Corona Virus Disease (COVID-19) Updates

-41 Posts 207 Posters 1.8m Views 1 Watching
    • lee_ylL Offline
      lee_yl

Nebbermind\" post_id=\"1977172\" time=\"1590076295\" user_id=\"15571:

lee_yl\" post_id=\"1977145\" time=\"1590063550\" user_id=\"17023:

I am taken back to learn that among the preschool teachers who took the swab tests, a few tested positive.

Can someone help me ask: Then in this case, primary school and sec school teachers don’t they need to be tested before 1st June too?

Did they explain why preschool staffs are subjected to swab test? Did they already suspect something?

We are already into the 7th week of CB so does it mean most of these cases are asymptomatic and the virus has been going around amongst this group undetected until now?

DH said not because they suspect something but rather, old folks and preschoolers belong to vulnerable groups.

3 is not a lot but why still have positive cases among the preschool teachers since we are into the 7th week of CB already?

There’s one group tested positive then negative then positive then negative.. flip flop cases, also released back to the community after spending more than a month in isolation.

• lee_ylL Offline
        lee_yl

slmkhoo\" post_id=\"1977190\" time=\"1590108092\" user_id=\"28674:

lee_yl\" post_id=\"1977145\" time=\"1590063550\" user_id=\"17023:

[quote=\"zac's mum\" post_id=1977141 time=1590061997 user_id=53606]In case u have any burning questions for MOE about schools reopening...8pm tonight on FB Live:

https://facebook.com/events/s/ask-me-anything-about-transiti/242109377041477/?ti=icl

I am taken back to learn that among the preschool teachers who took the swab tests, a few tested positive.

Can someone help me ask: Then in this case, primary school and sec school teachers don’t they need to be tested before 1st June too?

I think it's a case of priorities and risks. Preschool teachers come in much closer contact with their students than in Pr and Sec schools, and young kids are much less likely to remember to obey precautions. So testing preschool teachers is a higher priority. I would expect that other teachers will be tested sooner or later, but the risks to themselves and students is lower, so it's probably been decided that the upsides of re-opening schools is worth the increased risk.[/quote]If by 1st June yet to test all the primary/ sec school teachers, then no point already mah. We still have many HCWs (higher priority) waiting to be tested too. If the sch teachers have to queue until next year January for their turns, then it does not make sense anymore. 😂

• kimberlyleeforeverK Offline
          kimberlyleeforever

Jeffrey Tan, the owner of a dance studio in downtown Singapore, estimates he has lost five figures in earnings since he stopped holding classes at the end of March, as the city state stepped up social distancing before a partial lockdown to contain the coronavirus outbreak.

Like many business owners, Tan had been eagerly awaiting news on when Singapore, which is approaching its eighth week of the so-called circuit breaker this weekend, would fully reopen its economy.

But an announcement earlier this week of a three-phase reopening from June 2 – with dance studios and fitness facilities likely to begin operating only in the last phase – left him feeling despondent.

“We have no idea when we can resume teaching. If we can’t teach, we can’t make money, we can’t pay rent,” he said, adding that his monthly rent stood at S$15,000 (US$10,500). “Our studio will face a financial crisis after six months. There is no way we [can make] enough money for rental, not forgetting our other expenses such as staffing.”

More at https://tinyurl.com/sw29m9o

Rachdanon

They should allow students back at a later stage. If they want students to go back 2 June, then lift the CB earlier. We need to see the effects of lifting the CB BEFORE children go back, not CONCURRENTLY as children fo back. This Minister has no iron in him to make the tough decision. It is evident graduation and grades matter more than lives.

• MyPillowM Offline
              MyPillow

lee_yl\" post_id=\"1977290\" time=\"1590155852\" user_id=\"17023:

Nebbermind\" post_id=\"1977172\" time=\"1590076295\" user_id=\"15571:

[quote=lee_yl post_id=1977145 time=1590063550 user_id=17023]I am taken back to learn that among the preschool teachers who took the swab tests, a few tested positive.

Did they explain why preschool staffs are subjected to swab test? Did they already suspect something?

