Corona Virus Disease (COVID-19) Updates
starlight1968sg\" post_id=\"2010348\" time=\"1609405698\" user_id=\"14025:
Besides local community cases of infection,
30 new Covid-19 cases in Singapore, including 5 in the community
https://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/30-new-covid-19-cases-in-singapore-including-5-in-the-community
Before we celebrate and welcome the new year 2021, pls rem that with phase 3, more pple gathering means higher risk ...
many of the imported cases were incoming Indonesian helpers. I wld avoid during this covid days, as Indonesian hv very high numbers of infection & I saw video clips of those burying the dead exclaiming they were working round the clock can’t bury fast enuf as the dead bodies all coming in every other minute. These are helpers going to be stay-in with our local families. Wld be esp tough if families need help for their elderlies.
My own Mynmar helper wldn’t want to travel home since early this year & told me ppl in her hometown in Chin State are especially alert & refused even to travel to the cities for fear of catching the virus.
I feel sorry for families who need to change helpers or get new ones. These are tough times.
Hope everyone stay vigilant & stay safe as we usher in a New Year. -
Read the strain fr UK affects the younger ones more but not necessarily fatal. In anycase, best to be extra extra vigilant. It’s better our kids hv less school contact & continue HBL or in smaller study groups to reduce
emoh\" post_id=\"2010472\" time=\"1609540081\" user_id=\"10618:
This is an example of a clear 'community transmitted' case. This serve as a good reminder that prolonged (or even brief contact as in the Korea's case) inter personal interactions without face mask is risky. From one girl infected the other girl and now the close contacts of both girls are at risk. Potentially, some of the close contacts may be infected as well and they in turn, could infect their close contacts and if not keep in check, soon we would have a wave/spread in the community.
https://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/2nd-rgs-student-tests-positive-for-covid-19-mandarin-orchard-hotel-to-re-open-on-jan-2
Even though there are inherent risks, personally I don't think we should go back to lockdown or circuit breaker. It is hard to get rid of this covid virus, perhaps the vaccine will help somewhat but the jury is still out. Therefore, it is encouraging that people now seems more receptive to the usage of TT token/app. We have take up rate of above 70% now. The key to fight this battle is the ability of tracing the close contacts of infected person as soon as possible, and test the close contacts and isolate them to achieve the circuit breaker effect. With low fatality rate in SG, the infected individual can also get treated and recover fast with speedy contact tracing. -
https://www.bloomberg.com/opinion/articles/2021-01-03/singapore-s-covid-success-isn-t-easily-replicated?fbclid=IwAR22hiwlWqsGsai1JpET2kFA3_5VUFRFhetUkuLC3jamUySn06YRksrYMmU&utm_source=url_link
In time of crisis, it is still the govt/public sectors that take the lead. -
MrsKiasu\" post_id=\"2008410\" time=\"1608308611\" user_id=\"43981:
Got update by Gan in Parliament yesterday. Yes, I think it's ''bao'' all paid by Ah Gong, but no mention of minimum stay for PRs. No mention of FDWs either, only migrant workers (possibly those in construction, marine and process sectors).
My original thought on this was \"bao\" all.. hmm, now that you mentioned.. yalor, need min period of staying or not?.zeit\" post_id=\"2008369\" time=\"1608276658\" user_id=\"171271:
\"Singaporeans and long term residents who are here\" don't include PRs? So PRs in Malaysia or elsewhere can't fly here to take the vaccine for free, is it?
We have many PRs who are scattered around the world and they don't necessarily live here continuously for months.
Must they enter Singapore and stay long enough to be called a \"long term resident\"?
Migrant workers must quickly take the vaccine, else our GDP growth next quarter will not improve. \"The construction sector shrank by 28.5 per cent on a year-on-year basis in the fourth quarter, still an improvement from the 46.2 per cent contraction in the preceding quarter. The improved performance of the sector came on the back of the resumption of more construction activities in the fourth quarter as compared to the previous quarter\"
https://www.straitstimes.com/business/economy/singapore-economy-shrinks-58-in-2020-after-contraction-eases-to-38-in-q4-flash-data
If FDWs must take, who pays for them?
And we can't choose the brand. If Moderna's come in and subsequently approved by HSA, and the panel recommends my sub-group as being more suitable to take Moderna, I can't take Pfizer, right? And if they said I must take Sinovac, I can't choose the other 2 mRNA vaccines (that's if there's still stock here in Q3!!). -
Coolkidsrock2\" post_id=\"1966982\" time=\"1584131365\" user_id=\"48901:
The markets are of the view that the drop is over-stretched and 0 interest rate will happen within the year.
I set one price, say DBS $20.20, hit, buy a bit.lee_yl\" post_id=\"1966959\" time=\"1584106805\" user_id=\"17023:
[quote=tutormum post_id=1966896 time=1584076609 user_id=12573]
This bleeding is much faster than the 1997 and 2008. It is quite dangerous to enter now unless you have the bullets to average down. DBS went down to $5 during 1997 financial crisis. I missed quite a lot of opportunities to buy back then. Was eyeing some stocks but missed the boat when it rebounded cos I was holding out for more downside. After that, give up when it moved up cos didn't want to chase. :faint: :faint:
There will be some technical rebound next week but in the long run, I expect another 30% to 50% down. Haven't seen such a market as today for a long time. Anybody who sold early this morning is able to buy back and covert to contra trade - easy money but short sellers have to be careful cos they may end up supporting the market.
IF drop further to $17.20, buy again to average down. Human nature being such, wait and wait, confirmed miss the boat lah.
Huh? In the long run 30% to 50% down meh?
Think this time round, more like Yo-Yo (volatile).
What others experience now was just like what we went through during early February.
Look at Wuhan, everything came to a standstill, 3 weeks later, their cases went down. It works!
People are getting restless from the reduced social activities and work from home arrangement. Personally I think there will be revenge spending once things are more contained and the businesses start offering good discounts.
I will also average down if the markets continue dropping rather than stay out, in case I miss the boat totally.[/quote]Retrieve an old post (dated 14th March 2020).
How many of you actually went in to buy stocks in March? DH came back today feeling quite happy. He said the 3 bank stocks and 1 agriculture related stock, we picked back then shot up by more than 40%! :rahrah: Should be due to “Capricorn effect”. -
lee_yl\" post_id=\"2011412\" time=\"1610117143\" user_id=\"17023:
:congrats: leeyl!! We bought some in June after our original portfolio bleeding.. dh very keen to play, kept asking me to look out but my heart can't take it really..coz comes Aug, it sank further. I diverted my attention to online shopping, no eye see. I just wanted to conserve cash. I told dh not to ask me buy shares anymore coz I always lose money lor.. just now read yr post, I went in take alook..recouped abit but loss still quite abit. Happy news nevertheless
Retrieve an old post (dated 14th March 2020).
How many of you actually went in to buy stocks in March? DH came back today feeling quite happy. He said the 3 bank stocks and 1 agriculture related stock, we picked back then shot up by more than 40%! :rahrah: Should be due to “Capricorn effect”.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.