Comparing Pre-school English Reading and Phonics Enrichment

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved English
    1.2k Posts 455 Posters 824.5k Views 1 Watching
      tamarind

You can try Morris Allen. I heard that they can assess the child and allow the child to join higher levels. You can ask about this.

• phankaoP Offline
        phankao

starlight88:
        As our boy can already read, we feel that there is no point spending 6months learning to read again. The school also does not allow a child to join the second half wriitng program without completing the first half.

Any recommendation for programs that will be suitable for preschoolers to learn more about writing skills and grammar?

Pls do share your thoughts. Many thks!
        Yea, if your child can already read, why are you sending him to a reading programme? Why not a writing programme per se?

titank

Yo titank, you can read up more here, bro..

http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?t=5768

Jedamum is right. šŸ˜‰

In short, Montessori Phonics is a phonics methodology or curriculum
          designed by Maria Montessori with the intention to help children of
          all backgrounds and personalities/characters to begin learning to
          read. Montessori Phonics prides itself in being an interactive
          learning style with the aid of a systematic curriculum and full set of
          teaching apparatus that encourages children to have a deep sense
          of understanding of the concept of learning reading using letter
          sounds and letter combinations. The complete programme aims
          to embed children with concrete skills and knowledge of reading.

You still shopping around for Phonics classes for your child, titank?
          Hi Buds

This homebased montessori phonics is not 1 to 1.Usually they are in small group where from 3-4. Lcentral told me they house max at 9 I was like :!: , how can the child able to have the attention from the teacher

3 to 4 is a comfortable size for a group.

Yes, sadly most centres take in 8 to 9. 😐

I was even forced to take 10 kids at one
            time... just cos i was told it seemed like i
            could handle it. (a big group) šŸ˜ž

Oh well... What to do? This is what
            happens when one is at the mercy
            of one's boss/company.

Most ppl pay that same price for such
            big group, so 3 to 4 is still a gd range
            if parents prefer a group arrangement.

1 to 1 coaching usually progresses much
            faster cos there isn't a need to conform
            to any other child's pace. I used to get a
            lot for K2's going P1's nearing year end &
            it wud get pretty hectic on my schedule.

Parent's should ideally start early and move
            progressively instead of cramming everything
            during the final months before going to P1, at
            least can cover some language skills as well at
            that time.

I say if you're comfortable with that teacher who
            does the homebase thingy, go for it! Your child
            will benefit from more attention from the teacher
            due to the low child-teacher ratio and may jolly
            well be able to complete the programme much
            faster as compared to the more commercial ctrs..

Just my opinion. šŸ˜‰

titank

Yes those homebased phonics throwing me that they are using jolly phonics, fittroy, montessori or thier own reading program. I see until I blur also :!:

By the way what do you think of 1.5 hours with Montessori Maths & Phonics together? It is also homebased too. The teacher said if do 1.5 hours on phonics may get bored.

titank:
                Yes those homebased phonics throwing me that they are using jolly phonics, fittroy, montessori or thier own reading program. I see until I blur also :!:

Wah, they are knowledgeable! But i dun reckon they do all the techniques
                for class lah. You need to choose which programme you prefer i suppose.. 😐
                I've done Jolly, Letterland & also Montessori myself. But not all at the same
                time. :lol: Like that i oso will go blur, not only you.

Different parents have different preferences to the kinda reading programme
                they want their child to learn. Some may like slow and steady but must be
                very fun... Others may like rigorous and concrete... A different group of them
                may prefer hands-on learning instead of worksheet based.. so it really
                depends. Like i've said before, every Phonics programme have their own
                strengths. šŸ˜‰ A good teacher will deliver a programme well regardless
                of the methodology or the technique used. :celebrate:
                titank:
                By the way what do you think of 1.5 hours with Montessori Maths & Phonics together? It is also homebased too. The teacher said if do 1.5 hours on phonics may get bored.
                Outside in centres most will do 1hr and already parents say too short to
                learn much. What more if the group is really big! Worse still if the centre
                accepts children of all the different age groups! I've seen centres mix
                the 2.5yr olds with the 5yr olds and the caregiving is much too tedious
                and the distraction not helpful.. Having said that, each centre may have
                their own style lah. Guess it may work for them but for me it'd be more
                constructive to have similar or closer age range so that all children can
                easily progress together moving up the stages/levels of the reading
                programme.

1.5 hrs is a good duration for a session... plus you're paying $30. So
                more worth it compared to 1 hr. If the teacher is good there is no time
                for children to be bored or even to feel bored! So, 1.5 hrs can really do
                a lotta stuff! šŸ˜„ Dun mix 1.5 hrs for both Montessori Phonics & Montessori
                Math! Your child will need more time to work with the materials as they
                move up the levels. Will be too rushing to go through concepts..

