Property Views

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Money Matters
    2.6k Posts 153 Posters 519.6k Views 1 Watching
    • zac's mumZ Offline
      zac's mum

lee_yl\" post_id=\"2008646\" time=\"1608545350\" user_id=\"17023:

zac's mum\" post_id=\"2008526\" time=\"1608440725\" user_id=\"53606:[quote=\"zac's mum\" post_id=2008526 time=1608440725 user_id=53606]We are seeking a healthier lifestyle...ever since moved to TPY + WFH, nearly every day we've been eating hawker food. Even if coffee shop food like cai fan, it is not healthy for long term sustainability. We've been putting on weight easily & DH has gotten mild gout (even though he doesn't drink much alcohol at all). Doctor guessed it's too much of a \"rich\", salty diet full of meat.

Trying to move towards more veggies and 清淡 kind of diet. After all, when older, body cannot process well so eat healthily better. Want to have a green space to exercise nearby. Fresh air and nice uncrowded environment is what I crave when old. DH says even though joints pain, he still needs to stretch and exercise daily otherwise will feel even worse.
      DH and I just stroll along a small quiet (dead end) street. Walk up and down 2-3 rounds.

TPY HDB Hub nearby/ Balestier, there is a park connector, straight down all the way to Whampo market. Can exercise and then dabao breakfast home.

https://www.nparks.gov.sg/gardens-parks-and-nature/park-connector-network/whampoa-pc

One can also retire in a 3rm HDB, right next to a condo. Then invest in a small unit next door, can rent out condo for passive income, at the same time can also cross over over to use the gym/pool. 😂[/quote]
      Thanks! Will definitely check out the Whampoa park connector. Back when we used to live in Newton, our fave nearby hawker centres were Pek Kio and Whampoa.

Btw, just don't 光明正大 stride into the condo to use the facilities. U may need to sneak in. I had 2 separate people tell me that once their units were rented out, condo management treats the landlord as NOT a resident, and therefore NOT entitled to use the facilities. Yes we pay the maintenance fee alright, but it's the tenant who gets to enjoy it.

Management (those strict ones who follow the rules) refused to let the landlords book tennis courts, function rooms for parties, and even asked them to return the car transponder immediately when the tenant moved in! Said they can just park at visitor lots.

Only during those untenanted periods (probably every 2 years when lease is up), the landlord can come back and swim etc. :stompfeet:

• Zeal mummyZ Offline
        Zeal mummy

Yeah it’s common knowledge that once it’s tenanted lot, landlord shouldn’t be using the facilities. Perhaps can co-tenant, add into the contract that landlord is still a resident?

• lee_ylL Offline
          lee_yl

In theory yes lah. But there are projects out there, where security guards are “sleeping” and many smaller scale projects (lap pool/gym but no tennis court) where all that you need is an access card to enter, no physical guard.

Am thinking, if my kids stay at the 2bedder condo next door and during the day, we retirees staying at HDB next door, can just walk over for a swim or use gym and also cook dinner for them/look after grandkids, it’s like win-win situation. Not staying under same roof, both sides still have some personal space also.

• Zeal mummyZ Offline
            Zeal mummy

Ideally this sounds nice! I hope I can be sufficient enough to be the one Living in the condo. My kids in the nearby block can come over cook for me and let me play with the grandkids 🙂

Property Agent

zac's mum\" post_id=\"2008466\" time=\"1608370411\" user_id=\"53606:[quote=\"zac's mum\" post_id=2008466 time=1608370411 user_id=53606]
              Hi all, for my next property (hopefully to retire in), I wish to buy one near a PCN (park connector network) so that we can cycle for exercise. Any suggested condo developments (existing ones)?

Had a very nice ride from Satay by the Bay to Marina Bay Sands/Esplanade this morning. Wish we can do this daily instead of just turning into couch potatoes.

Alternatively, any condos with huge internal jogging track or cycling path as part of their facilities, also keen to consider.

Previously considered Pebble Bay area...but open to others.[/quote]
              Hi Zac's Mum. You can consider Normanton Park. It is going to be launched in January 2021 (preview is 2 January 2021). Right behind Normanton Park is Kent Ridge Park so you'll get fresh air all year round and you can exercise there. It is like living next to Botanic Garden but at a fraction of the cost. Normanton Park also has a swimming pool that is 500m long! Maybe this weekend you would like to visit Kent Ridge Park to see whether you would like to exercise there when you retire?

It is near NUS, NUH, Science Park, Metropolis, Biopolis, Fusionopolis, UWC (Dover Campus) and MediaCorp so you will have a huge pool of potential tenants if you want to rent out your unit before you retire there.

