Corona Virus Disease (COVID-19) Updates

-41 Posts 207 Posters 1.8m Views 1 Watching
    • EstéemaE Offline
      Estéema

.zeit\" post_id=\"1973508\" time=\"1588309364\" user_id=\"171271:

Estéema\" post_id=\"1973422\" time=\"1588243270\" user_id=\"66413:

There’s only 1 brand of Tai San mee sua. Only today getting back my usual brand after failing to find any at SS or CS. MIL refuse any replacement so didn’t buy her share. Told her she’s gotta get use to substitute if there’s any. Same with bee hoon & pasta. Totally out of stock. Even Phoon Huat cleared out of tomato paste & sauce. Italy hasn’t get back their normal life. Australia is just in right lockdown tho theyve their own share of stubborn fun-loving/beach-loving live-in-the-moment blokes. Gotta make our own sub-std sauce. But find it liberating to learn to be independent.

You mean Tai Ann mee sua? Saw some at FairPrice Express (partner of Esso petrol kiosk).

https://postimg.cc/kRqFPKvr

The Italian pasta and sauces are back on the shelves. Saw plenty at NTUC as well as Isetan supermarket.

I think moving fwd, MTI needs to update our national stockpile! Quite a lot of young Singaporeans eat pasta, bread, burgers, wraps and assorted noodles. We are not really a rice nation, after PM educated people on the 'ills' of white rice! 😆

I've got some somen, ramen, udon, thick yellow mee, thick bee hoon, HK scallop noodles, Thai bee hoon, instant noodles and Tai Ann mee sua.

If cannot find mee sua, can substitute with somen but the latter is more expensive.

Thanks .zeit. Went to VivoCity NTUC, still can’t find Angel Hair pasta nor sauce. Empty shelves except one brand of tomato paste. Yes, the mee sua is back on shelves.

Not many varieties of vegetables except Nai bai & cabbages. Can’t find spinach or xiaobaicai. Good this I’ve got my chives, KangKong (2nd round of harvest) & kale ready for harvest before next Tues mkt trip.

No worries. We take this chance to buy yellow & white noodles fr the wet mkt & cook up diff recipes.

• MyPillowM Offline
        MyPillow

Spinach , Xiao bai - I bought in CS Today . Lots

Can’t find short pasta , wanted to mass cook n fridge them so kids can do own pasta lunch , stir in olive oil, herbs , chicken meat, eggs or sausages . I find difficult to get condensed soup, but today I found in CS too, except short pasta 😞
        I m on aglio nowadays so no need pasta sauces le. Left one bottle in fridge to cook sparingly .

• lee_ylL Offline
          lee_yl

slmkhoo\" post_id=\"1973562\" time=\"1588328138\" user_id=\"28674:

starlight1968sg\" post_id=\"1973541\" time=\"1588318225\" user_id=\"14025:

Are we on the right path?
          Other countries are on the recovery phase but we continue in our uncharted journey. There is no sign of improvement despite our massive testing.
          What went wrong?

I don't regard the high nos. of cases among FWs as a sign of things getting worse. Because of the large nos. that need to be tested, the authorities are playing catch-up with the figures. Most of these were likely to be infected already at the start of the CB, but weren't tested till recently. But since the authorities have separated out those likely to be infected even before testing, the spread should be much reduced since the CB started. With the 2-week SHN, the no. of infections will probably drop quite a bit from next week, and I believe the no. will continue to fall during the SHN extension.

If you look at the non-FWs, that no. has been decreasing, which is a good sign. The FWs are slower to follow this trend simply because of their living conditions, and possibly ignorance if the info didn't get to them earlier, or they couldn't understand the info because of language issues.

I do not think most of them had Covid-19 before CB started. Else how to explain, upon the lockdown, the first thing govt did was to quickly pull out the 8,000+ essential workers from all the dorms, from there, almost 8,000 of them weren’t sick!

Unless at that point in time among the 8000 essential workers drawn out, at least a few thousand of them were tested positive, then I believe most FWs already had Covid before CB started

• MrsKiasuM Offline
            MrsKiasu

these FWs one look like a test to us… and hope most of these guys are strong enough to fight the virus.

• . Offline
              .010675zeit

MyPillow\" post_id=\"1973611\" time=\"1588339099\" user_id=\"70594:
              A lot at Isetan. I bought 3 packets of penne, fusilli and macaroni. All cooking creams' are out at CS in my area, so I got my Bulla at Isetan too. Then at Scotts Square Finest, finally spotted Carbonara sauce on the shelves. Got 2 jars.