1.5 hrs per subject is ok.

titank

Buds,

The teacher told me that 45 minutes Montessori Phonics & 45 minutes Maths. If 1.5 hours totally on Montessori Maths or Phonis alone the child really get bored.

Anyway need to go see the environment first & evaluate again. There is another teacher which using this program http://www.readinga-z.com/ said from USA. Have you heard of this one?

titank:
                    Buds,

The teacher told me that 45 minutes Montessori Phonics & 45 minutes Maths. If 1.5 hours totally on Montessori Maths or Phonis alone the child really get bored.

Titank, i honestly think 45 minutes is not enough to get concepts introduced
                    to a child, especially in a group. I have had to run 2hr crash course for some
                    special case students (foreign student(s) following their parent(s) who is(are)
                    here for work (one example) and the student doesn't have time to get bored.

There's concept introduction, reading practice, written work & i even include
                    stories, reading activity reinforcement, crafts and sometimes rhymes/songs
                    where applicable. All this not inclusive of time to brief parents at the end of
                    the lesson. The student also must be able to work with all the Montessori
                    materials. As the programme progresses, the words get more challenging.
                    There will also be more reading and more materials to do. I cannot find it
                    in me to cram everything in 45 minutes. It is almost like short-changing the
                    student.

Maths even more detailed! Especially when it comes to place value intro &
                    going into the operations with the golden beads.. Gosh, i can go on and on
                    but hey that said, i suppose each individual has their own style. But there's
                    no \"bore(d)\" in my teaching dictionary. Esp for older students, there is more
                    that can be delivered... so much more they can learn. We CAN tailor to how
                    children learn best so that they CAN showcase their individual potential.

Teaching should inspire learning... it is very sad to hear this word - bored. šŸ˜ž

This is just my point of view lah.. not trying to impose my perspectives unto
                    others. Perhaps the teacher has made her lesson much more concise or
                    perhaps utilize less materials? I'm not sure. Can't comment since i dunno
                    the teacher's teaching style. As long as it shows results?
                    titank:
                    Anyway need to go see the environment first & evaluate again.

Good for you. šŸ˜„
                    titank:
                    There is another teacher which using this program http://www.readinga-z.com/ said from USA. Have you heard of this one?
                    Yes, i use their reading booklets too. šŸ˜‰
                    I use it hand in hand with my Phonics pgrm.
                    It can work together and complement most
                    Phonics techniques.

The booklets are very good & systematic.
                    For parents who want a preview of their
                    booklets, they offer free booklets. I think
                    about 30 of them... and if you want the
                    complete set, you gotta subscribe. šŸ˜„

I like how their booklets progress. :love:
                    From simple to difficult. Nice illustrations.
                    Choice of coloured print-outs and even
                    black and white ala workbooks/worksheets.
                    For parents or teachers who aren't very
                    proficient, you can also download their
                    lesson plans.

titank

Hi Buds,

Had drop you a PM & we shall discuss from there.Generally these homebased they told me max 3 in a group.

There are many home based teachers. They generally take in lesser

students for group sessions as compared to commercial centres out
                        there in the market. Home based teachers also tend to be more
                        flexible about make-up lesssons whether it is due to a child being ill
                        or the family going for short family trips, especially if the child is doin'
                        1-to-1. If make-up sessions are allowed for group sessions, it may be
                        according to the teacher's time of convenience. Most home based
                        teachers do not take deposit. The thing that varies the teachers is
                        mainly the technique + programme structure. Other than that wud
                        be the duration. Cost will vary according 2 the teacher's experience
                        and definitely expertise; plus whether or not the programme utilizes
                        concrete learning materials within the varying session durations.

Most parents are also concerned about the fun factor. Most prefer
                        lessons to be fun yet rigorous enough & inspires children to read. šŸ˜‰

1hr per week is the norm be it in ctrs or home based. 1.5hr is a
                        better time frame in my opinion especially if a teacher is handling
                        group sessions. More than 5 or 6 is considered a big group already
                        for a 1.5hr session. Also need to ask if the teachers include reading
                        books / reading programme in the Phonics sessions to complete the
                        reading experience. After all, children learn Phonics to learn how to
                        read... not just to learn sounds... not just to merely learn words...
                        The aim is to provide children the skills for reading and inspire the
                        reading journey. šŸ˜‰

Just my sharings.

I've read and replied to your PM, titank.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 60 / 123

thebottomsupblogT
                        thebottomsupblog