Corona Virus Disease (COVID-19) Updates

-41 Posts 207 Posters 1.8m Views 1 Watching
    • sharonkhooS Offline
      sharonkhoo

starlight1968sg\" post_id=\"2023883\" time=\"1620895103\" user_id=\"14025:

How did TTSH and CA clusters start? The community cases seem getting more. Why?
      More cases are likely to be found until 2 weeks or so after the tighter measures around those clusters began. That's because there may be those who were infected just before the tighter measures, but didn't test positive until later. Once past 2 weeks, if the no. of new cases linked to that cluster falls (hopefully to 0), then it will show that the cluster has been contained. That seems to be the case at TTSH - very few new cases in the past couple of days, and they were ex-patients.

Let's hope that is also the case with Changi, but I expect there will be more cases. Partly because they cordoned it off later, but also because there are just more people moving around and crossing paths. At least in a hospital, people don't move around as much, and the hospital staff are generally more infection-conscious.

With asymptomatic cases, it will be more difficult to trace the index case. I expect the contact tracers are hard at work and will probably find the index cases eventually, but that doesn't really help the situation now.

I would prefer if all the new cases are linked to established clusters as that means the wide testing is working. The unlinked ones are the worrying ones.

mindscape

Its really unsafe to go out and interact with anyone, including friends and families. Stay safe everyone! Let’s all together boost our immune system, this COVID battle will still take too long.

• . Offline
          .010675zeit

lee_yl\" post_id=\"2023881\" time=\"1620893004\" user_id=\"17023:

I am getting worried as the Changi Airport cluster is growing bigger and bigger. Worse than the TTSH cluster.

I don’t know if it‘s complacency again cos I find Changi Airport “dirty” and my family avoided Changi Airport terminals like plague since covid started. Don’t know why ppl still like to go Jewel. CAG/MOT must bear responsibility for this fiasco or not? All along we all know Changi Airport is “high risk” area, isn’t it?

Now, all shoppers who have been there recently better go for the swab!!
          That fella's a siam-ster- good news quickly jump out to wayang with video; bad news will go hiding. You all just watch closely. I've been observing for more than 10 years. Always strategically siam the bad news, like breakdowns or accidents. MOE time same tactic, e.g. one P4 girl OBS zipline death not reported.
          Sometimes, will fuss about the job scope or appointments he thinks not atas or prestigious enuff. Picky about meetings and tasks assigned. Now, wordless about new ministry until he could let out a freudian slip in parliament. buay ganwan do new job because risk level's high, so Gan must stay behind to act as his shield.

But to be fair, behind him is the 后宫. U buy shares right? Notice once ATB with HK announced, SIA shares shot up? News of ANZ ATB leaked out, also shares up. Monitor the hospitality reits too. CAG, CPL's Jewel - ah, all you know I know lah.

• . Offline
            .010675zeit

I’m more worried about the 4 hospital clusters. Our healthcare frontline must not collapse. Hope not many doctors and nurses have been quarantined. Hope they have split teams.

I don’t care about Changi Airport or Jewel, as by hook/crook, they will reopen for HK ATB on 26 May. If not, ask the Honkies to land at T2 or T4.
            They asked for it. They had to make up for the cancelled flights. Jewel only operated for a mere 7 mths and got hit by Covid19 in Jan 2020. Had to come up with all kinds of gimmicky promos like dinosaur snow Christmas, dinosaur trail with flying golf balls, Star Awards, Glamping@Jewel…I’ve not been to Jewel for 1.5 years. Most of the shops and restaurants are found downtown. Too many new SCs living in Simei, Changi, East Coast, Pasir Ris, Tampines, Bedok. All nothing better to do on weekends go shopping there. Without Jewel, the terminals would have fewer shoppers and diners. What to do…

• chenlaoshiC Offline
              chenlaoshi

https://www.zaobao.com.sg/realtime/singapore/story20210513-1146532

2 of the today's 4 unlinked community cases diagnosed with likely B1617 virus variant.

They showed symptoms around 7 May and sought treatment around 10 May.

Besides being vigilant, it's important to visit the doctor if unwell.

• starlight1968sgS Offline
                starlight1968sg

Yes, unlinked cases are the worrying ones. The fully vaccinated pple being infected is another worry.

• sharonkhooS Offline
                  sharonkhoo

starlight1968sg\" post_id=\"2023925\" time=\"1620948970\" user_id=\"14025:

Yes, unlinked cases are the worrying ones. The fully vaccinated pple being infected is another worry.
                  It's always been known that vaccination is not 100% effective in preventing the disease. But it has been effective in preventing serious disease, and probably in spreading disease. If not for vaccination, who knows how bad it would be now? Once more people are vaccinated, because they spread less and fewer will get infected, such clusters should be small and short-lived. And there will be fewer who get seriously sick even if they get it.

• emohE Offline
                    emoh

https://www.8world.com/news/singapore/article/schools-hbl-1476661#cxrecs_s

• doodbugD Offline
                      doodbug

starlight1968sg\" post_id=\"2023925\" time=\"1620948970\" user_id=\"14025:

I must say while the key purpose of vaccine is to prevent serious disease and death, I am also slightly surprised at the level of breakthrough infections (and also reinfections) in Singapore given the supposed low level of viral cloud and viral prevalence in the community.

• EstéemaE Offline
                        Estéema

I’m just very thankful that vaccination for the elderlies have been done earlier before this wave of fast spreading B1617 and other imported variants. I believe this hv prevented much new elderly infections apart fr those infected at TTSH. I’m hoping this vaccination exercises can be sped up & to include all school-going children.

Pray our elderlies are kept protected and we continue with vaccination for the rest of our residence and we conduct mindful social responsibilities with proper wearing of masks & hygiene practices. Keep safe everyone!

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 1 / 1

HelpmissyH
                        Helpmissy