Corona Virus Disease (COVID-19) Updates

-41 Posts 207 Posters 1.8m Views 1 Watching
    • sharonkhooS Offline
      sharonkhoo

lee_yl\" post_id=\"1975858\" time=\"1589456337\" user_id=\"17023:

However, there’s one statement the ministers like to repeat, “The large number of reported migrant workers cases reflected the current approach of aggressive testings”. Does that mean if govt also conducts aggressive testing for FWs staying outside dorms (and our local community), we will also see large number of cases?
      Certainly there will be cases as yet undetected in the community and among other groups which will be uncovered with aggressive testing, but it would be a relatively small no., I expect. Which is why they probably don't want to do it. And with the weeks of CB we've gone through, most infections will have been discovered and contained.

The main difference, I believe, is the large no. of FWs packed into the dorms before the CB - just having those nos. of people in fairly close quarters sharing bathrooms, dining areas, etc. means there will be more transmission, and the transmission would have continued until they had managed to move out many of them into other places. I think the other types of housing for FWs are smaller (tens instead of hundreds or thousands), and for the community, we live with much smaller groups of people. Other factors that contribute to the no. of cases among FWs are that many FWs are afraid to report sick for mild symptoms (they have fragile job security), or may not understand what symptoms to look out for (because of language difficulties).

• lee_ylL Offline
        lee_yl

slmkhoo\" post_id=\"1975923\" time=\"1589502628\" user_id=\"28674:

lee_yl\" post_id=\"1975858\" time=\"1589456337\" user_id=\"17023:

However, there’s one statement the ministers like to repeat, “The large number of reported migrant workers cases reflected the current approach of aggressive testings”. Does that mean if govt also conducts aggressive testing for FWs staying outside dorms (and our local community), we will also see large number of cases?

Certainly there will be cases as yet undetected in the community and among other groups which will be uncovered with aggressive testing, but it would be a relatively small no., I expect. Which is why they probably don't want to do it. And with the weeks of CB we've gone through, most infections will have been discovered and contained.

The main difference, I believe, is the large no. of FWs packed into the dorms before the CB - just having those nos. of people in fairly close quarters sharing bathrooms, dining areas, etc. means there will be more transmission, and the transmission would have continued until they had managed to move out many of them into other places. I think the other types of housing for FWs are smaller (tens instead of hundreds or thousands), and for the community, we live with much smaller groups of people. Other factors that contribute to the no. of cases among FWs are that many FWs are afraid to report sick for mild symptoms (they have fragile job security), or may not understand what symptoms to look out for (because of language difficulties).

Very hard to pintpoint. If one day SG starts its aggressive testing for local community and FWs residing outside dorms, we will know the figures. Best if we conduct antibody tests to detect the prevalence of the virus among the local population.

Yes, I also think it has something to do with the packed living conditions and shared bathrooms/communal living that caused the numbers to be high but ST Everyday chooses to only report it as being due to current approach of aggressive testing, and never report about the dorm living conditions. So much about journalistic integrity.

Extrapolating, if the same approach of aggressive testing is performed on the local community, will we see a higher number than that reported today?

BTW, I am wondering for FWs residing inside dorms, those that had been tested very early, say on the 7th April, and showed negative, do they need to retake the test before they start work on 1st June, like what the govt is going to do to all the preschool teachers? Ultimately, it is just a swab, NOT A VACCINE, so those tested negative earlier on, who to say they won’t catch it later?

• lee_ylL Offline
          lee_yl

phtthp\" post_id=\"1975894\" time=\"1589466825\" user_id=\"35251:

Covid-19 isn't just a respiratory disease. It hits the whole body
          The day before, TV news reported more and more children and teens (below the age of 15yo) in NYC and some western countries develop complications Kawasaki-like symptoms etc.

I recalled watching channel 8 news, two experts talked about this, nothing much but repeat some basic facts like in SG, our children did not develop these symptoms unlike the westerners. I wonder why so far, nobody talked about SG children receiving BCG vaccination, which probably is one reason why the children who kena covid, showed only mild symptoms. Guess either the experts do not believe OR they have not followed up on the academic work on BCG and Covid-19.

• MrsKiasuM Offline
            MrsKiasu

lee_yl\" post_id=\"1975941\" time=\"1589508270\" user_id=\"17023:

The day before, TV news reported more and more children and teens (below the age of 15yo) in NYC and some western countries develop complications Kawasaki-like symptoms etc.

I recalled watching channel 8 news, two experts talked about this, nothing much but repeat some basic facts like in SG, our children did not develop these symptoms unlike the westerners. I wonder why so far, nobody talked about SG children receiving BCG vaccination, which probably is one reason why the children who kena covid, showed only mild symptoms. Guess either the experts do not believe OR they have not followed up on the academic work on BCG and Covid-19.

Read this my heart seems to become weaker, body feel no energy.. when counting down to school reopen yesterday I already have some 'odd' feeling inside me..hope it is only today, aiyo I think I have stress liao la...just ate my lunch of rice and meat, hope it gives me more energy.

