Kite Flying
BlurBee:
Did you fly kite or jalan jalan? I heard no shade and shelter at all???ksi:
oh yes, my dd said almost everyone in her class claimed to hv been to marina barrage...:oops:
No worry.
I juz went last weekend 2.
Did you fly kite or jalan jalan? I heard no shade and shelter at all???

Just sharing my own experience. Yes, there is no shade or shelter up at the field area at Marina Barrage. The only shelter is downstairs where the cemented area is, but cannot fly kites from there!
Actually the big field at Marina Barrage is at level 3. Can take a lift up there. I blur blur walk up the slope & realise there is a lift. :stupid:
Level 2 is the exhibition hall & a cafe.
I went there because its my DD's school family day. Took the opportunity to go there see see look look. Too bad that day is a rainy day.
Level 1 has a small water playground. Juz water pool, no slide. My kids enjoyed playing there although it is small.
Overall is a good experience. Also learn something about the function of our city reservoir. -
ksi, and autumnbronze, specially for you as requested at the Playground last night .....
Tips about Marina Barrage :
1) be there early, the earlier you get there, the better your chance of reserving a spot at the very limited shaded area for your picnic.
2) there are 2 water coolers there, one on Level 1, and another on Level 3 at field area, so don't need to bring too many bottles of water.
3) There is an aircon gallery at Level 2. The kids were using that place as a hideout from the scotching sun every now and then, good idea :idea:
4) Parking at the public car park is free for the time being, not sure how long this would last.
Enjoy .... :love:
http://s23.photobucket.com/albums/b372/kitchenmaid/?action=view¤t=eafa8dc7.pbw -
:!: :!: :!: Maid :salute: :salute: :salute:
1. Your tips are very good!
2. Your picnic very high standard....the bread, bee hoon and the kueh...and the packaging.... :faint: Like packing for NDP
3. Your kites so lovely... I assume the opera, doraemon ones are yours?
4. Your photos are also so great! Makes the whole setting comes alive, I wish we were there! It sure looks hot too but there is this tiny area in the photo where one can hide in a row below to get some shade....that is the one u are referring to?
Now I die die must go to that place to fly kite once we are ready to set off..
Thanks so much for sharing... :udawoman: :udawoman: -
BlurBee:
Thanks Blurbee for sharing too...I used to think Marina Barrage is just one big field place....Now I know better...kekeke.Actually the big field at Marina Barrage is at level 3. Can take a lift up there. I blur blur walk up the slope & realise there is a lift. :stupid:
Level 2 is the exhibition hall & a cafe.
I went there because its my DD's school family day. Took the opportunity to go there see see look look. Too bad that day is a rainy day.
Level 1 has a small water playground. Juz water pool, no slide. My kids enjoyed playing there although it is small.
Overall is a good experience. Also learn something about the function of our city reservoir.
WOW WEE :!: :!:
Really a lot of preparation put in with regards to the scrumptious looking food :drool:
You baked all of those stuff like the buns etc right .... and the bee hoon ... wah to die for leh .... :drool: :drool:
Kites look fantastic .... which ones were yours/your family???
The photos of the barrage are comprehensive, really lor ... weather somemore was excellent today ....
You have def convinced me to make a kite flying/picnic trip there with family .... like ASAP
Gonna show DH the photos liao :celebrate:
:thankyou: :thankyou: :thankyou: for sharing the tips and the pictures :love: -
:!: :!: :!: Maid :salute: :salute: :salute:
1. Your tips are very good!
2. Your picnic very high standard....the bread, bee hoon and the kueh...and the packaging.... :faint: Like packing for NDP
3. Your kites so lovely... I assume the opera, doraemon ones are yours?
4. Your photos are also so great! Makes the whole setting comes alive, I wish we were there! It sure looks hot too but there is this tiny area in the photo where one can hide in a row below to get some shade....that is the one u are referring to?
Now I die die must go to that place to fly kite once we are ready to set off..
Thanks so much for sharing... :udawoman: :udawoman:
so glad that my photo link worked!
Was so afraid that you won't be able to see the photos since it was my first time posting a link to a slideshow!
Not sure if the link worked and I am so glad it did.
You are most welcome! :love: My pleasure to share those not too perfect photos!
My pictures are definitely not the best pictures around but am glad that at least they gave you an idea of how the place looks like.
No worries, thought I would share what I learnt today. Today was only my 3rd time there.
