Property Views
MrsKiasu\" post_id=\"2032728\" time=\"1627910653\" user_id=\"43981:
Leeyl, you are considered very good le..your previous ones hit already..I m so sad lor only see other people make money.[/quote]Attended the landed ppty seminar, analyzed and even attached a price chart here in ksp, but in the end didn’t buy. Lol. Landed ppty has high maintenance costs and rental yield is low.
https://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?f=47&t=9249&hilit=lee_yl+landed&start=1350lee_yl\" post_id=\"2032725\" time=\"1627908477\" user_id=\"17023:
[quote=MrsKiasu post_id=2032477 time=1627800694 user_id=43981]I am abit surprised also see people so upbeat with the property. So many loaded people around. Is it something like about double compared to about 2 years ago? I heard from one the asking price for landed price was 3m from abt 2 yrs ago to 5m now ..at quite end of Spore :yikes:
On rental part, at least the HDB is quite good. But I see people moving out also from private.
Suddenly I recall few years back, I shared that I attended a ppty seminar and the speaker said if got money, buy FH landed!
I even attached a chart (landed vs condo) to show that landed’s price appreciation outpaced condo in recent years! But alas, our money went into small condo instead. The capital appreciation did not grow as much as landed. :sad:
DH bought his investment unit in end 2017, he paid ABSD for it. So if he were to sell today, his profit (excludes rental collected) will be negligible cos of the 7% ABSD .
But if we hold for 1-2yrs more, with today’s rising market (no new cooling measures), I am quite sure we can make a small profit. -
I like cluster housing because DH and I are lazy people and it’s a hassle if we have to engage contractors ourselves to do house repainting, grass cutting, pest control, repair leaking roof etc. :roll:
Cluster housing has its own MCST to take care of all these!!
I still like Hillcrest Villa, but hesitant to commit cos it’s 99yr. The unit we saw was ard $2.9mil 6 years back, today the units there are transacting ard $3.2mil. 99yr cluster also can make money actually. Lol.
Another thing is, the property seminar speaker mentioned, to buy a “real landed” not a “strata landed”. The advice is still stuck inside my head. Hmmm… -
lee_yl\" post_id=\"2032833\" time=\"1627977187\" user_id=\"17023:
https://www.channelnewsasia.com/news/business/sales-of-strata-landed-homes-strongest-in-a-decade-video-15263600
I like cluster housing because DH and I are lazy people and it’s a hassle if we have to engage contractors ourselves to do house repainting, grass cutting, pest control, repair leaking roof etc. :roll:
I still like Hillcrest Villa, but hesitant to commit cos it’s 99yr. The unit we saw was ard $2.9mil 6 years back, today the units there are transacting ard $3.2mil. 99yr cluster also can make money actually. Lol.
Another thing is, the property seminar speaker mentioned, to buy a “real landed” not a “strata landed”. The advice is still stuck inside my head. Hmmm… -
lee_yl, the appreciation for cluster/strata landed is not as strong as with regular landed. $2.9 mil to $3.2 mil is actually not fantastic appreciation, esp if you minus off stamp duty and agent fee.
cluster/strata landed also tends to have very very high monthly service charge. Anything from $500 to $1,300.
Also, there is a huge privacy issue for many cluster/strata landed houses as they are packed very close to each other, some developments, row after row.
you can rebuild a regular landed to expand build in area from say, 2000 sq ft to 4500 sq ft. you can’t do anything to increase the square footage of a strata/cluster landed.
BUT, the rental yield for strata/cluster housing is generally better than with regular landed, esp if the regular landed is unrenovated or if the plot is not yet maximised. -
Coolkidsrock2\" post_id=\"2032835\" time=\"1627977722\" user_id=\"48901:
Thanks for the link! Very informative.