Aglio olio is the easiest!
              Condensed soup - Got a lot of Soup Spoon creams at petrol kiosks.
              Estéema\" post_id=\"1973576\" time=\"1588332714\" user_id=\"66413:[quote=Estéema post_id=1973576 time=1588332714 user_id=66413]Went to VivoCity NTUC, still can’t find Angel Hair pasta nor sauce. Empty shelves except one brand of tomato paste. Yes, the mee sua is back on shelves.

Not many varieties of vegetables except Nai bai & cabbages. Can’t find spinach or xiaobaicai. Good this I’ve got my chives, KangKong (2nd round of harvest) & kale ready for harvest before next Tues mkt trip.

No worries. We take this chance to buy yellow & white noodles fr the wet mkt & cook up diff recipes.
              I bought the last box of Barilla Angel Hair from NTUC. Don't really like Angel hair and spaghetti. Prefer linguine and fettucine. Bought 3rd last box of tagliatelle last week. Finished 1 box of lasagne 3 weeks ago.

I skip Nai Bai and Kangkong during this CB. I made Satay bee hoon without kangkong 2 days ago. Surprised that Golden Chef brand is quite authentic.

Yellow noodles are quite fattening. I only bought it cos I want to use up my instant mee rebus gravy and instant prawn mee paste.

Thick white noodles are meant for my instant laksa paste.

The FoodPanda/Deliveroo choices are so limited these days. Have the chefs been fired or put on NPL? Or maybe I don't like those restaurants.

NTUC now requires QR app or NRIC scanning at entrance and exit. Too troublesome! I'm going to Meidiya next to avoid the crowds.

• MrsKiasuM Offline
                MrsKiasu

I went to a CS in a mall yesterday…entering mall need to scan QR code then complete details…at CS entrance chked temperature and fill up details on manual form again. bring IC out for marketing.

Cloud Cloud

Been a few days, community cases still hovering around 10. If the cases does not go to low single digit, CB may be extended.

• starlight1968sgS Offline
                    starlight1968sg

Cloud Cloud\" post_id=\"1973639\" time=\"1588372385\" user_id=\"160688:[quote=\"Cloud Cloud\" post_id=1973639 time=1588372385 user_id=160688]
                    Been a few days, community cases still hovering around 10. If the cases does not go to low single digit, CB may be extended.[/quote]
                    With no imported cases, majority infected FWs being isolated, with stricter measures being implemented, how did the community get infected?
                    How did the FWs get infected and spread like wild fire? Who were the first few who got infected and spread to the rest in other dorms?

• 6 Offline
                      6thisnthat9

There are still many ppl moving about in the community. At 5 to 6pm on a PH, it didn’t feel like partial lockdown at all. The few of us don’t want to go out actually but no choice because duty calls. Then we still see ppl going out in a family of 4 with their family dog!

I think there is no other choice but to have a strict lockdown for a few days for ppl to understand.

I hate those ppl who walk so fast to pass everyone at supermarket. This is not social distancing. Everyone need to slow down!

• lee_ylL Offline
                        lee_yl

phtthp\" post_id=\"1973524\" time=\"1588314695\" user_id=\"35251:

lee_yl\" post_id=\"1973522\" time=\"1588314303\" user_id=\"17023:

2). Next, saliva “fly here fly there”. I am thinking this coming Hari Raya Pusa poses another risk! The people may still go visiting (we never know!!!!) See the yummy beef/chicken rendang prep by relatives, sure go take off their masks and try a bit...

When is Hari Raya ? 24 May

Today is 1 May (labor day)
                        This month, May, still under \"Circuit breaker\" lock-down
                        Malay cannot go house-visiting relatives. They can cook beef / chicken rendang, but only eat (consume) delicious food by themselves at home, within the same family household. Cannot even invite neighbour from next door, to come into your house to celebrate, because \"social distancing\"

think probably govt earlier forsee this 24 May Hari Raya.
                        Hence, continue to lock-down this month May, to reduce spread covid

================================

Those restaurants within shopping centre complex, still got business

But those restaurants located inside hotel, those that hold buffet or yum cha dim sum, poor business
                        Hotel fall under tourism category, will be one of those last (later) economic sectors, to open up

In theory, yes lah, not supposed to visit elders during CB. But who is there to enforce it on 24th May? I hope authorities can look into this. It only takes 3 days to start showing symptoms, so if not careful, before 1st June, the number of local community cases will rise from single digit back to double digit again.

Did PM mention we can dine in at Foodcourts and restaurants after 1st June? It is mandatory to wear mask at all times when out but Imagine at a Foodcourt, everyone is unmasked, eating and mingling again.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 1 / 1