1st time was at the Newpaper Big Walk a few years back, but didn't have time to explore the place then.
2nd time was a few weeks ago when my husband's company had a family day there, but I did not get to explore the roof top field area, that's why I said in my previous post that there's no shelter up at the roof top area but realised today that there is indeed a very tiny shaded area, but must go early in order to get that coveted spot!
Like what Blurbee said, there's a staircase as well as a lift that lead to the roof top field area and once one steps out of the lift/staircase lobbby area, one is greeted by two huge pieces of 'sail like structures' and that's where and what I mean by the limited shaded area. The area underneath those 'sail like structure' provided a bit of shade from the scotching sun, but the area is very, very limited, hence the need to go early in order to be able to secure a place.
As you saw from the photos, yes, there is also a tiny strip of shaded area along the walkway up at the field area, but that strip is too tiny for a family to sit comfortably under for a proper picnic. Most who 'hid' there were probably isolated friends/couples etc. I wouldn't rely on that for shade though. You must see it for yourself to understand what I mean, but the best is still to go as early as possible, and that is before 9am before the crowd comes in to 'reserve' the area underneath those 'sail like' structures.
Why 9am? Because that's when the first Marina Barrage free shuttle service picks up passengers from the Marina Bay MRT Station. There is also an SBS 400 which ply the same route as the free shuttle service and that service starts at 9am too, so for those without private transport like me, the earliest that I can arrive at the Barrage is just after 9am which was what happened to us. For people like you who drive, it is best to beat the crowd by arriving before 9am in order to secure a good spot under the 'sail like structure'.
Haha, you are talking to an outdoor expert and NDP diehard here, so no wonder the picnic looks a bit like packing for the NDP! :lol:
No wrong! Those were not my kites! I found the Opera, Doremon and Puppy Face kites very nice, that's why decided to take pictures of them to show you! I love that Opera one best! You should have seen the real thing. :love:
My elder boy had some projects with his classmates, so didn't join us and my younger boy flew a black kite with a long tail that looks like a black stingray from afar.
Thanks for your compliments. :celebrate: Like I said, they were not the best photos around, but glad that they managed to give you a rough idea of how the place looks like.
Yes, do go and get a kite soon and bring your girl there! I am sure she would enjoy it as much as we did today! :lol:
Have fun and don't forget to post pictures here for us to drool over too!
Yes, that's why I was MIA from the Playground yesterday!WOW WEE :!: :!:
Really a lot of preparation put in with regards to the scrumptious looking food :drool:
You baked all of those stuff like the buns etc right .... and the bee hoon ... wah to die for leh .... :drool: :drool:
I contributed 3 items, the buns, the green bulu and the bee hoon, and of course the chrysentemum tea which was not in pictures but in our tummy due to the terribly hot weather!
See my reply to ksi.Kites look fantastic .... which ones were yours/your family???
Yes, weather was fantastic today despite the scotching sun but we also had wind which really helped those kites to fly so beautifully!The photos of the barrage are comprehensive, really lor ... weather somemore was excellent today ....
We wanted to stay a bit longer, but there was a lightning alert at about 3pm and we were advised to head indoors (downstairs), so we decided to pack up and headed home.autumnbronze:
We discovered kite flying by accident too. Didn't know that Marina Barrage is such a nice place and that kite flying can be so fun! We were given a kite in the goodie bag at my husband's company's family day a few weeks back and my younger boy and husband 'got caught' and we have been going to this huge field in Sengkang the last few weekends to fly kites.You have def convinced me to make a kite flying/picnic trip there with family .... like ASAP
Gonna show DH the photos liao :celebrate:autumnbronze:
You are most welcome! Good things/tips must be shared, right?:thankyou: :thankyou: :thankyou: for sharing the tips and the pictures :love:
Wow....Maid....I am still so impressed with your kite adventure.. I spoke to my child about it and she said to bring an instant tent so she can fly her kite from inside the tent...... :roll: I might just do that but not for her to fly the kite from inside but at least to picnic from inside if we fail to \"chope\" a well shaded place. :lol:
let me plan to get all the things first then when we go will take pix for you.
Yes I like the opera kite too, wonder where to get??
When I get my kite I post the pix for you first.
I saw the black kite with the tail too, looks cool.
Aiyoo can't wait to get there...
Oh if no time to prepare picnic food, can order from you? Kekeke
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.