Corona Virus Disease (COVID-19) Updates
S'pore doctors publish open letter calling for halt to Covid-19 jabs for 200,000 school
https://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/local-doctors-publish-open-letter-calling-for-halt-to-covid-19-jabs-for-200000-boys?utm_campaign=stfb&utm_medium=social&utm_source=facebook -
.zeit\" post_id=\"2028206\" time=\"1624772690\" user_id=\"171271:
Oh, don’t forget the milk drinking programme! 😅🤣
Not interested in CCS as he is no longer in the running for PM post.
Didn't catch Ch5 'Talking Point' so am not sure the exact word uttered by CCS. But one thing for sure from the Ch8 translation, he'd used a modal to suggest probability, and he did not identify the brand. Regardless, the vaccine must have gotten its full authorisation, not EUA like this interim period, before it can be made mandatory. He did mention the govt and team of experts will be studying data from other countries, so why are people hyperventilating? :siao:
Just so you know hor, in an outbreak or a suspected outbreak of any infectious disease in any area in Singapore, the Director may by order direct any person or class of persons not protected or vaccinated against the disease to undergo vaccination or other prophylaxis within such period as may be specified in the order. In addition to the power conferred by the above, where it appears to the Director (a) an outbreak of an infectious disease in any area in Singapore is imminent; and (b) it is necessary or expedient to do so for the securing of public safety, the Director may by order direct any person or class of persons not protected or vaccinated against that infectious disease to undergo vaccination or other prophylaxis within such period as may be specified in the order.
Of course, the Director or any officer of the Board who is designated by the Director for the purpose may grant the postponement of or exemption from any vaccination required under this Part as he thinks fit. If any medical practitioner is of the opinion that any person is not fit to be vaccinated, he shall immediately deliver to that person or in the case of a child to the parent or guardian of the child an exemption certificate in such form as the Director may require.
It won't be so soon and no one knows which brand they will pick eventually. Anyway, by the time they make it mandatory, it's probably your teen's A level exams or NS already; either way he/she will be invited to go for the jab. Like I said before, you can siam this round, but eventually it will come back to you in another form.
And btw, why can't MOE be working with MOH on this, the same manner in which MOM is working with MOH on the MWs/FDWs, MTI/STB on SHN quarantine penalties, MOT on border measures, MinLaw on relevant ID laws, Mindef on NSmen's vaccination. It's a ''whole-of-govt'' effort, isn't it? You seriously want OYK to cover every subgroup in Singapore until he becomes botak, is it?
Since the colonial days, MOE's been handling students' health matters: P6 BCG vaccination, P5 jabs, scoliosis checks, eye tests, dental checkups... :slapshead: -
.zeit\" post_id=\"2028206\" time=\"1624772690\" user_id=\"171271:
There is a difference between policy making and policy execution. The schools merely help to facilitate health screening and vaccination exercises for administrative efficiency but MOE is not the one who decides that children should take BCG. Likewise, OYK did not talk about the mandatory policy for covid vaccination but CCS jumped the gun unnecessarily.
Not interested in CCS as he is no longer in the running for PM post.
Didn't catch Ch5 'Talking Point' so am not sure the exact word uttered by CCS. But one thing for sure from the Ch8 translation, he'd used a modal to suggest probability, and he did not identify the brand. Regardless, the vaccine must have gotten its full authorisation, not EUA like this interim period, before it can be made mandatory. He did mention the govt and team of experts will be studying data from other countries, so why are people hyperventilating? :siao:
Just so you know hor, in an outbreak or a suspected outbreak of any infectious disease in any area in Singapore, the Director may by order direct any person or class of persons not protected or vaccinated against the disease to undergo vaccination or other prophylaxis within such period as may be specified in the order. In addition to the power conferred by the above, where it appears to the Director (a) an outbreak of an infectious disease in any area in Singapore is imminent; and (b) it is necessary or expedient to do so for the securing of public safety, the Director may by order direct any person or class of persons not protected or vaccinated against that infectious disease to undergo vaccination or other prophylaxis within such period as may be specified in the order.
