Corona Virus Disease (COVID-19) Updates
pirate\" post_id=\"2031156\" time=\"1626768034\" user_id=\"66252:
Not true. Ring fencing is pinpoint surgical strike while HA will cause immense collateral damage.
Ring fence everybody might as well just have HA P2.lee_yl\" post_id=\"2031153\" time=\"1626767141\" user_id=\"17023:
We already give out oximeters and built so many community facilities, those who are tested positive and with no/mild symptoms can divert them to these facilities. As long as our ICU occupancy rates don’t increase, we should try to ring fence without HA/CB again. Else forever, we will be caught in this never-ending cycle of opening up and tightening!
Rush and queue up to buy fish on Saturday some more.
Actually another round of HA has a lot of implications. No dine-in, a lot of food courts and restaurants will have significant drop in business. And with no dine in, many malls will experience smaller than usual crowds. Likely will need to use our taxpayers money to help these poor businesses (again). Very Xiong leh.
OYK himself said Sg would need to open up sooner or later to other countries and number of C+ cases not important, just look at the number of ICU cases! Talk so big then no guts to see through!!! 4G really gone case, don’t know what they are doing! -
Assigning blame is not really useful at this stage. I agree with someone (zeit?) earlier who said this is an opportune reason for getting the remaining elderly to be vaccinated. They can see it coming near them in their markets, not just in 1 locale, but all over the country. I think the main (only?) reason to be concerned now is that there is still a potential for many serious illnesses from the elderly who are not vaccinated. Once they have pushed that percentage higher, I think we will then "live with it". I just hope it can come sooner.
My younger daughter was one of those overseas students who came home last year and completed SHN just in time for circuit breaker. Shortly after she went back to the UK, she went through the several months of lockdowns, etc, but did have a few weeks of relative freedom (while preparing for exams). She got out of SHN today - to be faced with what is almost like circuit breaker again! My older daughter was just informed that NTU convocation will take place in Sep, but now, I wonder if it will be postponed again? -
slmkhoo\" post_id=\"2031163\" time=\"1626770390\" user_id=\"28674:
Very early a handful of forumers here (WE2012?) already questioned why the haste to vaccinate teens and not look into how to increase the low vaccination rate of elderly folks. Today then belatedly realized that many serious cases could arise among the elderly? And we need another HA to provide a safe period to push them to go for vaccination?
Assigning blame is not really useful at this stage. I agree with someone (zeit?) earlier who said this is an opportune reason for getting the remaining elderly to be vaccinated. They can see it coming near them in their markets, not just in 1 locale, but all over the country. I think the main (only?) reason to be concerned now is that there is still a potential for many serious illnesses from the elderly who are not vaccinated. Once they have pushed that percentage higher, I think we will then \"live with it\". I just hope it can come sooner.
I thought he said, one coffee table for 4 elderly folks, 3 already vaccinated?
乱七八糟 -
Singapore is vaccinating teenagers to protect the older folks.
UK has decided they will not go down that route. They have chosen to vaccinate the old, and then let Covid run its course among the rest of the population. (Their latest version of herd immunity?) -
lee_yl\" post_id=\"2031162\" time=\"1626769456\" user_id=\"17023:
Why whenever each lockdown is implemented, financial help has to be dished out? If we are preparing to live with the virus, is dishing out $$ the way forward?
Actually another round of HA has a lot of implications. No dine-in, a lot of food courts and restaurants will have significant drop in business. And with no dine in, many malls will experience smaller than usual crowds. Likely will need to use our taxpayers money to help these poor businesses (again). Very Xiong leh.
OYK himself said Sg would need to open up sooner or later to other countries and number of C+ cases not important, just look at the number of ICU cases! Talk so big then no guts to see through!!! 4G really gone case, don’t know what they are doing! -
soon, no money to rescue anyone or any firm liao.
look at how much we are spending on quarantines and the other measures (testing, tracing, enforcement, safe distancing).
in countries like the UK, no money, so they push it all to self responsibility. -
doodbug\" post_id=\"2031167\" time=\"1626771975\" user_id=\"13281:
Vaccinate teenagers to protect the older folks? The logic is weird, why not just have the older folks vaccinated first? Subsequently, it was found out that vaccinated teens can still contract and transmit the covid virus.
Singapore is vaccinating teenagers to protect the older folks.
UK has decided they will not go down that route. They have chosen to vaccinate the old, and then let Covid run its course among the rest of the population. (Their latest version of herd immunity?) -
I mean the politicians in Singapore didn’'t outright say this, but essentially, you need a pretty high level of vaccinated people for some sort of herd immunity. You can’t touch the below 12s. And if you can’t get a high level of old pp to vaccinate, then it goes down to the teenagers lor, to get that overall vaccinated proportion.
The cost-benefit analysis for the teenager group alone - it’s not so clear cut that it is necessarily beneficial.
The cost-benefit analysis for society as a whole, if teenagers are to vaccinate, then yes, perhaps that’s why Singapore has chosen to vaccinate teenagers - the main beneficiaries are the older folks in this case. -
Not all old folks want to be vaccinated, even after this outbreak.
Coolkidsrock2\" post_id=\"2031172\" time=\"1626773280\" user_id=\"48901:
excluding those who cant take the jab due to medical/health matters, why the rest dont take the jab?
Not all old folks want to be vaccinated, even after this outbreak.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.