Rachdanon

MOE and MOH needs to come out with a joint statement on this.

• EstéemaE Offline
                Estéema

There was a Programme on CNA last month on the importance of BCG/immunization for babies & kids under MOH prescribed list & how some parents regretted for not letting their kids do those coz of their belief (misplaced belief?) it might lead to autism etc and some parents who were living overseas & didn’t get their children back SG to do those immunizations. Some tried esp arrange when homeleave to SG & make appointments for their kids to immunize.

Immunization only do so much. As our climate & lifestyle changes, we need to be prepared hv to face with new viruses as a way of life moving fwd. Makes our scientists work very much harder for testing, vaccines & cures.

COVID has taught us many lessons in life abt our abilities to face fears, uncertainty how to fight against the new unknown & human life. How we view life & cope with it as a nation and as a global ppl since we yearn to travel, get connected, socialize & expand bz - COVID has been much facilitated by our travels & connectedness. We cannot avoid it, nor shld we expand time on blame games, but learning to tackle it constructively & working together as a human race to find the best vaccine & sharing these precious life saving test kits even with the marginalized & poorest of people in our world. Very humbling experience to me.

• Coolkidsrock2C Offline
                  Coolkidsrock2

There are 2 clinical trials on Bacille Calmette-Guérin (BCG) vaccination protection against COVID-19.

https://www.who.int/news-room/commentaries/detail/bacille-calmette-gu%C3%A9rin-%28bcg%29-vaccination-and-covid-19

• lee_ylL Offline
                    lee_yl

MrsKiasu\" post_id=\"1975962\" time=\"1589516231\" user_id=\"43981:

[quote=phtthp post_id=1975894 time=1589466825 user_id=35251]Covid-19 isn't just a respiratory disease. It hits the whole body

Read this my heart seems to become weaker, body feel no energy.. when counting down to school reopen yesterday I already have some 'odd' feeling inside me..hope it is only today, aiyo I think I have stress liao la...just ate my lunch of rice and meat, hope it gives me more energy.[/quote]Why are you so stressed about school reopening soon?

Your girls are born in SG right? Have they been vaccinated with BCG?

If yes, unlikely to develop serious complications even if they get infected. Plus they will likely be masked up with proper social distancing so risks of infection are low.

• lee_ylL Offline
                      lee_yl

Estéema\" post_id=\"1976023\" time=\"1589530877\" user_id=\"66413:

[quote=phtthp post_id=1975894 time=1589466825 user_id=35251]Covid-19 isn't just a respiratory disease. It hits the whole body

There was a Programme on CNA last month on the importance of BCG/immunization for babies & kids under MOH prescribed list & how some parents regretted for not letting their kids do those coz of their belief (misplaced belief?) it might lead to autism etc and some parents who were living overseas & didn’t get their children back SG to do those immunizations. Some tried esp arrange when homeleave to SG & make appointments for their kids to immunize.

Immunization only do so much. As our climate & lifestyle changes, we need to be prepared hv to face with new viruses as a way of life moving fwd. Makes our scientists work very much harder for testing, vaccines & cures.

COVID has taught us many lessons in life abt our abilities to face fears, uncertainty how to fight against the new unknown & human life. How we view life & cope with it as a nation and as a global ppl since we yearn to travel, get connected, socialize & expand bz - COVID has been much facilitated by our travels & connectedness. We cannot avoid it, nor shld we expand time on blame games, but learning to tackle it constructively & working together as a human race to find the best vaccine & sharing these precious life saving test kits even with the marginalized & poorest of people in our world. Very humbling experience to me.[/quote]If BCG vaccine really helps to fend against coronavirus complications, then we must thank our govt for insisting that we go for BCG. Look at US/Europe (Italy etc), even though they are developed countries, their vaccination program doesn’t appear to be mandatory and allows opting out with all the childhood diseases making a comeback even before Covid-19.

Friend’s kids born in US, back in SG for 1-2yrs, she doesn’t believe in vaccines, thinking vaccines will make her children autistic, thus, her kids never attended a single day in school. The eldest one already 7yo doesn’t know A B C cos never attend school.

• MrsKiasuM Offline
                        MrsKiasu

lee_yl\" post_id=\"1976048\" time=\"1589535789\" user_id=\"17023:

MrsKiasu\" post_id=\"1975962\" time=\"1589516231\" user_id=\"43981:

[quote=lee_yl post_id=1975941 time=1589508270 user_id=17023]

Read this my heart seems to become weaker, body feel no energy.. when counting down to school reopen yesterday I already have some 'odd' feeling inside me..hope it is only today, aiyo I think I have stress liao la...just ate my lunch of rice and meat, hope it gives me more energy.

Why are you so stressed about school reopening soon?

Your girls are born in SG right? Have they been vaccinated with BCG?

If yes, unlikely to develop serious complications even if they get infected. Plus they will likely be masked up with proper social distancing so risks of infection are low.[/quote]think all adding up lor..yup kids born in Spore and we went for all jabs per the health booklet.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 1 / 1