Of course, the Director or any officer of the Board who is designated by the Director for the purpose may grant the postponement of or exemption from any vaccination required under this Part as he thinks fit. If any medical practitioner is of the opinion that any person is not fit to be vaccinated, he shall immediately deliver to that person or in the case of a child to the parent or guardian of the child an exemption certificate in such form as the Director may require.
It won't be so soon and no one knows which brand they will pick eventually. Anyway, by the time they make it mandatory, it's probably your teen's A level exams or NS already; either way he/she will be invited to go for the jab. Like I said before, you can siam this round, but eventually it will come back to you in another form.
And btw, why can't MOE be working with MOH on this, the same manner in which MOM is working with MOH on the MWs/FDWs, MTI/STB on SHN quarantine penalties, MOT on border measures, MinLaw on relevant ID laws, Mindef on NSmen's vaccination. It's a ''whole-of-govt'' effort, isn't it? You seriously want OYK to cover every subgroup in Singapore until he becomes botak, is it?
Since the colonial days, MOE's been handling students' health matters: P6 BCG vaccination, P5 jabs, scoliosis checks, eye tests, dental checkups... :slapshead:
Anyway, for yesterday’s 8world article on the Talking Point interview with CCS, the headline has been changed to “How to maintain the balance between online and psychical learning.” Damage control for (another) gaffe? -
All those were for primary school students, ya? Secondary school is not covered under Compulsory Education Act is it? I don’t think there are any compulsory vaccines for post-primary students. Is the HPV vaccine for female teens compulsory?
zac's mum\" post_id=\"2028233\" time=\"1624798569\" user_id=\"53606:[quote=\"zac's mum\" post_id=2028233 time=1624798569 user_id=53606]
https://www.healthhub.sg/programmes/16/growing_up_strong_healthy
All those were for primary school students, ya? Secondary school is not covered under Compulsory Education Act is it? I don’t think there are any compulsory vaccines for post-primary students. Is the HPV vaccine for female teens compulsory?[/quote] -
Finally, someone has come out to say this (based on our local findings). I still encounter salespeople whose excuse for not wearing their mask properly is: “Don’t worry! I’ve taken my 2 doses liao! I won’t pass anything to you!”
Fully vaccinated people protected from Covid-19 but can pass disease to others
https://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/health/fully-vaccinated-people-protected-from-covid-19-but-can-pass-disease-to-others -
So much for vaccinating our students to protect family members.
KSP forum could have told you this 3 weeks ago just by following the science and numbers. Dun need another Assoc Prof from NCID to.
But the question remains: are vaccinated people less transmissible, as opposed to not transmissible? The numbers presented are a bit fuzzy.
And what is this about anti-S and anti-N antibodies? That's interesting. But it's not new information. They knew this months ago. It's just not good optics when one was trying to tout the alleged superiority of one kind of vaccine over another. -
raysusan\" post_id=\"2028225\" time=\"1624791004\" user_id=\"1304:
https://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/ncid-infectious-diseases-expert-calls-out-claims-by-doctors-on-need-to-delay-covid-19-jabs?utm_medium=social&utm_source=telegram&utm_campaign=sttg
S'pore doctors publish open letter calling for halt to Covid-19 jabs for 200,000 school
https://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/local-doctors-publish-open-letter-calling-for-halt-to-covid-19-jabs-for-200000-boys?utm_campaign=stfb&utm_medium=social&utm_source=facebook -
yamyam\" post_id=\"2028282\" time=\"1624856560\" user_id=\"10645:
I feel terrible to hear that
This is what I told my teens when I have decided not to let them take the vaccination.
1.\tThey don’t fall under the vulnerable group which is above 60 years old.
2.\tTaking vaccine does not means you are protected from getting Covid19. So, you are not doing anyone less or more favour by taking the vaccine. And, therefore wearing mask is still necessary.
I have friends that told me if I don’t get vaccinated, he/she won’t want to meet me. So, I can imagine, my teens will probably going to experience similar discussion.
Do u still keep in touch with these of friend ? -
@yamyam
You forgot to share one more point with them :
Not being vaccinated though means you’re young enuf to sustain a bout of covid but it also means u might unknowingly pass on viruses to friend, neigbors or elderly relatives. Their lives are just as impt as our lives & those with pre-existing conditions & elderlies hv lower immunities to fight covid. Hope this helps add perspective in yr youth’s thought process.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.