We are already into the 7th week of CB so does it mean most of these cases are asymptomatic and the virus has been going around amongst this group undetected until now?

DH said not because they suspect something but rather, old folks and preschoolers belong to vulnerable groups.

3 is not a lot but why still have positive cases among the preschool teachers since we are into the 7th week of CB already?

There’s one group tested positive then negative then positive then negative.. flip flop cases, also released back to the community after spending more than a month in isolation.[/quote]Yes I m rather perplexed too as in late in to CB , why Pre sch teacher , nursing home have cases ? Where they got fr ? Is it from Pre CB period or ?? Or virus stay silent in the bodies n not showing signs n symptoms until now ?
              This is worrying ... is it the virus incubation period is long for some people - not 14 days but as long into 6 or 8 weeks !!
              I hope such cases are not a lot N rare , partial CB lifted n kids going back to sch in 2 June .. how is moe going to handle well ?
              MOE might as well give face shields to All students , fr pre schoolers to jc ( so long it is teacher student class room settings n close contact nature of learning format )!

• . Offline
                .010675zeit

Coolkidsrock2\" post_id=\"1967514\" time=\"1584496423\" user_id=\"48901:

Thank you very much for the well-wishes as well as advice (other forummers as well) on the other postings on overseas education.

We will just have to take it a step at a time.

Am concerned for UK as a destination too.

With so many countries in lockdown, hopefully, a clearer picture will emerge in a couple of weeks time.
                Hi, are you the one who posted about UK and China universities in another C9 thread? Is your child taking up the overseas offer and flying off this fall? Perhaps you can consider buying him/her a Dupont Tyvek hoodie jacket (and even track pants) to wear onboard the plane.

They're suddenly gaining popularity now. Tyvek is used for making PPE that HCWs worldwide are wearing, so garment factories are now mass-making jackets using Tyvek for germaphobic passengers, who do not wish to look like space cadets, to wear on the aircraft.

https://www.dupont.com/tyvekdesign/fashion.html

https://www.taobao.com/list/product/%E6%9D%9C%E9%82%A6%E7%BA%B8%E5%A4%96%E5%A5%97_2.htm

https://kiyi.en.alibaba.com/product/62141920843-806179004/Good_Price_Lightweight_Waterproof_Dupont_Tyvek_Winter_Coat.html

https://www.alibaba.com/product-detail/Shanghai-Customized-Lightweight-Fashion-Tyvek-Jacket_62082399174.html?spm=a2700.details.deiletai6.5.2c793eabpWsQ8w

You can buy a larger size one for him to wear over his usual attire. It's a bit crinkly and feels paperish, but is lightweight, anti splash and breathable. And wear a 3M anti-fog googles + mask. I think a face shield without hinges might hamper his makan activity.

I wonder if SIA is making ''Pierre Balmain'' corporate PPE for the flight attendants. Airline attendants of AirAsia, Philippines Airlines, Emirates and Qatar Airways are already wearing customised PPE.

• Coolkidsrock2C Offline
                  Coolkidsrock2

.zeit\" post_id=\"1977324\" time=\"1590205674\" user_id=\"171271:

Coolkidsrock2\" post_id=\"1967514\" time=\"1584496423\" user_id=\"48901:

Thank you very much for the well-wishes as well as advice (other forummers as well) on the other postings on overseas education.

We will just have to take it a step at a time.

Am concerned for UK as a destination too.

With so many countries in lockdown, hopefully, a clearer picture will emerge in a couple of weeks time.

Hi, are you the one who posted about UK and China universities in another C9 thread? Is your child taking up the overseas offer and flying off this fall? Perhaps you can consider buying him/her a Dupont Tyvek hoodie jacket (and even track pants) to wear onboard the plane.