TOP is estimated Q2 2023.

You can pm me if you are interested. Thank you.

• Zeal mummyZ Offline
                Zeal mummy

May I ask how much psf Normanton Park will be?

• zac's mumZ Offline
                  zac's mum

Property Agent\" post_id=\"2008718\" time=\"1608563746\" user_id=\"189958:[quote=\"Property Agent\" post_id=2008718 time=1608563746 user_id=189958]
                  zac's mum\" post_id=\"2008466\" time=\"1608370411\" user_id=\"53606:[quote=\"zac's mum\" post_id=2008466 time=1608370411 user_id=53606]Hi all, for my next property (hopefully to retire in), I wish to buy one near a PCN (park connector network) so that we can cycle for exercise. Any suggested condo developments (existing ones)?

Had a very nice ride from Satay by the Bay to Marina Bay Sands/Esplanade this morning. Wish we can do this daily instead of just turning into couch potatoes.

Alternatively, any condos with huge internal jogging track or cycling path as part of their facilities, also keen to consider.

Previously considered Pebble Bay area...but open to others.[/quote]
                  Hi Zac's Mum. You can consider Normanton Park. It is going to be launched in January 2021 (preview is 2 January 2021). Right behind Normanton Park is Kent Ridge Park so you'll get fresh air all year round and you can exercise there. It is like living next to Botanic Garden but at a fraction of the cost. Normanton Park also has a swimming pool that is 500m long! Maybe this weekend you would like to visit Kent Ridge Park to see whether you would like to exercise there when you retire?

It is near NUS, NUH, Science Park, Metropolis, Biopolis, Fusionopolis, UWC (Dover Campus) and MediaCorp so you will have a huge pool of potential tenants if you want to rent out your unit before you retire there.

TOP is estimated Q2 2023.

You can pm me if you are interested. Thank you.[/quote]
                  LOL thank you for your enthusiastic sales talk. I already have more than 10 property agents trying to spam me in Whatsapp. Join the Q.

I am VERY familiar with that district cos I used to work in NUS/Science Park area..DH and I used to go exercising + dating at Kent Ridge Hill too...plus a few friends benefitted from the Normanton Park enbloc payout.

• MrsKiasuM Offline
                    MrsKiasu

lee_yl\" post_id=\"2008645\" time=\"1608544949\" user_id=\"17023:

MrsKiasu\" post_id=\"2008557\" time=\"1608472518\" user_id=\"43981:

[quote=lee_yl post_id=2008525 time=1608440417 user_id=17023]

Last time a good friend said she would like to stay near hospital too, cos she is afraid, in case of emergency, her ambulance got stuck in jam during peak hour. Lol.

Staying in Novena is not bad, kids have enrichment centres at United Square, old folks have Mt E/TTSH nearby and there are 3 major shopping malls/MRT.

Yes Novena is good. Good for family with kids and when old too.

We passed by KKH and I saw some constructions nearby not sure if it is mrt or what..so joked with dd, if near mrt better take mrt to hospital give birth..wait jam on road need give birth in vehicle.

A historical first, we have heard of babies born in taxis while on the way to hospitals but have not heard of babies born inside MRT cabins! 😂[/quote]See can get free mrt rides for life 😂

• MrsKiasuM Offline
                      MrsKiasu

lee_yl\" post_id=\"2008711\" time=\"1608561889\" user_id=\"17023:

In theory yes lah. But there are projects out there, where security guards are “sleeping” and many smaller scale projects (lap pool/gym but no tennis court) where all that you need is an access card to enter, no physical guard.

Am thinking, if my kids stay at the 2bedder condo next door and during the day, we retirees staying at HDB next door, can just walk over for a swim or use gym and also cook dinner for them/look after grandkids, it’s like win-win situation. Not staying under same roof, both sides still have some personal space also.
                      I don't mind looking after my grandkids but good having the own private space.. Don't think we have much problems staying with own kids but with additional member(s) not sure already hor.. we can dont meddle but if see our kids not fairly treated, dunno what will happen lor..

• Zeal mummyZ Offline
                        Zeal mummy

MrsKiasu\" post_id=\"2008863\" time=\"1608601903\" user_id=\"43981:

lee_yl\" post_id=\"2008711\" time=\"1608561889\" user_id=\"17023:

I don't mind looking after my grandkids but good having the own private space.. Don't think we have much problems staying with own kids but with additional member(s) not sure already hor.. we can dont meddle but if see our kids not fairly treated, dunno what will happen lor..

Having own space is important. Next block or estate close by is ideal.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 205 / 260