Property Views
zac's mum\" post_id=\"2032613\" time=\"1627878454\" user_id=\"53606:[quote=\"zac's mum\" post_id=2032613 time=1627878454 user_id=53606]
this one very congested to me leh.ngl2010\" post_id=\"2032610\" time=\"1627877696\" user_id=\"40978:Sounds like a good plan!
If condo out of reach, got Clementi HDB “integrated development” also. Buy or rent also can:
https://www.homeanddecor.com.sg/design/news/resale-hdb-flat-in-clementi-sells-for-more-than-1-million/
but the mall even has a library, so can be a very learned retiree wahahahha!
i know people love clementi area and it carries a huge premium. having lived in the clementi area for more than 20 years, i have to say, i am not as enamoured. i don't feel the town centre is well designed. i actually prefer other mature (old) estates like Toa Payoh. that said, clementi is convenient for NUS, Ngee Ann and Singapore Polytechnics. -
There’s the upcoming one in Admiralty, studio flats for age >55. Can consider for retirement! Especially if you don’t need near city center & happy to live away from there.
doodbug\" post_id=\"2032615\" time=\"1627878866\" user_id=\"13281:
walk away cos cannot get choice unit liao as 85% of units gone. retirement home, i don think i can face rubbish chute or BBQ pit immediately or whole unit kena west sun.[/quote]Logically, one should just walk away if seller hikes up the price by $400K+ for a $1mil+ unit right?
If within day I up my selling price by $400K more when you showed interest, will you still go ahead to buy or walk away?lee_yl\" post_id=\"2032609\" time=\"1627877493\" user_id=\"17023:
[quote=doodbug post_id=2032606 time=1627877092 user_id=13281]Good developer, and good location (in terms of amenities and convenience) compared to other new launches perhaps. I can imagine it as a retirement home when I don't have a car and don't want a large place to clean up.
But in today’s crazy ppty market, that unit has been transacted and buyers are getting irrational, probably bought out of unfounded fear.
For the #05 unit, if I were the agent, I would say something like, “You still want to think somemore ah?! Later left #04, 死楼!”
zac's mum\" post_id=\"2032621\" time=\"1627880518\" user_id=\"53606:[quote=\"zac's mum\" post_id=2032621 time=1627880518 user_id=53606]
i gave some thought on retirement housing needs. i figured out i still need 1000 sq ft - in case need to house a domestic helper, and some space in case need to take care of grandkids. wahahahahahah!
There’s the upcoming one in Admiralty, studio flats for age >55. Can consider for retirement! Especially if you don’t need near city center & happy to live away from there.[/quote]
with work from home and home-based learning, i am really appreciating the size of my current place, and more importantly, everyone has their own room, can talk and have meetings without disturbing anyone else. -
MrsKiasu\" post_id=\"2032477\" time=\"1627800694\" user_id=\"43981:
https://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?f=47&t=9249&hilit=lee_yl+landed&start=1350
I am abit surprised also see people so upbeat with the property. So many loaded people around. Is it something like about double compared to about 2 years ago? I heard from one the asking price for landed price was 3m from abt 2 yrs ago to 5m now ..at quite end of Spore :yikes:
On rental part, at least the HDB is quite good. But I see people moving out also from private.
Suddenly I recall few years back, I shared that I attended a ppty seminar and the speaker said if got money, buy FH landed!
I even attached a chart (landed vs condo) to show that landed’s price appreciation outpaced condo in recent years! But alas, our money went into small condo instead. The capital appreciation did not grow as much as landed. :sad: -
lee_yl\" post_id=\"2032725\" time=\"1627908477\" user_id=\"17023:
Leeyl, you are considered very good le..your previous ones hit already..I m so sad lor only see other people make money.
https://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?f=47&t=9249&hilit=lee_yl+landed&start=1350MrsKiasu\" post_id=\"2032477\" time=\"1627800694\" user_id=\"43981:
I am abit surprised also see people so upbeat with the property. So many loaded people around. Is it something like about double compared to about 2 years ago? I heard from one the asking price for landed price was 3m from abt 2 yrs ago to 5m now ..at quite end of Spore :yikes:
On rental part, at least the HDB is quite good. But I see people moving out also from private.
Suddenly I recall few years back, I shared that I attended a ppty seminar and the speaker said if got money, buy FH landed!
I even attached a chart (landed vs condo) to show that landed’s price appreciation outpaced condo in recent years! But alas, our money went into small condo instead. The capital appreciation did not grow as much as landed. :sad: -
lee_yl\" post_id=\"2032725\" time=\"1627908477\" user_id=\"17023:
Now the FH landed is also getting out of reach. Many condo upgraders have been looking into FH inter-terraces for multigenerational living…all rapidly soaring up & up due to high demand.
https://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?f=47&t=9249&hilit=lee_yl+landed&start=1350MrsKiasu\" post_id=\"2032477\" time=\"1627800694\" user_id=\"43981:
Yes…FH landed pricing has skyrocketed.
So have rebuilding and A&A costs.
1 thing though, FH landed generally does not have good rental yield. Cannot solely depend on rental for mortgage instalments. It’s more a buy to live asset. -
Landed good for investment but not for retirement.
Many of my friends no longer want to take care of big space and don’t look forward to climbing stairs coz the body deteriorate noticeably after 50. One who lives on the ground level apt unit also had to deal with termites and other intrusions.
Most think that going back to hdb is the best, especially when there’s no income - low monthly maintenance fee and also more govt subsidies and bigger ang pow. -
i tend to agree that view. that’s why, in spite of the crazy huge loan (we are in our 40s and still have a huge l oan), we ended up with a small FH landed. not so much as a forever and ever home, but more like, we will sell when we stop work, and whatever the equity we have in the house then, use it to buy a suitable retirement unit, and the rest of the cash for retirement. in the meanwhile, the family enjoys the space.
actually, many of the rebuilt houses now have installed, or have provisions to install a lift as some people are future-proofing their homes.
btw, landed property has little to no enbloc potential too.
location-wise, very few pp are likely to be able to afford prime district landed.
as for maintenance, condo units of 2000 sq ft or larger tend to have very high maintenance fees - so far i a ctually have not incurred huge maintenance bills yet. though i am aware that bills do come in one lump sum - like roof replacement, or repainting etc.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.