They're suddenly gaining popularity now. Tyvek is used for making PPE that HCWs worldwide are wearing, so garment factories are now mass-making jackets using Tyvek for germaphobic passengers, who do not wish to look like space cadets, to wear on the aircraft.

https://www.dupont.com/tyvekdesign/fashion.html

https://www.taobao.com/list/product/%E6%9D%9C%E9%82%A6%E7%BA%B8%E5%A4%96%E5%A5%97_2.htm

https://kiyi.en.alibaba.com/product/62141920843-806179004/Good_Price_Lightweight_Waterproof_Dupont_Tyvek_Winter_Coat.html

https://www.alibaba.com/product-detail/Shanghai-Customized-Lightweight-Fashion-Tyvek-Jacket_62082399174.html?spm=a2700.details.deiletai6.5.2c793eabpWsQ8w

You can buy a larger size one for him to wear over his usual attire. It's a bit crinkly and feels paperish, but is lightweight, anti splash and breathable. And wear a 3M anti-fog googles + mask. I think a face shield without hinges might hamper his makan activity.

I wonder if SIA is making ''Pierre Balmain'' corporate PPE for the flight attendants. Airline attendants of AirAsia, Philippines Airlines, Emirates and Qatar Airways are already wearing customised PPE.

Yes, it's me and much grateful for remembering.

We are not taking up UK and are now trying to decide between China, Australia or local. Grateful for highlighting as it will make the decision making process easier.

• EstéemaE Offline
                    Estéema

I’m quite intrigue with face shields MOE will distribute to sch children by 8 June. Saw at least 2 or 3 different colored rims of face shields which possibly meant for matching some basic sch colors - black, blue & white. Thankful they’re caring for sch going kids.

• lee_ylL Offline
                      lee_yl

MyPillow\" post_id=\"1977323\" time=\"1590205349\" user_id=\"70594:

lee_yl\" post_id=\"1977290\" time=\"1590155852\" user_id=\"17023:

[quote=Nebbermind post_id=1977172 time=1590076295 user_id=15571]

There’s one group tested positive then negative then positive then negative.. flip flop cases, also released back to the community after spending more than a month in isolation.

Yes I m rather perplexed too as in late in to CB , why Pre sch teacher , nursing home have cases ? Where they got fr ? Is it from Pre CB period or ?? Or virus stay silent in the bodies n not showing signs n symptoms until now ?
                      This is worrying ... is it the virus incubation period is long for some people - not 14 days but as long into 6 or 8 weeks !!
                      I hope such cases are not a lot N rare , partial CB lifted n kids going back to sch in 2 June .. how is moe going to handle well ?

MOE might as well give face shields to All students , fr pre schoolers to jc ( so long it is teacher student class room settings n close contact nature of learning format )![/quote]ST reported that 1% of the new cases are unlinked. Maybe MOH can tell us where/how the 5 preschool teachers catch their virus from as we are already 7th week into CB.

• lee_ylL Offline
                        lee_yl

Schootopia\" post_id=\"1977183\" time=\"1590099517\" user_id=\"143961:

From OKY's comments-
                        [quote]They can wear either a face mask or a face shield when in school or on campus. This is for their own protection and that of others. Schools will be arranging to distribute face shields to all preschool and primary school students in Term 3. Teachers will help the young children get used to the masks or shields with time. If there are special circumstances, teachers will also exercise flexibility.
                        .. the face shield is part of PPE because studies show that even a N95 is unable to fully deflect a direct sneeze.
                        If u use a face shield only, you need to be comfy with your own exposure.[/quote]I agree with you on the last statement.

Initially I thought it was great that MOE allow the choice of either a face shield or face mask. Wearing a face shield is more comfy for the kids since they will be in school for long hours.

Face shield has more pros than cons compared to face mask BUT, there is ONE critical disadvantage about face shield, that is, one will breathe in (aerosol) Covid-19 particles through the wide openings of the face shield. Note that 40 students sitting near one another in an enclosed classroom for more than 6 hours a day! We can have 1001 good points about face shield but this 1 point is the fatal shortcoming.

Surgical mask can block off 95% of germs including covid-19 virus. That’s why face shield plus face mask always go in pair, sort of complement each other. Not sure why we wear only either 1.

Low risk environment like after 8 weeks of CB, I think it is fine. When we reopen our economy to the outside world, is face shield alone enough? Peak hour squeeze MRT, think better to put on face mask lah.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 1 / 1