Catholic High School

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Secondary Schools - Parent Networking Groups
    2.3k Posts 66 Posters 700.8k Views 1 Watching
    • SG_KP1S Offline
      SG_KP1

EJC does have the BSP, which starts at CHS/SNGS/SCGS. However, none have the CLEP if that is of interest to you. For both BSP and CLEP, HCI and DHS are the choices.

• O Offline
        Option

zac's mum\" post_id=\"1996000\" time=\"1600822324\" user_id=\"53606:[quote=\"zac's mum\" post_id=1996000 time=1600822324 user_id=53606]
        Ultimately he needs to weigh whether his love for Chinese activities is worth the extra travelling time. Is he going to join a Chinese-related CCA? Otherwise I believe VS would offer more sporty or less “nerdy” options. It’s how he wants to develop himself as a whole person.

And...do note that there is no SAP JC. I highly doubt EJC will have Chinese activities to the same extent as a SAP school.

If he really really wants a full SAP experience, why not go to HCI for 6 years?

But then there’s no SAP university in Singapore. Go overseas?[/quote]
        This point is right but only up to a certain point. The assumption for Chinese activities is strong if the time spent on the road is not as much. Nope, he already has his own Chinese CCA, so there's no need for another formal Chinese CCA. Where he is coming from is even if he doesn't join a Chinese CCA, are there sufficient classmates or schoolmates, who can interact with him in Chinese.
        Both schools offer sporty options, but you are probably right that VS is more sporty 🙂
        Actually, he already has a balance of sports and non sports as pastimes, and yes we are more inclined for him to try something physical. This doesn't mean he drops non sports. Yes, this is my preference and he is more than ok, so in the end, could be sports or uniform group.
        Your comment on how he wants to develop as a whole person is harder to answer. Ideal cases are like what some very kiasu parents are doing, by bundling in everything for the child. But here's the paradox - if the requirements are defined mainly by parents, why would it even be ideal ?
        Yes, we looked at HCI too. On radar, it is the only school which we did not time the distance because of time constraints. It's hard to tell from the outside what type of Chinese environment goes on inside, so we checked online. It turns out that at the point of checking, there was nothing substantial enough posted in Chinese for us to draw conclusions from. So from a SAP school perspective, we have no idea if their focus is to draw more students interested in English (DS is ok with English but if we park the option of foreign language aside for now, his concern is being moulded into a monolingual communicator in future).
        Overseas education burns a big hole leh... 🙂

• O Offline
          Option

SG_KP1\" post_id=\"1996004\" time=\"1600823892\" user_id=\"188234:

EJC does have the BSP, which starts at CHS/SNGS/SCGS. However, none have the CLEP if that is of interest to you. For both BSP and CLEP, HCI and DHS are the choices.
          What is CLEP ?

• SG_KP1S Offline
            SG_KP1

Option\" post_id=\"1996007\" time=\"1600824174\" user_id=\"185249:

What is CLEP ?

Chinese Language Elective Program. Here is some info.

https://beta.moe.gov.sg/uploads/clep-sec-infosheet-students-2019.pdf

• O Offline
              Option

SG_KP1\" post_id=\"1996008\" time=\"1600824428\" user_id=\"188234:

[quote=SG_KP1 post_id=1996004 time=1600823892 user_id=188234]EJC does have the BSP, which starts at CHS/SNGS/SCGS. However, none have the CLEP if that is of interest to you. For both BSP and CLEP, HCI and DHS are the choices.

What is CLEP ?

https://beta.moe.gov.sg/uploads/clep-sec-infosheet-students-2019.pdf[/quote]Thanks SG_KP1,
              Ok, but neither the English nor Chinese version mentions what is really in the program, only broad strokes. E.g. if students do Geography, they look at maps, urbanisation, environments etc. Is there something more elaborate out there ? I am assuming that it is a standardised syllabus and therefore there should at least be an outline (then decide later if checking by text book levels make sense).

• SG_KP1S Offline
                SG_KP1

Option\" post_id=\"1996009\" time=\"1600825055\" user_id=\"185249:

SG_KP1\" post_id=\"1996008\" time=\"1600824428\" user_id=\"188234:

[quote=Option post_id=1996007 time=1600824174 user_id=185249]

What is CLEP ?

https://beta.moe.gov.sg/uploads/clep-sec-infosheet-students-2019.pdf

Thanks SG_KP1,
                Ok, but neither the English nor Chinese version mentions what is really in the program, only broad strokes. E.g. if students do Geography, they look at maps, urbanisation, environments etc. Is there something more elaborate out there ? I am assuming that it is a standardised syllabus and therefore there should at least be an outline (then decide later if checking by text book levels make sense).[/quote]Sorry but I don't have a ton more info. Each of HCI/DHS website has some info but probably not to the level you are looking for (DHS has a bit more). One thing to note is that I believe each of the BSP and CLEP (if continued in JC) will take up an H2 space. Thus, you are left with only Math + 1 Science on the other side, which may or may not be of concern.

• floppyF Offline
                  floppy

IMHO, all things considered, DHS is the best option.

• MerlionInGermanyM Offline
                    MerlionInGermany

Option\" post_id=\"1995996\" time=\"1600821036\" user_id=\"185249:

No lah, we spoke to VS directly. From this year onwards, Sec 1s through their 4 years are supposed to put their handphones away till dismissals.
                    I asked 2 current students on 22/9/2020. One is a sec 2 and one is a sec 3.
                    They also told me it is not that they needed to hide from teachers when they were using it.
                    So in theory, they are prob supposed to put it away till dismissals.
                    In practical, it is not enforced, or they have decided to implement it only from 2021. 😂
                    But it is ok, doesnt matter to me.

• zac's mumZ Offline
                      zac's mum

I was from SNGS then HCJC. Brother was from CHS then HCJC.

Word of mouth on the street, HCI and HCJC now tends to attract the PRC kids (maybe born in SG), especially those who don’t like religious schools. So he will have plenty opportunities to converse with them in Chinese if they choose to.

Hwa Chong is extremely strong on Chinese culture (even till today) as in they have strong Lion Dance, Wushu, Chinese Drama Club CCAs, celebrate the various Chinese festivals year round in a very big way, teachers emphasize bowing & respect and all that. In terms of the academic subject HCL and any special language programs they may have at HCI, there would be the iron sharpens iron challenge for him if that’s what he wants. The standard is high due their native language. I didn’t like the academic pressure to the exclusion of all other pursuits but maybe suits your child.

What is CLEP ?

9 Secondary schools offer CLEP

https://www.google.com.sg/amp/s/sg.news.yahoo.com/amphtml/language-elective-programme-to-be-introduced-in-secondary-schools-from-2020-ong-ye-kung-022542747.html

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 212 / 233

excellencetuitionacademyE
                        excellencetuitionacademy
                        shijieS
                        shijie
                        kristal_kamatoyK
                        kristal_kamatoy