&nPage=1
                        https://www.who.int/csr/don/21-january-2020-novel-coronavirus-republic-of-korea-ex-china/en/

Some weeks ago, Lawrence Wong had assured the public we won't be raising our alert level to Red, so that means schools will not be closed...unless you get 1 death like Taiwan or HK. :xedfingers:

In Singapore, you cannot simply \"deposit\" your school kid into a student care centre or childcare centre when the alert turns Red, if your child hasn't been enrolled in one at the start of academic term. There are headcount quotas imposed bcos of some fire & health safety guidelines and caregiver-to-student ratio criterion set for centres. It'll be quite a massive headache for double working parents or single parents with no parents or helper to support them.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 1 / 1

P1 Registration 2027 Changes
                        DSA Discussions and Strategies
                        SkillsFuture course recommendations