All About Parent Volunteers (PV)
Mishasha:
Hi Luanee, Sorry no I didn't receive. :oops: So sorry to bother you. Could you forward it to my email? TKs!
What's ur email address? I cannot access ur profile leh... -
Luanee,
Silly me, I actually got your pm, but didn't know it has arrived in my pm box. Tks! :oops: -
EatNonStop:
[quote]Really???!!! Yipee!!! Yur kid registering for P1 in 2010 too??? That means we might bump into each other. Ha..ha.. But HIPS is actually within 2km for me. How abt u?
Yes, registeration for P1 in 2010...me too staying within 2km...hopefully dont need to ballot base on HIPS past history. Pray & cross our fingers history repeats!
Yup, we may bump into each other...
Once we starts our Volunteer works, we give each other a ring then perhaps we can recognise each other :celebrate:[/quote]Hi,
Juz rec'd a call fr HIPS today. Will b calling me up 4 interview soon. Have u went 4 d interview? Looks like it's no gurantee that we will get to PV. sigh
Do u noe wat kind of questions they will ask? :?
Anyone went thru such interviews b4? care to share? -
cantbearit2:
Anyone went thru such interviews b4? care to share?
Mine not HIPS but nonetheless... they asked what aspect can u contribute to the school, and may talk about certain areas they need u to PV in. Whether u can contribute beyond 40 hours, and how u intend to PV if u are a FTWM. -
Luanee:
Gosh! Looks like b4 DD get into the sch, mummy oredi got 2 take test liao. :lol:cantbearit2:
Anyone went thru such interviews b4? care to share?
Mine not HIPS but nonetheless... they asked what aspect can u contribute to the school, and may talk about certain areas they need u to PV in. Whether u can contribute beyond 40 hours, and how u intend to PV if u are a FTWM.
Feeling kind of nervous now, not so comfortable wif interviews leh. Any tips to share? -
No choice, comfortable or not comfortable, just have to stick ur head in. Just look presentable and sian ur way through lah, hahaβ¦ At least u got a chance to interview, some ppl dont even get that chanceβ¦
Thanks 4D encouragement, Luanee! :thankyou:
I'm a newbie in this thread
we are considering moving to Location X of which the nearest school requires balloting. we are considering moving there only sometime nearer to the P1 registration date.
My enquiries are...
- in applying to do pv, will the school consider the home address distance as part of pv selection criteria?
- is a PV form the same as a PSG form? -
Jedamum, I thot u are a grandmaster? No??? LOL....Hi,
we are considering moving to Location X of which the nearest school requires balloting. we are considering moving there only sometime nearer to the P1 registration date. My enquiries are...
- in applying to do pv, will the school consider the home address distance as part of pv selection criteria?
- is a PV form the same as a PSG form?
Anyway I believe some schs do consider ur address as part of pv selection, esp for those more popular ones, as they do not want those staying too far to be unsuccessful if need to ballot. If u are planning to move, pls indicate somewhere in ur pv application form/letter that u are doing so.
PV and PSG forms are not the same. I believe the latter is for those parents with existing students in the school. If u are not sure, it be best to call up the school to get the correct form. -
You PV-ing for your 2nd son? Your elder one is in P1 this year, right?Hi,
we are considering moving to Location X of which the nearest school requires balloting. we are considering moving there only sometime nearer to the P1 registration date.
My enquiries are...
- is a PV form the same as a PSG form?
Anyway, I think different schools have different sets of selection criteria. Some do consider distance from school, while at least I know, it doesn't seem to be the case for Nanyang. For last year's batch, there were a number of PVs who stays outside 2km, there's one who stay as far as Khatib.
Again, PV form differs with the different schools. Some don't even need PV forms, where you'll just need to write in.
Since you already have a school in mind, perhaps you could share the name, and parents who'd previously done PV in the school will be able to shed more light :-).
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.