https://www.channelnewsasia.com/news/business/sales-of-strata-landed-homes-strongest-in-a-decade-video-15263600lee_yl\" post_id=\"2032833\" time=\"1627977187\" user_id=\"17023:
Another thing is, the property seminar speaker mentioned, to buy a “real landed” not a “strata landed”. The advice is still stuck inside my head. Hmmm…
The other day I was talking to friend, he asked since price went up by $300K+ and the lease has shortened by 6yrs since I first saw the unit, am I sure I still want to go for it? Another thing is that for LH properties, I am not too sure what will happen to the prices after their 20th yr. -
lee_yl\" post_id=\"2032916\" time=\"1628044661\" user_id=\"17023:
Thanks for the link! Very informative.
https://www.channelnewsasia.com/news/business/sales-of-strata-landed-homes-strongest-in-a-decade-video-15263600Coolkidsrock2\" post_id=\"2032835\" time=\"1627977722\" user_id=\"48901:
[quote=lee_yl post_id=2032833 time=1627977187 user_id=17023]I like cluster housing because DH and I are lazy people and it’s a hassle if we have to engage contractors ourselves to do house repainting, grass cutting, pest control, repair leaking roof etc. :roll:
Another thing is, the property seminar speaker mentioned, to buy a “real landed” not a “strata landed”. The advice is still stuck inside my head. Hmmm…
The other day I was talking to friend, he asked since price went up by $300K+ and the lease has shortened by 6yrs since I first saw the unit, am I sure I still want to go for it? Another thing is that for LH properties, I am not too sure what will happen to the prices after their 20th yr.[/quote]I like Hillcrest Villa too but we have built up too many relationships plus potential workplace in the East.
For leasehold, some of the projects have gone en-bloc and developers topped up the lease back to 99 years for the new project.
Even for existing projects, guess will be 水高船升. Don't think the older projects are losing money.
Feel that the younger generation are more neutral to the lease tenure. They seem to value lifestyle features and theme. -
Coolkidsrock2\" post_id=\"2032924\" time=\"1628046427\" user_id=\"48901:
Interesting perspective. Let me discuss with DH. Initially I thought that huge piece of land in such prime location has great enbloc potential too but DH says land owner seems to be embassy’s so enbloc potential is zero?!
I like Hillcrest Villa too but we have built up too many relationships plus potential workplace in the East.
For leasehold, some of the projects have gone en-bloc and developers topped up the lease back to 99 years for the new project.
Even for existing projects, guess will be 水高船升. Don't think the older projects are losing money.
Feel that the younger generation are more neutral to the lease tenure. They seem to value lifestyle features and theme. -
doodbug\" post_id=\"2032836\" time=\"1627977768\" user_id=\"13281:
The appreciation is not a lot so probably many people still have the perception “want buy then buy a real landed”? But if I have to fork out $300k more that is a lot to me lah!
lee_yl, the appreciation for cluster/strata landed is not as strong as with regular landed. $2.9 mil to $3.2 mil is actually not fantastic appreciation, esp if you minus off stamp duty and agent fee.
cluster/strata landed also tends to have very very high monthly service charge. Anything from $500 to $1,300.
Also, there is a huge privacy issue for many cluster/strata landed houses as they are packed very close to each other, some developments, row after row.
you can rebuild a regular landed to expand build in area from say, 2000 sq ft to 4500 sq ft. you can't do anything to increase the square footage of a strata/cluster landed.
BUT, the rental yield for strata/cluster housing is generally better than with regular landed, esp if the regular landed is unrenovated or if the plot is not yet maximised.
I have seen quite a handful of clusters and most cannot make it. Hillcrest Villa is one of the better ones and it’s opposite Tan Kah Kee MRT and Hwa Chong. Only downside is that it’s a leasehold property.
In 2016 we nearly bought it but after much consideration, the money went to FH investment condos instead. So if we want to go ahead with Hillcrest Villa then we have to dispose off our FHs to get the LH! :roll: Hmmm…
And to buy a nice “real landed”, which DH believes prices for landed will continue to grow, we need to dispose our current matrimonial house (which we are still staying), but I would like to keep this due to sentimental value. -
:hi5: leeyl..now whenever I think back to the places we stayed before when not in Sg..all still like so real can feel everything..I believe if ever go in stay again heart sure beepok beepok lol though don't remember feel like that when first met my dh
if I ever need to flip property I think I better don't stay in. -
It will be so cool to own a property overseas. Something to look forward to.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.